We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Honingham Buck

$$ - $$$British, ,
29 The Street, Norwich NR9 5BL, England
+44 1603 880393
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good18%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“scotch egg” (17 reviews)
“pork belly” (20 reviews)
“samphire” (5 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
29 The Street, Norwich NR9 5BL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nicely decorated pub although the menu rather limited. We were ushered to our table rather than being able to order drinks at the bar. Service was ok but we had to remind the waitress three times for a jug of water !!More

Thank 245susie64
Overthemoon4You, Owner at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for sharing your experiance. Our normal welcome, clearly not delivered here is to ask all our guests whether they want to drink in the bar before eating so I am so sorry you were sent to your table without this option. As for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Dropped in on an overcast day for lunch What a find. Friendly hospitality, great selection of wines and beer and an inspiring menu. This is not your average pub food nor gastropub. Obviously a very good chef and kitchen support. I will definitely add this...More

Thank Ken A
Overthemoon4You, Owner at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

What lovely words. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We look forward ot welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don’t normally post many reviews. However this place deserves a great review. My wife treated me for my 30th birthday and I was not disappointed. The atmosphere was great and the service was good. The food was outstanding, I would say the food was...More

Thank JNWarn
Overthemoon4You, Owner at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow kind words indeed! Thank you so very much for your glowing review it is greatly appreciated.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Buck as a bit of a last minute decision on a miserably rainy day. The staff were welcoming and the roaring fire in the busy bar area immediately warmed us up. We each had three courses; the food and service were...More

Thank Simon H
Overthemoon4You, Owner at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

A warm welcome,roaring fire, buzzy bar and good food is always a recipe for an enjoyable visit and one we work hard to provide. So glad you had a good time, thank you so much for your appreciative review and we look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit and we were impressed. The food was excellent, reasonably priced and intelligently served. The gentleman who took our orders was a trifle over the top, but this is more of a comment than a criticism. Certainly well worth a visit and a...More

Thank Julian F
Overthemoon4You, Owner at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's so nice to hear we managed to impress you on your first visit to us. I guess sometimes certain team members can be a bit like an over enthsusiastic Labrador but like those wonderfuyl faithful hounds they are loving and friendly! Thank you for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights recently. Beautiful room with a huge comfortable bed.lovely bathroom, loads of hot water. Ate in the restaurant both evenings and also a birthday lunch with auntie. Very cold outside so lovely log fire (even at breakfast time) was very...More

Thank UpsydaisyEastbourne
Overthemoon4You, Owner at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

"Fabulous" is a word we treasure thank you so much! Let's hope the sun is shining next time you return so you can enjoy our lovely gardens as opposed to a roaring fire!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic warm welcome, great service and the most amazing smoked salmon, feta and pomegranate salad I have ever tasted! Fabulously clean toilets too, cannot rate Honingham Buck any higher, definitely one of the best😍More

1  Thank C D
Overthemoon4You, Owner at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow! What a review and we cannot thank you enough. I remember you all having a nice time and your comments about the Salmon. We always work to try and ensure all our guests have an enjoyable time when they visit us. When someone appreciates...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely dinner. Friendly, happy staff. Cosy atmosphere. Roaring log fire. Impressive food quality. Definately going back!

Thank rmsmith777
Overthemoon4You, Owner at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That's great, sounds like a great evening had by all. Thank you fro taking the time to share your experience and your kind words.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a bite to eat , Cosy ole place , the food was excellent I had pork belly , not huge portions , but it was of good quality , The food was visually good and tasted good. Did I say it was...More

1  Thank bruce w
Overthemoon4You, General Manager at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Goody Goody Goody! Thank you kindly for such a good review!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly from our point of view its dog friendly. The guy who served us was friendly and professional, think he owns it. Food was spot on place was clean and good parking. its gone gastropub, it closes at 2100 and the menu has gone upmarket...More

Thank Saint J
Overthemoon4You, Owner at The Honingham Buck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are indeed woofer friendly! Well thank you for your kind words and the Scotch egg is a bit of a firm favourite! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 50 hotels in Norwich
Barnham Broom
968 reviews
2.00 miles away
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
445 reviews
3.26 miles away
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
566 reviews
3.59 miles away
Lenwade Country House Hotel
442 reviews
3.94 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Brasserie at Barnham Broom
258 reviews
1.99 miles away
The Swan Inn Ringland
231 reviews
2.64 miles away
South Green Cafe Bar
12 reviews
3.02 miles away
The Copper Beech
582 reviews
3.17 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Barnham Broom Golf Course
47 reviews
2.73 miles away
Roarr! Dinosaur Adventure
892 reviews
3.46 miles away
Wensum Valley Golf
28 reviews
3.70 miles away
Taverham Garden Centre
26 reviews
4.02 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John F H
October 27, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Bazz219 | Reviewed this property |
It's absolutely brilliant - try it.
0
Votes
jockjemfern
April 20, 2015|
Answer
Response from bobandlisa1972 | Reviewed this property |
The Honingham Buck reopened on 5th June 2015
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $35
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 The Street, Norwich NR9 5BL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 880393
  • E-mail
Description
The Honingham Buck is one of Norfolk's prettiest Pubs set in the heart of the village of Honingham in the Norfolk Countryside only minutes from Norwich city centre. The pub has been lovingly restored and is an inspired partnership between Henry Watt, the man behind a number of Norfolk's best-loved hostelries and Lacons Brewery who are opening their first pub in over 50 years. Great Ales from Lacons and delicious food is at the heart of our offer. A warm welcome in the beautiful beamed pub, a pint at the bar, maybe a soothing from our pub menu or something a bit more sophisticated in our cosy restaurant the choice is yours. We welcome everybody and have an excellent children's menu. A lovely beer garden is great for spending a relaxing hour or two and 8 sumptuous bedrooms to relax in at the end of a long day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing