We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ox Inn

Middleton, NE70 7LF, England
+44 1670 772634
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good27%
  • Average0%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“ox” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Middleton, NE70 7LF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2017

Sunday dinner at this pub is immense! The best Sunday dinner I've had out in years. Have also been on the weekend when they do evening meals. Love this place, authentic country pub with no frills, just good food and good beer!

Thank Helen B
thehevster, Manager at The Ox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Thanks very much for the great review! Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

We didn't even know this place existed until we drove past last weekend. Looking at all the excellent reviews we decided to give it a go and it was possibly the nicest Sunday lunch we have ever had. I would highly recommend!

Thank EMMA C
Reviewed June 7, 2017

We stopped at this welcoming pub for Sunday lunch. We, and our King Charles Cavalier dog were made most welcome. We ordered the three meat Sunday lunch (pork, lamb and beef); you can, if you wish choose to select only one or two different meats....More

Thank Victor B
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Having recently moved the family and I were looking for Sunday lunch. We decided to try the Ox on recommendation. It is a typical rural local, unspoilt by bright lights gambling machines and jukeboxes. The setting is simple but very friendly, the beer seems to...More

Thank Kelvin M
Reviewed March 12, 2017

My girlfriend and my family visited The Ox today for Sunday lunch (my treat), booking a table the previous day. Fantastic experience through and through. There was a good choice of meats, where a trio of lamb, beef and pork was also available, which we...More

1  Thank Chris8189
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Went here on Saturday to see The Lynch Mob play. What a lovely Pub.! Quaint and old fashioned - fab. Loos outside but clean and warm. Plenty of places to park. Staff were friendly, as were the customers, and bar prices very reasonable. A great...More

2  Thank AlcalaGirl2013
thehevster, Manager at The Ox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Thanks very much for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed February 1, 2017

I thought this place was very refreshing as in, what we wanted was just a plain and simple Sunday lunch and that was exactly what we got. No frills, no pretentiousness, not even a written menu, just a warm welcome, a simple choice of three...More

Thank Gillian M
thehevster, Owner at The Ox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Thanks for your review and it's great to hear you enjoyed your lunch! Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed September 13, 2016

No choice on Sunday except Sunday lunch - just choice of meat. Very disappointing - below average cooking. Staff pleasant.. The loo is outside, as in the old days!

Thank katehp
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Very pleasant Sunday lunch: plenty of meat, nicely cooked and friendly service. We felt we have received value for the money we paid.

Thank JoseGaglioni
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Rubish wine rubbish sunday lunch dont waste your money hard carrots burnt yorkshires cauliflower black inside at the price for two drinks and two dinners of £26 felt ripped off would never go back

Thank mickyt764
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jaspers Bistro
232 reviews
.11 miles away
Spurreli
621 reviews
.24 miles away
The Fat Mermaid
148 reviews
.23 miles away
Sea&Soil Amble
409 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Northside Surf School
100 reviews
.49 miles away
Pedal Power Cycling
79 reviews
.28 miles away
Artique at The Marina
78 reviews
.25 miles away
Puffin Cruises
87 reviews
.31 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nigel C
June 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Chris8189 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do.
1
Vote
Karen C
June 13, 2016|
Answer
Response from thehevster | Property representative |
Hello there, I always have a couple of options, usually spinach and ricotta cannelloni or chickpea and lentil Dahl. If you were to ring and book and give me a couple of days notice I could have some fish prepared for you... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Middleton, NE70 7LF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland
  • Phone Number: +44 1670 772634
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing