We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Travellers Rest

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveler rating
434
177
82
91
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
434
177
82
91
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast fish and chips sea bass salad salmon festive menu the pub lovely meal family meal booked a table shelley landlord
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 841 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We love coming here, especially for the Sunday roasts! The staff always make us feel welcome and are very attentive. Food is always great! Never had a bad experience here.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sammy P
Reviewed 3 days ago

The atmoshere was buzzing. There was a good choice of food, with some unusal twists. Food was tasty and cooked to order. Service was pleasant. Would visit again but maybe think about booking especially on the weekend.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Carol S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Eight of us came last Saturday 31st August, for a post wedding meal. The food was excellent; lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble. Had some lovely summer drinks, cocktails etc. Will definately come for family celebrations next time. Thank you all.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank LesleyMRobinson
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for that review it’s really nice to hear that you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you back up at the pub very soon. Thanks again Tom

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We all chose a main course from the lunch menu which was very reasonably priced and the portions were just the right size so we had room for a delicious dessert. The service was excellent. Thank you we will be back.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank john t
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the positive trip advisor review. We look forward as a team to see you again soon back up at the pub. Thanks again Tom

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wasn't sure about eating here as I've not always had the best experince at any kind of 'group owned eateries', however.......I met up with an old friend I hadn't seen for 50 years, and I surgested The Travellers Rest with finges crossed. The eveing...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Tannia A
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the positive trip advisor review. We look forward as a team to see you again soon back up at the pub. Adam will be pleased that he made you experience here so enjoyable. Thanks again Tom

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited following a poor experience at a local pub, The Lambley. Food great, service good. Very busy for a Monday evening but we were kept well informed by staff. Would return and would recommend.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank wendyjane69
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for review. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks again Tom

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

After a very unpleasant experience earlier this evening at The Lambley (see review) this was just what we needed. Even though service was slow because they were so busy they explained the delay, they looked after us like valued customers. Thanku.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank sarahmD4288YQ
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the positive trip advisor for the travellers rest, we look forward to seeing you soon back up at the pub. Thanks again Tom

Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

It was my sons birthday so we thought we come back for more exciting, delicious food, we were not disappointed. Keep up the good work...looking forward to coming back again 👍🏻

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank sunnyng88
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the positive trip advisor for the travellers rest, we look forward to seeing you soon back up at the pub. Thanks again Tom

Reviewed August 9, 2019

We used to eat here regularly on a weekend evening out, but for several months now have found it to be too hot & miss. We decided to visit again 'another' chance meal but alas we were disappointed with the food quality again. I had...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank deutchepie
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Hi there This is disappointing to read after the conversation we had on the night. I didnt get the impression that you felt this way in all honesty, so im sorry we wont see you again based on this review. Im glad we rectified the...More

Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we received excellent service - attentive but not intrusive. Steak night on a Saturday is good value for money. Didn’t have to wait long for drinks or food after ordering. We sat inside as too chilly out and dogs are...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank suebrownhere
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Thank you very much for the trip advisor review on the travellers rest. We will look forward to seeing you and your dogs again very soon. Thanks again Tom

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 41 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Nottingham North (Daybrook) Hotel
691 reviews
1.76 miles away
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
635 reviews
2.20 miles away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
167 reviews
2.89 miles away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
865 reviews
3.50 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,522 nearby restaurants
Dottie's Tearoom
110 reviews
.71 miles away
Rolleston Fish Bar
6 reviews
.94 miles away
The Curry Pot
28 reviews
.94 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 416 nearby attractions
Gedling Country Park
128 reviews
1.30 miles away
Mr Mulligan's Pirate Golf
71 reviews
2.06 miles away
The Robin Hood and Little John Pub
37 reviews
1.17 miles away
The Patchings
82 reviews
2.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jane C
September 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Becca109 | Property representative |
Unfortunately they isn't we have a little grass area around the back of the car park. Hope this helps
0
Votes
LienP21
May 22, 2016|
Answer
Response from David H | Reviewed this property |
Not necessary unless you want to book a family meal,then pre book just to be on the safe side.
0
Votes
cathy m
October 1, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from richardwB2103MK |
Hi... although this is an old question dogs are now allowed in the bar area :) Rich
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing