We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Priory restaurant

35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
+44 1993 823249
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good39%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“baguette” (10 reviews)
“baked potato” (3 reviews)
“scones” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Love my cooked breakfast here, look forward to it, and call every time we are here. Love the sausage but then so does my dog which always entails getting an extra one. One criticism and it is my wife's not mine and it is that...More

Thank david l
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much David for your continued custome and lovely feedback! For next time, we do sometimes have cereals, so I cannot guarantee we always have some, but you can always ask. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in for a late breakfast, very impressive menu and great service from very smartly dressed staff, I would guess all family members? Very quick food preparation, good fresh produce extremely tasty. Very busy and noticeably popular with local clientele always the best recommendation. Good...More

Thank Martin P
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much Martin for your lovely review. Although the waitress here are not techinically family, we are a small and close team so it often feels like family (with even a few member of staff have been here for 20+ years!). I am...More

Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Wife had breakfast here on last day of long weekend, was very pleasant. Full breakfast had by both of us, and total bill was very good, certainly corker complain about quality, service or food or portions. Very much recommended for a hearty breakfast.

Thank leBullet
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

Couple of things ruined my experience here. Firstly, I asked for no egg and mushrooms with my breakfast and requested if I could have some of the other items extra instead. This is something I always do and only in the south of England is...More

Thank Adam B
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

I am very sorry to hear you didn’t not enjoy your dinning experience with us. However, I would like to address the two allegations made in your review. Firstly, we do have a strict ‘no substituting’ policy with our breakfast for two reasons. One is...More

Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

As seven adults and a toddler, we walked in with no table reservation. We were given a warm welcome and seated immediately. Wonderful service and a wonderful breakfast. The restaurant is spotlessly clean as is the kitchen. Thank you ladies.

Thank willybrownblues
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Wow thank you very much for such lovely feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us and do hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Following a recommendation from the lady in the cook shop opposite on the previous day, we decided to see if the Priory could fit us in for Sunday Lunch. We were greeted warmly and our lack of a booking was not regarded as a problem....More

Thank Keith R
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Wow, thank you Keith for such a lovely review! We are very pleased we could hold up to the cook shop’s recommendation. We take great pride in our Sunday roasts, so it is great to hear how much it is enjoyed. Thanks again.

Reviewed March 24, 2018

Built in the local honey coloured Stone this attractive building serves food all day. Fully Licensed and a good selection of lighter snacks as well as full meals and Cream Teas. Lovely Courtyard Garden at the back when the weathers good. Worth a visit

Thank Joan Y
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you Joan for your great review. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed March 5, 2018

Three of us popped in for a late lunch and the food and service were great. We had five different dishes between us ( 2 starters and 3 mains) and we all tried each others food. All of us agreed that all of the dishes...More

Thank DC2008Hampshire
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you so much for the great score and lovely feedback. It great to hear you enjoyed all the food. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed March 5, 2018

Last Sunday a group of 12 friends visited this restaurant for breakfast and found it to be extremely friendly. We were warmly welcomed by Deb who then went on to service us and with no fuss at all managed to take our orders in groups...More

Thank mmspell
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Many thanks for a great review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us and do hope to see you again.

Reviewed March 1, 2018 via mobile

Minus 5 degrees outside; the warmest hospitality inside. We were in burford on the coldest snowiest day of the year. The food was fantastic I had the biggest single beef and ale pie on the planet. The plate was so full of pie and chips...More

Thank Andy M
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Wow thank you very much Andy for such a lovely review. We’ve very pleased we could provide you with some warm and enjoyable shelter in the cold weather. We do hope you visit again.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Burford
Golden Pheasant
373 reviews
.06 miles away
Burford House
319 reviews
.09 miles away
The Bull at Burford
617 reviews
.10 miles away
The Bay Tree Hotel
715 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Oak at Burford
520 reviews
.11 miles away
Spice Lounge Burford
535 reviews
.06 miles away
The Highway Hotel Restaurant
288 reviews
.13 miles away
The Carpenters Arms
320 reviews
.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Burford
181 reviews
.02 miles away
St John the Baptist
80 reviews
.11 miles away
Burford Garden Center
45 reviews
.76 miles away
The Burford Tour
29 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Priory restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $13
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Burford
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 823249
  • E-mail
Description
It is also a Bed and Breakfast which has rooms behind the cafe/restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;