We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Afternoon Tea

Station Rise | The Grand, York YO1 6GD, England
+44 1904 380038
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“scones” (63 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Station Rise | The Grand, York YO1 6GD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 266 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2017

My daughter booked afternoon tea at the Grand as a Mother's Day present for when we were spending a few days in York. It was a wonderful experience. The Grand is a beautiful hotel and the ambience was perfect. It was a pleasant surprise to...More

1  Thank AOH61
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear AOH61 Thank you so much for your amazing comments on Trip Advisor, I am happy to hear that we were able to impress you on this occasion and the staff were bale to look after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

Visited here today (5th April) for afternoon tea. Staff were fantastic. Really accommodating for my 9month old nephew and really good with him. My mum is gluten free and she really enjoyed her selection of sandwiches and cakes. So much cake, didn't leave hungry. Had...More

1  Thank SophieEve
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear SophieEve Thank you for your fantastic comments on Trip Advisor, I am happy to hear that we were able to impress you on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future Kind regards, Savannah Hardwick

Reviewed March 5, 2017

Loved the savoury selection with this afternoon tea. Plenty to eat and you don't even have to ask for boxes to take home what you can't manage. Friendly service. Perhaps it would be a good idea to make sure there is plenty of hot water...More

Thank Pauline K
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Dear Pauline K Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of our Afternoon Tea here at The Hudsons. I am pleased that made use of our offer to box up any extras! We look forward to welcoming you here again...More

Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

Went here for a hen party so was a very large group, first impressions were not disappointed, the room was clean and well designed. There were two actors playing the hatter and the white rabbit, who were superb and really made the atmosphere. The tea...More

Thank Horbu88
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Dear Horbu88 Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our themed Afternoon Tea Parties here on TripAdvisor. It’s wonderful to hear that the team were able to look after you so well on your recent visit and that you...More

Reviewed March 1, 2017

Not balanced , no sandwiches, too many very sweet caked . No one in the rstaurant could finish their afternoon tea . S why serve so much . Serve what people can eat and charge less . Too much wasteMore

Thank Stuart_2958
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Dear Stuart_2958 Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, our Afternoon Tea is a twist on the old classics, and has been received very well by most. We are happy to box up any extras that our guests cannot...More

Reviewed February 26, 2017

The afternoon tea itself was very tasty, although there were a lot of sweet items - would have preferred a bigger selection of savoury food. We ended up not quite finishing it, we were absolutely stuffed. The atmosphere and setting is really nice, the staff...More

Thank Swa88
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Dear Seosaimhin B Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of our Afternoon Tea here at The Hudsons, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time, and we hope you join us again in the not too distant future. Kind...More

Reviewed February 24, 2017

Included in our reservation but at just short of £50 for 2 may be a bit expensive, but it was very nice, salmon bagel, pork pie, tart, 2 scones each with jam and cream, coffee or tea, and then 4 cakes each, you may require...More

Thank toontony2014
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Dear toontony2014 Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of our Afternoon Tea here at The Hudsons, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time, and we hope you join us again in the not too distant future. Kind regards...More

Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

We visited without a reservation and were able to take afternoon tea in the well appointed tea room. Lovely starched cloths and napkins, delicate china, good service ensuring an enjoyable unplanned outing. The savoury items were all different, not just sandwiches, the scones were light...More

Thank Alison W
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2017

Dear Alison W Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our Afternoon Tea here at The Grand Hotel and Spa, York, It is wonderful to hear that the team were able to look after you so well on your...More

Reviewed February 9, 2017

Average level of cake making and certainly not the patisserie we expected from a 5* hotel! No sandwiches, and very poor quality of scones with very little clotted cream. I have had far better quality afternoon tea in London for less money. Would recommend you...More

Thank Carol M
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2017

Dear Carol M Thank you for your comments, I apologise that our Afternoon Tea did not quite meet your expectations, however we hope that this experience has not determined whether you will return, as we would love to welcome you back here in the not...More

Reviewed December 14, 2016

We did the tea service our first afternoon in York and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was well presented and delicious (could not finish it). The service was exceptional and the room was decorated for Christmas so it was just lovely.More

Thank travelgirl201077
laura t, Restaurant Host at The Grand Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Dear travelgirl201077 Thank you for writing such a lovely review of our Afternoon tea, I’m glad you enjoyed it and I’m very pleased to hear that you were well looked after by our staff. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Perky Peacock Coffee Shop
206 reviews
.07 miles away
The Maltings
378 reviews
.05 miles away
Akbars
894 reviews
.10 miles away
The Star Inn The City
2,262 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Museum Gardens
1,671 reviews
.17 miles away
York Brewery
516 reviews
.16 miles away
York Railway Station
827 reviews
.18 miles away
All Saints Church
31 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
EileenAnnMurphy
November 15, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from laura t | Property representative |
Good afternoon EileenAnnMurphy, yes I can confirm we do serve our Afternoon Tea on tiered stands, it is only on rare occasions that we would use plates. thank you, Savannah Hardwick Restaurant Host
1
Vote
lambretta70
September 3, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from laura t | Property representative |
Hello lambretta70, Thank you for your query. I can confirm that we do allow tables to have different types of the afternoon tea; so you would be more than welcome to have the Hendricks option whilst the other member of your... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Monday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Thursday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Friday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Saturday
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Rise | The Grand, York YO1 6GD, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand - Afternoon Tea)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 380038
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing