We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punjab

Covent Garden 80 Neal Street, London WC2H 9PA, England
+44 20 7836 9787
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“naan” (115 reviews)
“butter chicken” (86 reviews)
“curry” (118 reviews)
Opens in 3 min
Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Covent Garden 80 Neal Street, London WC2H 9PA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (2,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 370 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

Ate here early as had tickets to the Theatre, was very surprised how busy it was so early. Not a bad meal but definitely had better curries. Ordered a Jalfrezi which to me is quite a hot dish, this was very mild. Staff were pleasant....More

Thank Karen T
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Hi Karen T, Thank you very much for your recent review of the Punjab. You are right to point out that a Jalfrezi is a hot dish, however, we are always happy to add more spice if required. Please do come and see us again...More

Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

When you are tired of eating so called indian fusion food/gourmet that everyone is trying around mayfair, its great to come back to home in this restaurant. Traditional dishes served with love and not in some arrogance. This is Indian food at its core.More

1  Thank Natty1814
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Hi Natty1814 Thank you so much for your kind words, I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your time with us and of course our food. Please come and see us again the next time you are in Covent Garden A Maan MD...More

Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

We had dinner March 1st the wait wasn't long about 20 mins. Once we sat down our service was good. We all ordered something different and shared we all enjoyed the food.More

Thank CarlosVJ956
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Hi calovj Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience at the Punjab. It is always great to get feedback especially when it's as good as this. Please do come and see us again the next time you...More

Reviewed March 1, 2017

In London for 2 weeks with my wife, staying in Covent Garden. We were intrigued by Punjab's great ratings and promise of Northern Indian cuisine. We are now spoiled for Indian food; it was so good, we don't know where we'll eat that could compare...More

Thank Tim P
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Hi Tim P Wow, thank you, so many kind words thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you and your wife really enjoyed your meal especially the Peshwari Naan. We do have a few...More

Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

Tasteless food, rude staff. Really disappointing place, which just seems to be taking in tourists or people off the street. If you want to taste authentic Indian food try Dishoom or DUM Biryani. Avoid this place at all costs unless you like your food bland...More

Thank Alex S
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Dear Alex R Thank you for your review of the Punjab I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us. We never want our guests to feel that our staff are rude nor that our food is tasteless. You don't mention how our staff were...More

Reviewed February 28, 2017

London has a great abundance of Indian restaurants. Punjab is at the top, one of the best we've visited. We ordered a variety of foods, Kadu Puri, Amritsari, Tandori mix grill, gosht and a few naan. Everything was delicious, tasty and as spicy as you...More

Thank CliffKol
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Hi Cliffkol, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your recent visit. Please come and visit us again the next time you are in London Best regards...More

Reviewed February 28, 2017

A large Indian restaurant in Covent Garden well placed for theatre dinners. The food is generally good but catered to local tastes, and could be better. Could not fault the service - came in a large group and we were treated very well. Worth a...More

Thank nn207
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Hi niraj n, Thank you for your review and kind words about the Punjab. Our menu is still based on when we first opened in 1946 and is based on our family cooking in the Punjab. Please do come and see us again the next...More

Reviewed February 25, 2017

This was by far the worst Indian meal we have ever eaten. The cheap ready made microwaved supermarket packs are better quality than this restaurant. They are lucky to be located at a spot where they get a stream of deplorable drunk customers that seem...More

1  Thank MasterDev
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Dear MasterDev Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our restaurant. I was sorry to read that this was "by far the worst Indian meal you have ever eaten" We have been serving Punjabi food in London since 1946 serving people...More

Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

Visited here a few times over the past 2 years. Best to try and book in advance to avoid waiting in line!! Lovely food, friendly prompt service that hits the spot. Will be back :)More

Thank Hannah G
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2017

Hi Hannah G, Thank you so much for your ongoing support of the Punjab, I was delighted to hear that you really enjoy your time with us at the Punjab. Please do come and see us again very soon Best regards A Maan MD of...More

Reviewed February 24, 2017

We asked Punjab to cater for our film, and as a result had the most wonderful lunches while filming. We're utterly indebted to their delicious vegetarian curries, dal and vegetable rice for energising our cast and crew, and for their exceptionally friendly service during the...More

Thank kaew2
Amrit m, Owner at Punjab, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2017

Hi Kaew2, Thank you so much for your recent review I was delighted to hear that the cast and the crew really enjoyed your food from the Punjab. It is true food can really bring people together... Please do come and see us again very...More

Nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,082 hotels in London
Seven Dials Hotel
417 reviews
.02 miles away
Covent Garden Hotel
1,087 reviews
.03 miles away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
3,251 reviews
.07 miles away
The Hospital Club
225 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Homeslice Neal's Yard
1,296 reviews
.04 miles away
Brasserie Max
379 reviews
.04 miles away
Rossodisera
420 reviews
.01 miles away
Wildwood Kitchen
426 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Shaftesbury Theatre
820 reviews
.07 miles away
Shaftsbury Theatre
228 reviews
.07 miles away
St Giles-in-the-Fields Church
17 reviews
.05 miles away
Oasis Sports Centre
33 reviews
.06 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cynthia P
March 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 99Jilly | Reviewed this property |
We never booked and went in a similar time . The tables seem to turn over quickly without you being rushed. If you are concerned perhaps ring them when you get to the uk.
0
Votes
aji0m
January 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amrit m | Property representative |
Hi, aji0m I'm sorry to say your friend is correct. I hope that helps Amrit MD of the Punjab
0
Votes
Neena B
August 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JaoJao38 | Reviewed this property |
It’s in between Covent Garden and Leicester Square. If you book in advance you will get a table otherwise you might find yourself queuing. It’s a popular restaurant!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20 - $40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Covent Garden 80 Neal Street, London WC2H 9PA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Covent Garden
  • Neighborhood: Covent Garden
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7836 9787
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;