We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Dove

#2,352 of 17,072 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chiswick
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
19 Upper Mall, London W6 9TA, England
442087489474
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 149: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic little pub by the Thames in Hammersmith. It boasts an entry in the Guinness book of records for having the smallest public bar in the world and has entertained King Charles II and Nell Gwynne. This was a favourite pub of mine over forty years ago when I lived in Paddington, I actually had my stag night here I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rod B
Sonia L, General Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Thank you very much Rob! What a place to have your stag night! You are a star! I am so glad you find it unchanged and still loved it as much. We do cherish the view from the terrace. I'd like to think we have one of the best office view in London! Looking forward to seeing you again soon,... More 

Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To start with the welcome was great. The pub's interior is mainly wood and reflects its age. The pub has a great atmosphere and would love to have it as my local if I lived near. The staff , beers (Fullers) plus lagers etc and the food were all excellent. There is nice outdoor seating and the exterior is decked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerallt E
Sonia L, General Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! I am thrilled you loved our little pub full of history! I think you should move near us so we can be neighbours ;-) I have passed your comment onto our staff and chefs and they all are very thankful! Thanks again! hoping to see you soon! More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tiny place with plenty of seating (watch your head) and cute little terrace overlooking the river. Good pick of local ales and various tipple. Regular prices. Polite staff, but please watch out for the rain as the outside terrace does not have a roof. Will certainly be back!

Helpful?
Thank Dima D
Sonia L, General Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review!! We are hoping to see you again soon, hopefully seating in our sunny terrace! More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a very hot (34 degrees C) July afternoon dropped int the Dove to see what all the fuss was about. This is a historic pub with a colourful history, which really did not compensate for the poor food and terrible service. It was too hot for the delightful outdoor terrace and balcony overlooking the river so we sat inside... More 

Helpful?
Thank SimonBunn
Sonia L, Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Thank you very much for your review. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing visit. We usually do offer table service in the restaurant and great customer service is something we take pride in. However it can be hard to maintain when the weather is amazing as it was that day! In regards to your food, would you... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with another couple for a few drinks and light meal. Charming historic riverfront pub and restaurant. Amazing inside and terrific terrace overlooking the Thames. Ordered burgers and a "Jar of Shell on Prawns"... Burgers and chips very well prepared and lovely. The "Jar of Shell on Prawns" was disappointing, prawns were poorly prepared, still full of eggs, and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig B
Sonia L, Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Hi Craig, Thank you for taking your time to post this review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the Dove! I am also glad you enjoyed our Beef burger, however I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with our Shell on Prawns. They are wild prawns, which are served as they are delivered... More 

Rossendale
Level Contributor
280 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a hot afternoon this is a lovely place for a cool drink. The terrace looks direclty onto the Thames and various houseboats anchored some yards out into the river. It is out of the direct sun (note!) so pleasantly cool. The down side it was crowded. There was not a spare table or chair to be had. As soon... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeylandAtlantean
Sonia L, General Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! I am glad you enjoyed your jug of Pimm's in the sun - which is the only way to drink Pimm's really! Unfortunately we are a very small pub and when the sun is our terrace gets very busy. Due to Health and Safety reasons we cannot... More 

UK
Level Contributor
480 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

I brough friends over for their first pint in the UK on a Wednesday afternoon and chose this place because of its historical connotations (Charles II ate here apparently) and proximity to Hammersmith. The pub is a bit hidden away (access is through an alley way from the park, which only adds charm to the venue). Expect a dark and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LucyCarvalho
Sonia L, Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Thank you very much Lucy for your lovely review. We are very glad that you and your friends enjoyed the visit. Hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Kristiana More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

This has a great view from the terrace but they have tried to pack far too many tables into the space available. The pub is reached on a cuts little lane, which means it back out to the river; decor inside is quaint and pretty but service was slow.

Helpful?
Thank TheOExpress
Sonia L, General Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for you review. I am sorry the service was slow on your visit. could you please let me know which day you came in so I can investigate better. We are a very small pub and unfortunately people move the outside tables around constantly which can make it look crowded. We do try and control... More 

UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

Lovely historic pub along the river with more tables than you might imagine...good burgers...but we ordered cocktails (£8.50) which were disappointing. My pimms prosecco filled only half a small slim wine glass, and my husband's Aperol spritzer was anaemic in colour and didn't taste much of Aperol. I checked with the waiter who said the measures were correct. Mine was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LLSL
Sonia L, General Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere here at The Dove. I am sorry the cocktails seemed small. The Pimm's & Prosecco is a standard 125ml of Prosecco topped up with Pimm's as for the Aperol we do top it up with soda following the recipe. I hope... More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

I duly booked a week beforehand as Fathers Day lunch was planned and I was impressed by the phone call the day before to confirm time and number. We had all arrived by 2pm and it was very very busy but surely as an employer you make contingencies and maybe don't make quite so many bookings if the kitchen cannot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coolcookingteacher
Sonia L, Manager at The Dove, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on what was an extremely busy Father's day. I sincerely apologies for a disappointing lunch and the wait on food. We did have limitation on bookings but couldn't help the walk-ins. The pork belly is confit, which is why we do not have the usual crackling you can find on other... More 

Travelers who viewed The Dove also viewed

 

Been to The Dove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover
Good for
Families with children, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 Upper Mall, London W6 9TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Chiswick
  • Neighborhood: Chiswick
  • Phone Number: 442087489474

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dove staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?