We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Britannia

1 Allen street | Kensington, London W8 6UX, England
+44 20 7937 6905
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“fish and chips” (28 reviews)
“sunday roast” (15 reviews)
“scotch egg” (8 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Allen street | Kensington, London W8 6UX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a fantastic experience at The Britannia tucked away on Allen Street. A very warm and welcoming environment, all of our meals were delicious and reasonably priced, the service was friendly and attentive without being over bearing. The melted camenbert with sourdough 'soldiers' was...More

Thank KazMaz64
Britannia K, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much KazMaz64 for your lovely review. It's great to read from our customers when they have a great experience at the Britannia. We are working really hard to deliver fresh, tasty food with friendly, efficient service. Kind Regards from the whole Britannia...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having had a previously very pleasant experience here, I suggested the britannia for our department christmas lunch. Unfortunately it was a very disappointing experience. Firstly we were crammed onto a table too small for us - so much so that a lot of us were...More

Thank kitty7lou
Britannia K, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience with us over the festive period. In regards to the time, every booking during our Christmas period had an allocated time slot and each booking was made well of aware of this prior to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a work Christmas lunch here on 14/12/17. We were a large group of 20+ people and I understand that it’s hard to cater for a large group, but there is no excuse for the worst soup I’ve ever had. The butternut squash soup...More

Thank Booers79
Britannia K, General Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry you were disappointed with the butternut squash soup, it was dairy free which may be why you found it watery. We have taken on board your feedback concerning the soup and have altered the recipe. Very...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just come back from our Christmas lunch and to say it was a disaster would be an understatement. My food, along with pretty much everyone else's was cold... my risotto portion was small and didn't really resemble a risotto at all... give me a bag...More

Thank JohnnyW75
Britannia K, Front Office Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I am terribly sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. Please feel free to e-mail the britannia@youngs.co.uk so that we may investigate this further. Kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We held our Christmas party in The Britannia's upstairs room and got wonderful feedback from guests. It is a beautiful venue, on one of the prettiest streets in the area. The manager Sasha went to great lengths to deliver exactly what we wanted. A magical...More

Thank siobhanw43
Britannia K, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your very generous review and rating! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything we have to offer and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed December 6, 2017

we opted for a light meal - it was good and the beer good also did opt for the peanuts whilst waiting (from someones else comment) - quite expensive for what we got but enjoyed the visit

Thank chrisx37
Britannia K, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review and rating. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed December 1, 2017

We had a fantastic time at The Britannia! We used the upstairs conference rooms (Monty & Willow) and it is a beautiful venue for a corporate presentation. The room was well equipped with all of the necessary tech for presenting and had very good acoustics....More

Thank OKCOOL1
Britannia K, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are happy to hear that we were able to provide you with what you were looking for. I will pass on the great feedback to the staff. When you are next in the area please do not hesitate to come in again.

Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile

So this has broken a London record for me charging £2.75 for a tiny cup of dry roasted nuts - that is, frankly, an outrage. The manager was, in fairness, sympathetic but unable to adjust the price.... she was very pleasant about it but! Onto...More

Thank AAPPBB
Britannia K, SMC at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, for taking the time to write your review of us, your comments are very much valued. Incredibly happy to hear you enjoyed the beer! & have passed on your comments regarding the nuts to our management team :)

Reviewed November 18, 2017

We liked this place so much, we came here 3 times and drank them out of Jack Daniel honey. Very good freshly cooked dinner selections which change nightly. We stayed at the Holiday Inn High Street Kensington so it was a 5 minute walk. Maria...More

Thank 216TimG
Britannia K, SMC at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to comment. When you are next in the area be sure to stop by for another great time and amazing food. I will ensure Maria receives your feedback, she is an incredibly hard worker and will be...More

Reviewed November 13, 2017

Pretty pub with a good mix of guests but did have a bit antisocial staff our night. The food we ordered for dinner was ok but not outstanding.More

Thank elinmightbeaway
Sarah M, Manager at The Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us was unsatisfactory we aim to exceed our customers expectations at all times. I would love to find out a bit more about what took place. If you could be so kind as to e-mail...More

Nearby
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque
white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's
easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with
superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and
Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely
child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to
mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall)
such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,077 hotels in London
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
2,036 reviews
.44 miles away
Hotel Moonlight
287 reviews
.37 miles away
The Nadler Kensington
3,880 reviews
.45 miles away
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
1,943 reviews
.50 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Kitchen W8
754 reviews
.07 miles away
Balans Soho Society - Kensington
412 reviews
.10 miles away
Princess Victoria Kensington
258 reviews
.12 miles away
Abingdon
297 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Leighton House Museum and Art Gallery
577 reviews
.33 miles away
The Roof Gardens
425 reviews
.22 miles away
The Design Museum
517 reviews
.19 miles away
Kensington High Street
191 reviews
.20 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sherrysherrat
August 13, 2017|
Answer
Response from Quantock S | Reviewed this property |
Yes this place does serve Sunday lunch. Sorry for late reply, I an not in the UK at the moment.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Allen street | Kensington, London W8 6UX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > South Kensington
  • Neighborhood: South Kensington
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7937 6905
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing