We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fox and Roman

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
58 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
441904708720
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 494: English reviews
stourbridge
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This pub was more or less next door to our Bed and Breakfast so was a perfect find. Because the food was so good we booked in every night. The Staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They have good beer and it has a good atmosphere. Would recommend 100%.

Helpful?
Thank janep197
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here on Saturday night and has the 3 course set menu for £20, excellent value, thoroughly recommend it!!!

Helpful?
Thank Trevori
York, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for somewhere to have a quick bite to eat after work. we didnt want to go anywhere too full on, but I really wanted a pizza. My husband remembered that our local did them but I was not really inspired. However I was really pleasantly suprised. The pizza came served on a hot board. It was think... More 

Helpful?
Thank Celiaknights
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub was recommended by the staff at our hotel as having good local food so we thought we would give it a try. We arrived at around 8pm and it was by no means full but we stood at the entrance/bar area waiting for a member of staff to speak to us. Two staff members walked past us several... More 

Helpful?
Thank The3dge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Saturday evening and randomly walked in... Was nicely surprised. The atmosphere was relaxed, the staff friendly and helpful. Dinner was superb! Four mains; two off the specials, a steak and a vintage classic, plus a round of drinks for just of £50. Every dish was spot-on! I definitely recommend the Fox and Roman.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
Ray H, General Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments I shall pass them onto the team that was working on that night. We hope to see you soon at the Fox & Roman More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited this pub on a number of occasions before and usually been very happy. This time, although the food was good but a bit pricey for a lunch time menu, the service was dismal. Our order was taken and after a short wait the main course delivered. The problem started when we had finished, we sat with empty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LindaG09
Ray H, General Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this review

I'm sorry to read your comments and would like to apologise about the service you received. I have spoken to the person who served you and he would also like to pass his apologies on. I hope that this doesn't put you off visiting us again More 

York,England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love Vintage Inns, it's a chain but you'd be hard put to tell as they are all quite individual. great value for Sunday lunch and the pies are really really good too.Fox and Roman is eay to get to and, for York, offers great value and free parking. Much better than some city centre places and only 10 minute... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrT1610
Ray H, General Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent comments. as a team we love to hear positive feedback and I shall pass these comments back to the team. We hope you come back and visit us soon More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been before but not for a while, we were allowed to sit at a dirty table, which was eventually cleared of glasses but not wiped, still had previous people's spillages on it. Handed wet sticky menus by bar man, should have left then but were short on time. Pub was dirty! Food was a warm up job, horrible. People... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank SJS240
Ray H, General Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear about your recent visit. The service you received was nowhere near as good as your expectations and I am genuinely sorry about that. We will take your comments into consideration and use them to improve the level of service we can provide. I hope that you will change your mind and visit us shortly. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had heard lovely things about the food here, so when my grandad visited we arranged for the whole family to have Sunday dinner here. Unfortunately every person's roast dinner arrived overcooked. The vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings were black they were so burnt. The atmosphere was nice and I have enjoyed a nice evening drink here before, but... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca H
Ray H, General Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this review

I am genuinely sorry that we didn't get the food and service to your expectations I know it can be very frustrating and disappointing when this happens, especially after arranging for the whole family to meet up. I sincerely hope that you visit us again and hope that you have a more successful visit next time More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met a colleague here on Tuesday evening approximately 18:15 for a drink, meal and catch up. We ordered drinks at the bar, well we say we ordered drinks...we did after 15 minutes of waiting as there was only 1 member of bar staff serving! Lots of staff stood around talking but only 1 serving! We arranged to open a tab... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
Ray H, General Manager at Fox and Roman, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read your review, and that we did not live up to yours or our expectations. I have spoken to the waiter concerned and he assures me he in know way meant to insult you and that his comments were meant in fun and not to insult and he also passes his apology on to you... More 

Travelers who viewed Fox and Roman also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fox and Roman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 58 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: 441904708720
Description
The Fox and Roman in York is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fox and Roman and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Fox and Roman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?