We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scotts Fish and Chips

#67 of 667 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Scotts Fish & Chips Tadcaster Road | Tadcaster Rd, York YO23 3PP, England
+44 1904 700189
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

559 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 559: English reviews
Langley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I called in here on the way back from a trip to Whitby I can only say that the service was excellent (Aua was our waitress) the fish and chips were exceptional I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this establishment and will definitely be calling in again well done Scott's. I must also mention the background music not sure which CD... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philbe37
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On Saturday 11th Feb I visited Scotts Fish and Chips with my daughter. It wasn't a planned visit and being wheat and gluten intolerant I have always avoided fish and chip restaurants. However, having heard that Scott's have a vast array of Gluten free options, I thought I would sample them for myself. I wasn't disappointed. The restaurant was clean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank popster1976
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this review

Hi, thansk for the GF review. As mentioned in a previous response, it is growing in popularity and available everyday. We also have other GF dishes, including mains and desserts, not to forget condiments, vinegar, bread...etc. Tell the world and come back soon. Regards Tony More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was diagnosed with coeliac disease a year ago and proper chip shop fish and chips has been something I've really missed. A friend suggested we try Scotts, as it is Coeliac UK accredited. I was not disappointed! The waitresses were knowledgable and friendly, the food were served quickly and it was obvious it had been cooked to order as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennikins
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this review

Hello, Thansk for the great GF review. Our Gluten Free range, which includes proper fish n chips is available every day, all day and is gaining more followers every week. You may have seen we are now accredited by Coeliac Society, since 2016, which is the official rubber stamp of quality for GF food production and allergen control. Spread the... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time I have been to this restaurant. I thought the service was amazing. I was greeted as soon as I came through the door and my food came so quick even though they were super busy. The food was immense. Better than a lot of Fish and Chip restaurants I've been to before you could really... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanClipston
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review, great comments and testament to the hard work put in by all our staff. Dave and Chef Roxy lead the team and all are dedicated to great food and great customer service. Spread the word and come back soon. Well done Dave. Regards Tony More 

Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for a late lunch after a meeting in Tadcaster, we were seated by a lovely young woman who was polite and gave us just the right amount of time to decide what we would like. The food arrived in a very short while and was enough for us, in fact we left a little. I liked the idea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this review

Hi Barbara, Thansk for the review and note your comments. Please do raise any issues at the time and we can rectify immediately, no quibble. All staff are focused on making sure all customers enjoy their meals and leave happy. Regards Tony More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been here twice now. First time chips were hard and mushy peas were very dry. But I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt (as I understand everyone has a bad day). On my second visit I was astonished at how rude the blonde foreign lady was who served my food. It seemed very much like it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank ASPIRE T
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, but cannot accept or agree with any comments. The many reviews on here, good and bad are testament to the hard work and 'customer first' approach of all our staff. We offer high quality food, value for money prices and great customer service. Regards Tony More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in here whilst out on the road came in for tea and the good cooking smell encouraged us to stop we had fish and chips and tea , it was well cooked and very tasty , perhaps to little fish and to much batter but good all the same . Not cheap but it was very nice

Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thanks for the review ans appreciate your comments. Hope to see you back soon. Regards Tony More 

North Yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

Ordered a takeway 1 x normal 1 x gluten and 1 x kids fish bites been here ever a few times but last twice been terrible and tonight is the worst will never go back tasteless, cold and hard chip batter terrible . Won't let me upload a picture

Helpful?
Thank JPS28
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the review and disappointed at your comments. It certainly isn't our normal quality. Would you please call us on 01904 700189 asking for Dave or Roxy so we can fully understand your experience and try and make amends. Thank you. Regards Tony More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2017

On 19th December 2016, a group of fifteen of us went here for our Christmas party. We saw Dave in advance to explain all our requirements etc, which, once again he took all in his stride and even though we said we would bring our own xmas crackers, Dave said that they would be supplied anyway. Everything was setup and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mudgee_8
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review. Great comments and delighted you had such a good time. As you know the menu is much more than just fish n chips, with many homemade dishes, including the steak pie. Chef Roxy makes this fresh, using prime beef from Butchers Block in York. Thanks again Regards Ton More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

When we first walked in there was a really strong sewerage smell but the lady took us to the back of the restaurant where it didn't smell. The staff we're nice but the fish was horrid, it had been re cooked as there were two layers of batter and one was very soggy. The fish was ok in parts but... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts Fish and Chips, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review. Obviously disappointed you didn't enjoy your visit as much as we would have liked. Surprised to hear about the fish, but certainly twice cooked. Sounds maybe like it could have done with a bit longer in the pan or maybe a touch too much batter on the fish? All our friers are experienced. We have... More 

Travelers who viewed Scotts Fish and Chips also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$6 - $25
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast Food, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Scotts Fish & Chips Tadcaster Road | Tadcaster Rd, York YO23 3PP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 700189

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scotts Fish and Chips staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?