We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • The Ultimate Guide Of Places To Eat And Drink In York | I'm Just A Girlimjustagirl16.co.uk
  • 48 Hours in York: Two-Day Itinerary & Guided Mapswhatshotblog.com

Details

CUISINES
Fast Food, British
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveler rating
299
221
165
126
213
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
299
221
165
126
213
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner wraps pot roast ham fast food take away quick bite roasties cranberry trimmings meats pud takeaway
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today via mobile

Well this is my first ever visit to this place and in all honesty after paying for the pork stuffing wrap with vedge and gravy extra 30p for a tinypork scratching I can honestly say it was nothing more than ok pretty average and nothing...to rave about. Nice but not fabulous and still felt hungryMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The food was really lovely but we had to wait 20 minutes to even get in the building, which was made more frustrating by the multiple deliveroo orders being posted out the door first! I usually live this places food but it took longer to...wait than it did to make and eat the food.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TYRC-HO, General Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Shorty, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your food. Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback, it will be passed on to the staff.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi walked 1 mile to grab a bit to eat at this place.. told them I’m can’t eat the roll or stuffing so they said they will give me just some pork and crackling .. OMG they gave me 2x small pieces of pork and...4x lumps of crackling £5.40 I paid for this if I knew it was so mesly I would have thrown it back at them.. never again you should be ashamed.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TYRC-HO, General Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Molly, thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here as we were in York and had been before, the place is now set up for Covid with plastic screens and standing outside for customers to be served , we had one ham and one turkey wrap , the meat was tasty and...hot but the veg could of done with a bit longer , I'm a sucka for a yorky pudd so I was still happy but I feel that it could be a bit better at £15 it wasn't too bad with a few drinks but with competition in York I hope they continue to do well .More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TYRC-HO, General Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Paul, thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had lunch here on Saturday,not a single element of it was any good. Gristly meat,almost raw veg and the stuff had so much sage in it it was all you could taste. Overpriced and terrible.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TYRC-HO, General Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Andrew, thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal. If you could send details to contact@theyorkroastco.com we would like to follow this up with staff.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bland, cold, tasteless roast dinner. We wish we had found a nice local pub as this was hugely disappointing, especially after a recommendation on YouTube supposedly being the best yorkshire pudding ever.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TYRC-HO, General Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Amy, we're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal. thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave us some feedback.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spending the day in York and stopped off here for lunch. I had a roll with roast pork, stuffing, apple sauce, crackling. It was really nice. My husband had the Yorky pud wrap. It was a giant Yorkshire pudding with meat, vegetables and sauce inside....He said it was delicious. We ate inside. Tables were all clean. There was sanitizers and cleaning materials if you wanted to wipe your table down.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TYRC-HO, General Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Fiona, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The worse piece of beef I have ever had.. full of Grissel and inedible.. had to throw half. Was the end of the piece and quality has been compromised to save a few pounds.. will never go back

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TYRC-HO, General Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi James, thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal. If you could send details to contact@theyorkroastco.com we would like to follow this up with staff.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good idea but the food did not taste of much - meat was dry and there was nothing special about it. Would not recommend.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TYRC-HO, General Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Isabel, thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave us some feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate in, the food was ok, nothing amazing. It's basically a carvery in a takeaway box. We couldn't visit York without having a 'Yorkshire' pudding, but we've had better in other places. This was during the 'eat out to help out' scheme, so was...half price, but when you consider that a sit down carvery is 7 quid these days, the full price seems a bit more than average for an underwhelming (it's a carvery, after all) meal in a box. Service was as you'd expect in any fast food joint like McDonalds/BK/KFC, nothing special.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
TYRC-HO, General Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Maks, thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Goldsborough Hall
651 reviews
13.94 miles away
Yorkway Motel
250 reviews
13.03 miles away
Wheelgate Guest House
63 reviews
13.28 miles away
Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel
685 reviews
6.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Humpit - The Hummus & Pita Bar
303 reviews
.01 miles away
Double Dutch Pancake House
303 reviews
.02 miles away
Drakes Fisheries
3,875 reviews
.01 miles away
Happy Valley
521 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shambles
15,532 reviews
.06 miles away
Holy Trinity Church
771 reviews
.04 miles away
York's Chocolate Story
5,770 reviews
.03 miles away
York Christmas Market
8 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Binky24
February 18, 2020|
Answer
Response from imrantk | Reviewed this property |
Yes it’s a shop. I guess they are on that date but worth calling
0
Votes
Debbie H
September 29, 2017|
Answer
Response from Nikk M | Reviewed this property |
no choice for gluten free shown and they are aunt Bessie style Yorkshire pudding
0
Votes
imanson
September 21, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from tabithaR2000 | Reviewed this property |
7 pound
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing