We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Restaurant 88

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
23 Hockley, Nottingham NG1 1FH, England
+44 115 924 2244
Website
Today
4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We made the booking over the phone and paid a reasonable deposit for 9 people. When we arrived we where greeted by friendly attentive staff and we where seated straight away. We had booked a set menu and one of our party was vegetarian and he was fully catered for and it seemed no hassle for them in the least.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete T
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

My very good friend had his birthday in this restaurant on the 29.05.16 - food was very good and pipping hot - the prawns were absolutely delicious - organisation could be a bit better with the seating but I guess the person celebrating his birthday didn't plan that ahead that's why I can't blame you - anyway we done our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Albert M
Aaron205, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant 88, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Albert M, I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write us a review. We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your kind words. The king prawns are one of our specialties and we are happy to hear they went down a treat! We aim to provide our customers with great service... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

It was our first time visiting restaurant 88 after reading some interesting trip advisor reviews regarding karaoke. When we arrived, we were seated and then advised that ordering a few little dishes and sharing them between us was the best way to eat there, so we obviously complied. And it was so tasty, moreish, and authentic. The flavours were full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kmhende
Aaron205, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant 88, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Kmhende! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It really does help us to improve on our service. I will pass your compliments on the food to our kitchen staff which I'm positive would be delighted to hear. We are pleased to hear you had a positive experience and found the karaoke entertaining! Kind Regards,... More 

Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

Disjointed is was quiet in the restaurant but the food was good quality and service/attention excellent. We had an amazing time doing karaoke and it was all over too soon. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank AnneS1
Aaron205, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant 88, responded to this review

Good Afternoon AnneS1, I would like to begin by saying a big thank you to you for writing a review! It is always great hearing from our customers after the evening. We are glad you enjoyed the food and the newly upgraded karaoke system! We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards, Aaron - on behalf of Restaurant 88 More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

We had the set menu with karaoke package and we all had a great time. The food was delicious and the staff were extremely accommodating with some of our party's specific food requests. Nothing was too much trouble and the karaoke room was perfect with a huge choice of songs which kept us going till the early hours! I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank redwinocerous
Aaron205, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant 88, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Redwinocerous, Thank you so much for taking the time in writing us a review! It really helps us to improve and see what our customers enjoy. I am delighted to hear that you and your friends had a great time here at Restaurant 88. I will pass your compliments to our kitchen staff. We hope to see you... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016 via mobile

Walked in to have a quick drink. Got ignored from staff until eventually someone bothered to say the immortal words ' can I help you '. Asked how much for two glasses of wine for the chap to look at other staff behind bar - then talk in foreign language for them to say some ridiculous price! Over £10 for... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandy w
Aaron205, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant 88, responded to this review

Good Evening Sandy, Thank you for your feedback. I apologise if there were miscommunications with the drinks. Here at Restaurant 88, a glass of wine is £3 and a bottle is £12.99. However, due to our license as a restaurant and not a bar, we are only permitted to serve drinks with food. We take customer feedback seriously and will... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016

The meal was definitely not even £12 worth of food. The set menu overpriced and the manager was rude. We were told to pay for are drinks on the spot rather than at the end, on a tab.

Helpful?
Thank Lenny F
Aaron205, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant 88, responded to this review

Good Evening Lenny, My name is Aaron, speaking on behalf of Restaurant 88. We appreciate our customers taking the time to write us a review, whether it be positive or negative as it allows us to improve. I am sorry to hear that our set dinner did not meet your standards. We try to offer a variety of dishes to... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

We had had a few problems with the delivery, (no fault of anyone, unfortunately there had been an accident and the situation was out of the staffs/delivery company's hands) however both the delivery company and the restaurant were very apologetic and did everything they could over the phone to ensure I left a happy customer (and I did). When the... More 

Helpful?
Thank HannyPanda
Aaron205, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant 88, responded to this review

Good Evening Hanny, Thank you very much for giving us a review! We appreciate your understanding with the delivery. I will pass on your compliments to the chefs and manager. We hope to see you soon! Warm Regards, Aaron - on behalf of Restaurant 88 More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

very good atmosphere and nice Chinese style decoration. Liked the Singapore noodle soooo much! Staff there were lovely and professional.

Helpful?
Thank Haviour C
Aaron205, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant 88, responded to this review

Good Evening Haviour! Thank you for taking your time to review us. We appreciate the feedback. The staffs here at Restaurant 88 are glad you had a pleasant experience with us and we hope to see you soon! Warm Regards, Aaron - on behalf of Restaurant 88 More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

Went to Restaurant 88 for my sisters birthday and it was the best night we have had in along time! Great food, great service and great atmosphere. They really made my sister feel special and I definitely recommend this place and I WILL be going back as soon as I'm back in Nottingham.

Helpful?
Thank Suniel P

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 88 also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Restaurant 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$13 - $40
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23 Hockley, Nottingham NG1 1FH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Nottingham
  • Phone Number: +44 115 924 2244
Description
Situated in walking distance from the Capital FM Arena, Restaurant 88 specialises in Cantonese cuisine. We take pride in providing attentive service whilst serving authentic and mouth-watering dishes prepared only from fresh ingredients.

Try our popular Honey Lemon Chicken; succulent slices of chicken breast with a crispy outer layer covered in a warm citrusy sauce. There are also a wide variety of vegetarian options, such as our Mixed Vegetables in Satay Sauce; a selection of seasonal vegetables with a mild kick for the perfect combination.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Restaurant 88 and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant 88 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?