We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Hopgrove

Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
+44 1904 424542
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good33%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“gammon” (21 reviews)
“pork” (24 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 567 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2017

We ate here on a Saturday night, there was an excellent selection of cooked meats and vegetables. All nicely cooked and well presented. It was all very tasty and excellent value for money. Good selection of desserts which were lovely. The place looks a little...More

Thank Jackie G
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you, Jackie, for leaving your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in York.

Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

The value for money is amazing. Good choice of meats and vegetables which suits all the family. Such a relief to not be faced with a menu of burgers, fish and chips, etc which just about every other chain style restaurant in York seems to...More

Thank Oxo75
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day!

Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

We have eaten here many times and enjoyed it very much but tonight I can say all three of us really didn't enjoy it at all the meat was very dry and didn't have much taste , the vegetables had seen better days and the...More

Thank N4bro
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Reviewed August 16, 2017

So we tried the "All you can eat Breakfast for £4.50." Well, No Cereals, No Pastries, No Juices just fried food. OK, but then I guess I wont mind paying another £1.50 for a Coffee or Tea. Dirty filthy carpets, Dirty plates, and please would...More

Thank Bob_S_York
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you, for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Unfortunately we offer an "All you can eat English breakfast", not a continental breakfast. if you had raised your concern to a member of the team during your visit, we would have happily refunded...More

Reviewed August 14, 2017

Three family members chose to eat here as we have been to this Toby before. The restaurant was dirty with spilled food on the floor in several places and the buffet was not cleaned of spilled food either. The carvery ran out of turkey and...More

Thank bdon257
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

It is discouraging to learn of your experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve and we would like to learn more about how we can make this better. We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us...More

Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

Went for a Toby brekkie on the way to Whitby, worst I've had at Toby to be fair, was quite busy though, nice sausage, raw bacon, watery scrambled egg, toaster not working properly, frozen mushrooms, not up to Toby standard, and the place was well...More

Thank h8rovers
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

We work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. We will address the issues raised immediately.

Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

Had a meal here this evening, for the first time, with a Toby Carvery, not disappointed, ! the lovely waitress Maz, looked after us all evening, she definitely is a credit to your company. Thank you Maz!

Thank Michelle H
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Michelle H, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Toby Carvery Hopgrove! Your comments have been passed onto Maz and she she is delighted that she was able to make your visit a fantastic one.

Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Stopped for a drink on way home from a long drive served quickly and drinks good already eaten but food looked good

Thank 142dave
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you, Dave, for leaving us your fantastic feedback. We always love to hear about times our guests have enjoyed the service that we provide. We'd love to see you again the next time you are in town.

Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Went here for dinner during a stay in York and weren't disappointed. The meat was lovely and tender and yorkshires were delicious. Veg was hot and tasty too and the gravy was good. Had some tasters to start and these were good too. Our waitress...More

Thank deelite01
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback and of course giving us the big five stars :) We'd love to see you again soon.

Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Yesterday morning I decided to cure my hangover with a cooked breakfast and ended up at the Hopgrove Toby Carvery. I've eaten at Toby Carveries before but never for breakfast so I wasn't sure what to expect. When I arrived there was nobody by the...More

Thank SpinachLover44
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sincerely sorry that your visit was not to our usual standards and I shall raise these points during our next team training session. Without our guests feedback we cannot continue to improve and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nando's - York Vangarde
120 reviews
.92 miles away
Frankie and Benny's
120 reviews
.91 miles away
McDonald's
7 reviews
.71 miles away
Pear Tree Farm
745 reviews
.74 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Breezy Knees Gardens
287 reviews
2.17 miles away
Piglets Adventure Farm
488 reviews
2.36 miles away
Yorkshire Museum of Farming
116 reviews
1.91 miles away
York Motorsports Village
28 reviews
.85 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jon M
July 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Clairemills02 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do, best to phone ahead and check if they have the boxes in
0
Votes
carolyn b
October 26, 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for getting in touch. Our Sunday carvery is priced at £8.99.
0
Votes
carolyn b
October 26, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WingTzunRipon | Reviewed this property |
I think it was £6 something but not sure on cirrect amount.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 424542
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing