We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Skylon

#618 of 17,131 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood:
Southbank
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Belvedere Road | Belvedere Road, Royal Festival Hall, London SE1 8XX, England
+44 20 7654 7800
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,958 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,847: English reviews
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had an hour before a concert. Presented with the set menu, believing that perhaps there was only this menu. Ordered and later saw the waitress hand the a la carte to the two ladies beside us. Bit confused at this point. Didn't have time for 3 courses which was the set menu, no option for 2. Mum had starter and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 9th f
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

To celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary we chose Skylon for lunch. As it was a special occasion, we wanted everything to be absolutely right; and it was. The venue is a delight, a light, spacious, quiet room, a table with a wonderful view over the river through huge windows. The service was excellent - exactly as you would want it... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevin_sloane
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear kevin_sloane, I would like to thank you for your great review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your special celebration and thank you for spending it with us at Skylon. I have passed your lovely feedback to our Executive Head Chef who is delighted to hear as he strives to achieve satisfaction as you have mentioned. Once again... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

If you can get a table next to the window then so much the better, but a high quality experience all round. Great ambiance, attentive staff, reasonably priced menu of good quality food (tho I wasn't paying). Have been here a couple of times now and certainly can recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy N
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy N, Thank you very much for your great feedback from your recent visit to Skylon. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and that our staff were attentive. We take pride in producing the highest of quality and seasonal dishes and I am thrilled to hear you were satisfied with our menus. I hope... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Pure indulgence of taste and flavour with the artfully crafted exclusive menu celebrating the Portuguese Wine month beautifully hosted by Stephano and Noelia who were very accommodating with our particular requirements! Truly enjoyable experience! Highly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Zlatka J
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear Zlatka J, I would like to take this moment to thank you for your kind words. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our special celebration “Domingo De Festa”. I am delighted to see that our team impressed you that you took the time to name them in your review, I am sure they will be very pleased to... More 

London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The view on the river is amazing and it's a very nice place to sit. However the food is rather poor for the price tag. The vegetarian pitivier had undercooked puffed pastry and the interior was a bland vegetable mix, with very little flavour of the promised jerusalem artichoke. My daughter's gnocchi were so hard she could not eat them... More 

Helpful?
Thank FamilleKillick
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear FamilleKillick, Firstly, I would like to thank you for your recent visit at Skylon and your subsequent feedback. I am glad you enjoyed Skylon’s location and the scenic view, though sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience with the dishes you had on the evening. I have passed on your comments about the dishes you had... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a table but still had to wait 35 minutes on arrival. Being honest this was a terrible dining experience. Once we were sat it took 10 minutes to get a menu and then an hour to get the food. The staff were stressed and unhappy and it showed. The food portions were tiny and tasted average. The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Englishmanjourney
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear Englishmanjourney, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience at Skylon After reading your review, it is clear on that evening we did not provide the service we pride ourselves on I have noted all the points you have elaborated on for which I would like to apologise for... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice place the staff are professional and friendly. Daniele is a very good waitrer . I will come back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Francesco V
Ludovic S, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear Francesco V, On behalf of the team here at Skylon I would like to thank you for your review. We take pride in providing the best service, furthermore to have a member of the team mentioned, Daniele will be thrilled and I make sure your comment will be passed on. Once more thank you and we look forward to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best part is the view of the river from the Royal Festival Hall. Next best is the wine list. The food is unimpresssive: tiny portions, heavily decorated. We were hungry an hour or so after leaving. Worst of all is the value. I don't know who this would be aimed at: ostentatious business lunches, perhaps.

Helpful?
Thank intermeddle
Kim S, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear intermeddle, First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking your time to pass along your comments referring to your recent experience at Skylon. As much as I was happy to see that you found views as well as wine lists truly satisfactory, it was rather disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy the food served... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food , good staff Service fast and beautiful View on the river.. Good for groups and also for romantic dinner

Helpful?
Thank marzietta1978
Kim S, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear marzietta1978, First and foremost thank you for choosing Skylon and for taking your time to pass such a delightful feedback along. We can not be happier than hearing that our guests enjoyed every bit of their time with us. I will make sure to share your compliments with the entire Skylon team and we will be looking forward to... More 

Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I suggest this restaurant to my boss and his family from USA for our dinner (no pressure :-) ) and it was just perfect. The atmosphere in this place was perfect and the views at night overlooking the river/City are amazing! Even though they don't have tables for 6 near the window they did managed to get me a table... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TNiquini
Kim S, General Manager at Skylon, responded to this review

Dear Tniquini, We are absolutely pleased to see that you've relied on Skylon for such an important dinner and thank you very much for taking your time to pass your subsequent feedback along. It is our infinite pleasure to see that you were pleased with your experience from the beginning to an end. Indeed, we always do our very best... More 

Travelers who viewed Skylon also viewed

 

Been to Skylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
European, British
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Belvedere Road | Belvedere Road, Royal Festival Hall, London SE1 8XX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Southbank
  • Neighborhood: Southbank
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7654 7800
Description
Skylon takes its name from the original, iconic structure that was built for the 1951 Festival of Britain and the restaurant's design echoes the style of the Royal Festival Hall during the same period. Situated on the third floor of the Southbank Centre, Skylon boasts outstanding views over the River Thames from its huge floor-to-ceiling windows. The main Restaurant features modern British cuisine, while the Grill offers more informal cooking and a relaxed atmosphere. The two dining areas are separated by a stunning centrepiece, raised bar which is renowned across London for its fabulous cocktails. Executive Head Chef Tom Cook brings a wealth of experience to the kitchen, following time at sister restaurant Pont de la Tour. Look out for regularly changing menus with an emphasis on seasonal ingredients combined simply and imaginatively. Visit the Skylon website for sample menus and further information.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Skylon and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Skylon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Southbank

Neighborhood Profile
Southbank
Big time attractions such as the London Eye and a thriving theatre scene (compliments of the National Theatre and the Young Vic) are but a few of the reasons that Southbank is such a collectively cherished part of town. With plenty of family friendly activities and venues lined up along a pedestrianized river bank between Westminster Bridge and Waterloo Bridge, visitors can always expect a casual and festive atmosphere. On top of all the fun stuff to do at Southbank is the opportunity to simply sit back and admire photo-op views of iconic landmarks like Parliament and St Paul's Cathedral, just on across the Thames.
Explore this neighborhood