We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Hopgrove

Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
+44 1904 424542
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good33%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“gammon” (21 reviews)
“pork” (24 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 130 of 594 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

Visited here on a Tuesday lunch time with my girlfriend and little boy. Got seated straight away with our drinks. Queue for the carvery was fairly long with the poor chef (young lad) all on his own. After 10 mins of queuing we finally got...More

Thank adam1991w
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2017

Thank you very much for sharing these comments. Children 3 and under can eat the vegetables and Yorkshires free but unfortunately the sausages and meat are not included in the offer. We had a issue with our potato rumbler which meant we could not offer...More

Reviewed February 19, 2017

We visited on a Tuesday teatime, The Pub could do with a clean inside, mould on the inside of the windows. We choose the carvery but was very disappointed. The yorkshire puddings looked like pancakes, the vegetables were over cooked and luke warm. NO Mash...More

Thank pollyBSS
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2017

Thanks for the feedback. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at Toby Carvery Hopgrove. Due to equipment failure we had to change or normal procedure for preparing the vegetables. I am happy to say we are now back to normal.

Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

I came here on two continuous day during my stay in York. This shop is recommended by locals. Food prices are reasonable as I am able to spend under Ł10 to get a good meal with nice environment. Love their ham & pork. Would love...More

Thank nasiewvoon
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

If your holidaying near us again we will be still serving the best roast Carvery in York.

Reviewed February 13, 2017

We had visited York for a day out and needed a quick filling meal. We happened on this Toby Carvery and were not disappointed! The establishment was very busy but had well cooked roasts and a great choice of nicely cooked veg , we were...More

Thank Christophe S
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Thank you for the positive review Christophe. Next time your in York we hope you can call in to see us again.

Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

Food here is lovely, we always go on a week day, we have been a couple of times on a Sunday but always really busy. You get loads of food, never made it to the desserts. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Maria W
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

We're very happy you like it here so much. We must add that our puddings are amazing too, so next time you're here please ask for Chris and I'll treat you to one.

Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

Nice meal and good service. Very friendly and very popular with the local people. Plenty to eat and fairly priced. No moans or groans it was it is.

Thank Joy B
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Thanks for the feedback, Joy B. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at Toby Carvery Hopgrove. We always love to receive great feedback.

Reviewed February 6, 2017

Although a chain of Carveries we always find Toby to be a better atmosphere and more generous with the meats than most. Very busy on Sundays as you would expect. People who booked walked straight to their table but we waited 20/25 minutes. We did...More

Thank Ange717
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Ange717, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with Toby Carvery Hopgrove. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service and we are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon in...More

Reviewed February 5, 2017

This carvery is the same as any carvery anywhere in England - it serves roast dinners which are very reasonably priced but, although the meats were very nice, the vegetables are always slightly overcooked. We were there on a Sunday afternoon so we expected it...More

Thank Sue R
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

Thanks for the feedback, Sue R. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at Toby Carvery Hopgrove.

Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Stopped at the hotel next to the pub, went in for a few drinks before heading to town. Staff were all young and rude with no people skills. Had breakfast the next day which wasn't anything special and the water for the tea and coffee...More

Thank Toni F
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

Hi Toni F, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at Toby Carvery Hopgrove take our reviews very seriously.

Reviewed February 4, 2017

Next to an excellent Holiday Inn Express run by first class staff. The food here is very reasonably priced and there are great choices. I recommend the Carvery. Gets packed week-ends so reserve a table where possible.More

Thank buddy070
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

Hello buddy070, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am so pleased to read that you had enjoyable visit and I cannot wait to let the team know your kind comments. We always appreciate any guest feedback and we look...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in York
Holiday Inn Express York
606 reviews
.01 miles away
Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe
110 reviews
2.38 miles away
Travelodge York Hull Road
202 reviews
2.45 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton York
852 reviews
2.59 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Nando's - York Vangarde
126 reviews
.92 miles away
Frankie and Benny's
132 reviews
.91 miles away
McDonald's
7 reviews
.71 miles away
Pear Tree Farm
807 reviews
.74 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Breezy Knees Gardens
292 reviews
2.17 miles away
Piglets Adventure Farm
517 reviews
2.36 miles away
Yorkshire Museum of Farming
123 reviews
1.91 miles away
Beetle Bank Open Farm
37 reviews
1.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jon M
July 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Clairemills02 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do, best to phone ahead and check if they have the boxes in
0
Votes
carolyn b
October 26, 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for getting in touch. Our Sunday carvery is priced at £8.99.
0
Votes
carolyn b
October 26, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Elaine M | Reviewed this property |
Don't do it!!!!!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $17
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 424542
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing