We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Butlers Wharf Chop House

36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
+44 20 7403 3403
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (196 reviews)
“potted shrimps” (13 reviews)
“fish and chips” (59 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went to Butlers Wharf last week to celebrate a good friends retirement. Food was superb. I had bone marrow gratin for starters (first for me but tastes lovely), tomahawk pork chop followed by a great cheese selection. Food is great but the location opposite Tower...More

Thank Allister16
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited with two good friends on a Sunday in early December, packed dining room, super atmosphere. The service was excellent, a nice wine recommendation saw us drinking a lovely Barolo, after a good selection of beers to kick us off. Beef was excellent as...More

Thank waynonol
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was delicious!! Especially the Mixed Grill! The staff were so friendly . Warm & Cosy feel. Will definitely go back!

Thank Patricia B
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Patricia B, Thank you for leaving this nice review. We are very pleased you were able to enjoy the mixed grill as much as we do. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Charlie McSweeney

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you Patricia for a wonderful post theatre supper. The food was excellent, the wine superb, and your informed and congenial service the perfect accompaniment to a happily memorable evening.

Thank Brizzee
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Brizzee, What a lovely review. I have told Patricia about what you have written and she's over the moon, and very pleased that the service she provided made your night so special. Thank you very much. Kind regards, Charlie McSweeney

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

George and Edith make the best mulled wine in town. And we were the first to try it A warm welcome was received. We dropped in on the off chance we would be squeezed in and we weren’t let down. This is a favourite place...More

Thank Debandiain
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Debandiain, Thank you for leaving such a great review. I'm delighted that we were able to get you in and you had the chance to try their incredibly popular Mulled wine - Certainly one of the best things about this time of year! We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They gave a very nice spacious table by the window where we had beautiful view of tower bridge at night. Food was good, but nothing too fancy. Service was attentive and friendly.

Thank Paola G
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Paola G, Thanks for taking the time to leave these kind words and we hope to see you here again in the future. Kind regards, Charlie McSweeney

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant itself had a lovely atmosphere and the service was excellent, but the rib eye steak we ordered was truly the worst, toughest steak we have ever eaten. Maybe it was a one off but would definitely not recommend it.More

Thank Sandy P
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sandy P, I’d just like to apologise for the steak that you had, it’s very unusual to have bad comments about any of our steaks and so I’m sure, like you said it was a one off. We would have been more than happy...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We just wandered into the chop house without a reservation and got a table and it was one of the best meals I had. However what made the experience special was the pop up stand called Got Game. Everything we had was very good but...More

Thank orrdin
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Orrdin, What a lovely review! The boys (Tom and Richard) are both incredibly talented and with such a fantastic vision, we couldn’t resist getting them in to showcase their delicious food. We are so pleased that you could come and sample what they had...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

OK not 'cheap' but still good value for money. If you stick to the deals, forgo coffee, drinks and desert it's a bargain - but you won't! Anyway great location, good service, good food, good (not cheap wine) but Eton Mess a bit weak and...More

Thank Mark_Elliott
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mark_Elliot, Thank you for such a diplomatically written review, it's good to see that over all you had a good time while you were here with us. As you mentioned, we do have quite a few promotions on such as our 'Red roast' for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was looking forward to a happy evening and a nice meal with friends. Sadly, I only got one out of two! Happy evening but the meal was less than impressive. On arrival we were made to wait for nearly half an hour before we...More

1  Thank Paula S
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paula S, I'm so sorry to hear that your time with us on Friday was so disappointing for you and your guests. The inconsistent and careless service that you write about is completely unacceptable and I can't appologise enough. We train our staff to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cantina del Ponte
1,034 reviews
.06 miles away
Le Pont de la Tour
837 reviews
.04 miles away
Blueprint Cafe
709 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Tower of London
50,543 reviews
.28 miles away
Tower Bridge
27,519 reviews
.10 miles away
City Hall
224 reviews
.25 miles away
London Bridge
248 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lucyprov
September 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from Charlie M | Property representative |
Good Afternoon, Yes we run a children's menu all week.
0
Votes
dfinch2016
October 8, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Charlie M | Property representative |
The package for the meal and boat is £300 for the meal only it is £100 Kind regards Colin
0
Votes
Ian S
July 27, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sarah H | Reviewed this property |
Hi Ian, I'm so sorry I didn't see your message! Hope your wife's 60th went well and the Chop House was as delicious as can be. Best, Sarah
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$24 - $67
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7403 3403
  • E-mail
Description
We pride ourselves on serving modern British food that is locally sourced. Being located along London's riverside we have all kinds of amazing suppliers at our finger tips with the likes of Cannon and Cannon from Borough Market bringing you the best in British charcuterie and grass-fed Spey side Angus X steaks, our restaurant is brimming with quality ingredients. As well as meat we like to think our fish & seafood is pretty good too, with Foreman's smoked salmon, Carlingford Rocks Oysters and sumptuous lobster. Soak up magnificent views across to Tower Bridge and beyond, we like to think this it is the perfect place to come and sample one of our craft ale's or peruse our extensive gin list. The Chop House bar has a relaxed atmosphere adjacent to the main restaurant and is a great place to stop by for a quick bite to eat or to enjoy cocktails in a relaxed setting, overlooking Tower Bridge. Whether you're on a lunch break with colleagues or popping in at the weekend with family there is something for everybody's taste.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing