We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Resolution

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
The Resolution is conveniently located within the centre of Middlesbrough in Captain Cooks Square. Open from 8am, it is ideal for those wanting a hearty breakfast or range of hot drinks priced from just 85p, also available to takeaway. Take advantage of our location to enjoy a break from shopping and grab some lunch from our extensive food menu served until 11pm. Children and families are welcome in our family dining area. As part of the Wetherspoons chain we have all the usual deals; burger and a pint, Tuesday Steak Club, Wednesday Chicken Club, Thursday Curry Club, Fish Friday and Sunday Brunch. Evening nights include our Quiz every Monday from 8pm, and Rock n Roll Bingo on Thursday for the
PRICE RANGE
$4 - $13
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, American
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
16
24
15
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
16
24
15
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry rushed off their feet food was lovely wetherspoon ales
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 77 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2019

I am a bit of an aficionado when it comes to Wetherspoons, when they are on form they are superb, on occasion I come across a dive. This is the latter. I popped in for breakfast, the place looks run down and badly in need...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank alistairrobinson1977
Reviewed January 21, 2019 via mobile

Called in here for a meal an a drink my fiancee meal was tge wrong order fora start when she asked staff to change it when the right order came back burger had been in the microwave for a second time as the salad was...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank wayne t
PhilS2894, Manager at The Resolution, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Hello wayne t I'm very sorry to hear that we didn't meet you expectations this visit. Although I would like to mention, we have a policy here that does not allow our staff to put food that has already been served into a microwave, therefore...More

Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

I’m a great fan of Wetherspoons but this one was a disappointment. To be fair the breakfast was ok, if a little like warm rather than hot. But the place itself is in need of a good clean. Tables were scattered with dirty dishes and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Z1633LJhelenp
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Called in for lunch and expected typical Wetherspoons prices and quality. The place was busy with lots of people eating which I took as a good sign. Good selection on the menu to choose from. I went for a simple burger and chips. When the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank jps73
PhilS2894, Manager at The Resolution, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Hi JPS73 We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to us. We aim to maintain a high standard of service at all times and would like to apologise for your dissatisfaction on this occasion. If you would like to contact...More

Reviewed September 27, 2018

Husband and I visited for a quick meal as I was tired. The meal was ok and we had a burger with a drink so good value. It was not busy, however the tables were not being cleared nor cleaned. Staff behind the bar were...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jill C
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Middlesbrough Friday and Saturday night last weekend we eat and drunk all night what a fantastic time we had food was good and entertainment was unbelievable.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 54raymond1955
PhilS2894, Manager at The Resolution, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Hi 54raymond Thanks for the great feedback hope to see you again soon regards Mangaer

Reviewed September 11, 2018

This meal was actually not bad as current Wetherspoons meals go but when the meal was delivered I was not at the table and the staff member almost took away my cutlery - assuming my husband was alone. The standards have been slipping of late...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lynn S
PhilS2894, Manager at The Resolution, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Hi Lynn S Thank you for the feed back, I'm glad the service was very good for you on this visit. Regards Manager

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

I had an empire state burger it was overdone and tasted like cardboard my friends had the pulled brisket burger and that was pitiful it just dumped in the middle of burger and microwaved to death use to eat in.here all the time and this...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Chrissy H
Phil S, Manager at The Resolution, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Hello, I apologise about the recent poor standards on your visits. We do strive to have the highest standards that we can achieve, it disappoints me that we have failed you. I am going to give you the pub e-mail address, p4265@jdwetherspoo.co.uk, I would much...More

Reviewed July 22, 2018

Typical Wetherspoons value. Even though it was a Saturday night there was plenty of room, there are some nice booths you can sit in for a cosy atmosphere upstairs and down. It was a bit weird that you couldn't get pepsi upstairs, we had to...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank chrissypp
Phil S, Manager at The Resolution, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello, I'm glad that you found our pub to be an enjoyable place to send your Saturday night. Only being able to get Pepsi from downstairs was an issue that we had for that one night, and was fixed the next morning. I apologise for...More

Reviewed July 20, 2018

I travel often from Middlesbrough bus station,and the Resolution is close enough even with luggage. Prices are some of the lowest,even for Wetherspoons.Usual menu,ok. Staff are usually obliging and cheerful,thanks. I have been a bit discouraged recently by the men at a table near the...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank dabarnes908
Phil S, Manager at The Resolution, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hello, I am glad to hear that you normally have a good expectance within out pub. The distance from the bus station is very handy, especially if you have a long wait. I am sad to hear that you have had a few bad trips,...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
561 reviews
.13 miles away
Travelodge Middlesbrough
532 reviews
.21 miles away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
520 reviews
.26 miles away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Town Centre
89 reviews
.30 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 345 nearby restaurants
Turtle Bay
512 reviews
.13 miles away
Bistrot Pierre
432 reviews
.12 miles away
Off the Ground
52 reviews
.09 miles away
Dovecot
67 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 87 nearby attractions
Albert Park
97 reviews
.33 miles away
Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (MIMA)
173 reviews
.22 miles away
Orange Pip Market
5 reviews
.18 miles away
Cleveland Centre
36 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Resolution staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing