We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silka

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Get food delivered
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$16 - $48
CUISINES
Indian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
229
31
13
8
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
229
31
13
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry lamb rogan josh vegetable samosas poppadoms gobhi duck prawns borough market indian food basement restaurant london bridge fantastic food our waiter this lovely restaurant best indian lovely dinner waiting staff
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 8, 2021

Together with my partner we decided to order from Silka to celebrate our anniversary. Our choice was based on good opinions and wide variety of dishes. We got three cans of Coke zero for free which was really nice and the food arrived hot. We...were very happy until we got to try the food. It wasn't the worst, it was okay-ish. The main problem was that for four pieces of lamb or chicken we got a pint of sauce. We paid £15 for Prawn Moilee and had only 4 prawns in it. The food looks totally different from the gallery on their website and is completely not worth the money. There are many more better Indian restaurants in London with much better food for similar price. Will never order again from Silka, big disappointment on our big night.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Shafiul A, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Veronica, Thank you for the review and apologies for the delayed response. Customer feedback is important for us as it tells us what we are doing right and occasionally what we do wrong. From reading your review it seems your dining experience was not...More

Reviewed December 29, 2020

!!WOULD ABSOLUTELY RECCOMEND TO ANYONE!! This was the first time we have ever ordered from Silka and we didn't know what to expect. We decided to go for dishes that we were not familiar with, just to try something new. We ordered a Dal Makhni...(V) and a Saag Paneer (V) as one of us was a veggie along with some vegetable samosas. For us meat lovers, we had a Lamb Kolhapuri and a Lamb Chennai.... they were... unreal!! The perfect balance of chilli spice and flavours. With this, we got a garlic and coriander naan as well as a Peshawari naan, again, very well made!! Just when we thought that this takeaway couldn't get any better, we found a box at the bottom of the very attractive bag. The box was an Aperol Spritz making kit which was given as a gift by this wonderful restaurant!! Would absolutely recommend it!!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Shafiul A, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2021

Nick, Thanks for your review. Delighted you were impressed over and above your expectations. We are thrilled you chose to order from us and glad we met and exceeded your expectations. The dishes you chose are certainly scrumptious and perfect comfort food. We have shown...More

Reviewed December 23, 2020

We ordered a delivery from silka- this is our second order and I can’t rate it enough. The food is absolutely gorgeous. There is so much choice on the menu and silka have thrown in free drinks every order. Thank you so much! Our go...to Indian.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Shafiul A, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2020

Dear Rachael, Thanks for the review and we hope you had an enjoyable Christmas under the circumstances. Thrilled you chose to order from us a second time, even happier the food met and exceeded your expectations. We might not be open for dining in, but...More

Reviewed December 6, 2020

Myself and my husband went to Silka for dinner and were blown away by the amazing food, warm hospitality of the staff and attention to detail. The restaurant offered a vegetarian/vegan selection of meals, but I was pleasantly surprised to learn that almost all their...(meat-based) curries can be made vegan as well. The food was delicious, and very well priced for a restaurant situated so near to Borough market. The manager (unfortunately didn't get his name) was fantastic and our waiter Juber was incredibly friendly and attentive. We will certainly be back.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Shafiul A, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2020

Mel, Thanks for the review you have left. We are happy you were impressed with the food and hospitality on offer at Silka Borough Market. While we are in unprecedented times, we are trying our best to ensure your dining experience is as normal as...More

Reviewed December 6, 2020

My friends and I dined at this lovely restaurant last night. From the minute we walked in, we were greeted warmingly from all the staff. It was evident they were following new guidelines with care. We had a mix of lamb, duck, prawn and vegetarian...dishes. All were so delicious! And so much to choose from on the menu. The service really stood out to us. We will definitely return! Thanks to everyone.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Shafiul A, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2020

jessicaos1998, Thanks for leaving us a review, feedback is important to us, especially in these unprecedented times as dining experiences are a bit different now. Safety of all guests and staff is paramount, even the AA have accredited us as a Covid Confident establishment. We...More

Reviewed December 5, 2020

I have never eaten prawns like the prawns a here, very good prawns, I cannot overstate. Other food also very good - lamb shank in a curry who’d have thought it.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Shafiul A, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2020

Donej, Thanks for the review you have left us. We have passe don your compliments to the chef and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards Alom

Reviewed December 3, 2020

Perfect location and a nice atmosphere for busy Londoners. The entrance is right next to Borough Market, very easy to spot.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Shafiul A, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2020

C.C, Thanks for the review. Delighted you enjoyed the dining experience with us and we look forward to your next visit. Our Al Fresco outdoor dining terrace will be open once again so your next dining experience next week could be in an outdoor heated...More

Reviewed November 5, 2020 via mobile

First time visiting from Essex.. we had our mini moon in London! Stayed in the shard which is a 3minute walk from this restaurant. We had poppadoms to start and dips which were fab, starters were chick tikka and king prawn (my husband loved them)...I had the chick rogan for my main and the naan bread was to die for. Partner had a baby chicken which was very nice also! Nice wine and beers..will defo be back! Could eat it all over againMore

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
ShafiulAlom, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2020

Bernie, Thanks for the review you have left us. Delighted your dining experience was an enjoyable one. It pleases us when we read reviews such as yours and thank you for choosing to dine with us. We hope post lockdown you will return and visit...More

Reviewed November 5, 2020

Really really lovely staff - welcoming and friendly throughout! Food was delicious - so tasty and high quality. We came here on the last night before lockdown and fully intend to return as soon as they are open again.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
ShafiulAlom, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2020

Pendra, Thanks for the review. We have passed on your compliments to the entire team so they can get the credit they deserve. Hopefully, we will be re-opening on 2nd December and we are now taking bookings via our website. Take care and stay safe...More

Reviewed October 31, 2020 via mobile

Shared a family meal at this welcoming restaurant. Tasty food, friendly service and nice environment. Juber was a great host.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
ShafiulAlom, Owner at Silka, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2020

Smiths, Thanks for the review and compliments. See you again soon. We are taking bookings post-December 2nd and look forward to welcoming you all back. Alom

View more reviews
Best nearby
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard,
the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond
any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some
time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved
browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street,
foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old
foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks
of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
London Bridge Hotel
3,116 reviews
.08 miles away
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) hotel
745 reviews
.13 miles away
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
3,808 reviews
.16 miles away
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
1,685 reviews
.18 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Padella
1,238 reviews
.01 miles away
Rabot 1745
1,299 reviews
.02 miles away
Whiskey Ginger
294 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Borough Market
13,165 reviews
.04 miles away
Old Operating Theatre
767 reviews
.06 miles away
Southwark Cathedral
864 reviews
.06 miles away
The Ginger Pig
14 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
W6630HJpeters
November 7, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from gerg_861 | Reviewed this property |
I have pretty severe achilles tendonitis, and I made it down using the handrails.
0
Votes
JZB1521
January 22, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Shafiul A | Property representative |
Yes. Great wine. Excellent selection of Gins.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing