We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#203 of 2,424 Bar in London
#1,458 of 16,986 Restaurants in London
Travelers' Choice
Steeped in history and offering striking river views in the heart of the city, The Gun is renowned as one of London’s finest waterside pubs. Wine and dine in our magnificent Grade II listed building, or experience our exceptional riverside terrace as the sun sets over the O2.
$21 - $91
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Street Parking, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast roast potatoes steak oysters chateaubriand pork salmon pudding canary wharf the pub wine list special occasion thames docklands pint
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing view to the river and staff service 5* always on point! They have big selection of cocktails and generous portions of the food. We had a great Sunday roast. The bartenders Ivo&Kacper were making great drinks and giving best recommendations on food. Thank you...and looking forward to come back!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Reviewed October 18, 2020

GOOD FOOD, GREAT SERVICE, WELL CHOSEN DRINKS MENU WITH A GREAT VIEW OF THE THAMES. Very happy to recommend. Great Sunday lunch. Superb staff. Reasonable prices. Why can all London pubs not be like this?

Date of visit: October 2020
TheGunDocklands, General Manager at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2020

Hi Neil S Thank you so much for the wonderful review! In these tough times we need plenty more glowing reviewS like yours! I look forward to seeing you again soon in our beautiful pub. Regards JP (GM)

Reviewed October 3, 2020 via mobile

I have been to the gun on several occasions having been a resident of tower hamlets. Came yesterday with friend whose was a 1st visit, after my recommending place to her. Well, sadly the attitude of two members of staff potentially spoiled the experience. We...didn't allow it it to as we had walked for a couple of hours from Blackheath & so we were looking forward to our refreshment. On arrival in the garden we were seated on high chairs, which are less than comfortable for eating, without shade from the sun & the fact of our being not 20 something any longer. We asked if we could move to the table adjacent with umbrella explaining we wished to eat in the shade. We were refused without explanation, & so promptly moved ourselves then went to the bar to order. 1 of the staff, I thought sarcastically, remarked 'did we not want to sit there then? ' The attitude remained same whilst the order was taken. & we were asked a few times if we'd enjoyed throughout. On a positive note the food & beer were superb. My friend was a little disappointed with the presentation of her drink.More

Date of visit: September 2020
TheGunDocklands, General Manager at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Hi N7538QTsandrae Thank's for the review, however, I am confused as to when you actually visited The Gun? Yesterday (Sunday 4th October) the garden was not open as it was raining and hasn't been open to the public for over a week due to the...More

Reviewed September 30, 2020

When visiting London have been to this pub with friends and have generally enjoyed our visit. First visit after lockdown and not impressed by the poor service for which they would like to charge you 12.5%. When you could go to the bar you could...get your glass topped up so that you get a pint. Having asked, they just ignored the request. Pity because we might bypass this pub on the next trip.More

Date of visit: September 2020
TheGunDocklands, General Manager at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Dear Nigelace, I'm really sorry to hear that one of our member of staff ignored your request. Service is very important to us and most of the time spot on but thank you for your feedback. I believe in good faith my waiter simply didn't...More

Reviewed September 14, 2020 via mobile

Gone are the glory days of The Gun. It is now owned by a big chain, and it shows. £12 for 125ml of Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc. Do the math, and then go to your local supermarket and compare the price. Skin on fries were...in fact skinny, and pretty close to what McDonalds sell. Otherwise the food was not bad but not great either. Poor service. The view at night over the river is still pretty. Go for one rather over priced drink in the place where it is said Nelson and Lady Hamilton has their assignations.More

Date of visit: September 2020
TheGunDocklands, Guest Relations Manager at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2020

Hi Sophia thank you for your review and we're sorry that you don't feel we met your expectations. Just a couple of notes, we're currently running off a slightly different menu than usual which is perhaps why we may not have met the usual standards...More

Reviewed September 9, 2020 via mobile

Nice food and very friendly italian waitress . Very cosy place with a nice view over the river from the terrace

Date of visit: September 2020
TheGunDocklands, General Manager at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2020

Hi Massimiliano! Thanks for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!!! Fabio Scarpa (Deputy Manager)

Reviewed September 7, 2020 via mobile

My partner and I visited the gun on 24/08/2020. We had a table booked at 20.30 and we did have a warm welcome, however it went horrible wrong when we wanted to order food. The starter I wanted had run out which wasn’t too much...of a problem as I was mostly looking forward to the main, but then we were told the fish and chips and lamb had run out, luckily we both wanted a beef roast so again we weren’t too bothered. As the waitress went to put the order through she came back and told us that the roast beef has also run out as well as the vegetarian option! So from 6 main courses that had on offer only 2 were available (excluding steaks) the waitress then suggested we had the chateaubriand which I would have had if they could have done at the same price as 2 roast beef dinners, she asked the manager who told her that that was not possible. We then got our stuff together and got ready to leave, the manager did not even attempt to come to apologise for running out of more than half the menu when we had booked a table. As a chef myself I understand that food does sometimes run out but this was just not acceptable and the customer service was also disgraceful. I’d also like to add that the only few vegetarian or vegan options that were available had also run out! Over very disappointingMore

Date of visit: September 2020
TheGunDocklands, General Manager at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2020

Hi Sam We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. At the moment we are having some difficulties with supplies due to Covid-19 which means that some dishes can run out but this...More

Reviewed August 17, 2020 via mobile

Fabulous, Fullers Pub tucked away in the Isle of Dogs. On the river , opposite side of the river to the dome; you can sit on their river terrace with great views up and down the Thames. The food was really good and an interesting...selection. The service was good too. The pub also has a ton of history and there has been an establishment on that spot for over 250 years. It feels like an independent pub rather than part of a chain. So avoid the contrived, soulless nonsense in Canary Wharf and give the Gun a shot!More

Date of visit: August 2020
TheGunDocklands, General Manager at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Douglas, thanks you so much for the great review, I look forward to welcoming you again soon! JP (GM)

Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

Stopped by for a pint in the rooftop garden and covid precautions were excellent. Hand sanitisers and clear markings on floor. Wonderful Thames views and great chips! One of my favourite London pubs.

Date of visit: August 2020
TheGunDocklands, General Manager at The Gun, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Cheers to the view, cheers to the pints, cheers to life! Thanks for the great review PJW1980! I look forward to welcoming you again soon, JP (GM)

Reviewed August 13, 2020

Came here for the first time for a private party and then we booked dinner for my husband's birthday! It is so much bigger inside than you imagine and we had a great meal with great service! Their roast on a Sunday is amazing too!

Date of visit: September 2019
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
583 reviews
.26 miles away
InterContinental London - The O2
6,205 reviews
.33 miles away
Radisson Blu Edwardian New Providence Wharf Hotel
4,709 reviews
.38 miles away
OYO Home Canary Wharf
1 review
.45 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Peninsula Restaurant
376 reviews
.34 miles away
Market Brasserie
139 reviews
.34 miles away
Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf
477 reviews
.37 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Up at The O2
6,420 reviews
.48 miles away
Crossrail Place Roof Garden
165 reviews
.33 miles away
Billingsgate Market
128 reviews
.41 miles away
ATP World Tour Finals
62 reviews
.45 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
May 31, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from adrians273 | Reviewed this property |
Take the DLR to South Quay Station and walk about 10 minutes to the Gun. Or, take the DLR to Blackwall Station and walk about 15 minutes.
November 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mike T | Property representative |
There is limited street parking available as this will mostly be taken up by residents. There is some parking slightly further afield which is the NCP car park
October 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mike T | Property representative |
Yes we do! :)
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing