We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jolly Gardeners

) #4,178 of 17,887 Restaurants in London $$ - $$$ Bar, British, Pub
61-63 Lacy Road | Putney, London SW15 1NT, England
+44 20 8789 2539
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good24%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible13%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (6 reviews)
“beef” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
61-63 Lacy Road | Putney, London SW15 1NT, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They have recently changed their menus and the choices are far better. The Camembert platter is a great share. Always a nice atmosphere.

Thank nidhochartaigh
General Manager A, Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review. We really are enjoying our new menu. We will be launching a few more dishes very soon, so we do hope we will see you again soon.

Reviewed March 13, 2017

There were 7 of us with a toddler and we were accommodated efficiently without any problems. Very nice staff serving tasty pub grub with a good selection of beers.

Thank smithmimek
General Manager A, Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback! We put alot of effort into the beer range and quality, and are glad you enjoyed the food too. Come again! Dave General Manager

Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

Not a bad pub, plenty of room inside with a couple of wood burning fires. Having said that it was rather cold on my visit to the point of having to keep my coat on, however I understand that the heating may have broken down...More

Thank Elusive-Camel
David S, General Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Thanks! The heating indeed was fixed immediately, probably the Friday of/day after your visit! Our apologies for that but many thanks for your kind words, we'll continue to strive to be better See you soon, Dave

Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

Not the best Sunday lunch I have ever had and not value for money £15 75 for roast shoulder of lamb 3pots 2 veg little carrots and Brussels cold plate waiter very polite manager surly and obviously wanting to be somewhere else wine good GrahamMore

Thank grasand
David S, General Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Hi Graham, Our sincerest apologies for your experience. I can assure you that your experience is atypical, our Sunday Roasts are held in the highest regard, and we like our service standards to match. Please get in contact on 02087892539 to give us more detailed...More

Reviewed January 22, 2017

Have been here a couple of times and have always loved it. Delicious food (especially the roasts), friendly staff and great atmosphere. Great knowledge on beers & wines too. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Erin B
David S, General Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words Erin, we try our best, and the roasts and beers are our pride and joy so come again any time! Dave

Reviewed January 19, 2017

Great pub, lovely food and fantastic service. A little expensive for a pub but worth it and the staff are fabulous . They change the menu regularly too. Thank you

Thank Annie5410
David S, General Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Annie thanks so much for your feedback, we're thrilled you enjoy the menu and the staff and will endeavour to improve even more to prove we're value for money! Dave

Reviewed January 5, 2017

5 of us booked a table for lunch for 12.45. Our food arrived at 13.55!! It was quite clear there was not enough staff on duty but still took food orders. One bar man only who did his best. For this reason I would not...More

Thank BHAgirl
David S, General Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Hi! Our sincerest apologies for your wait. As you could no doubt observe, we were hit by some unavoidable absences on a key day, and just had to do our best in some tough circumstances. We did try to warn of a long food wait,...More

Reviewed December 31, 2016

Visited the Jolly Gardeners for a farewell dinner/ night out for a colleague. Spot on to the organiser, because this venue was fun!! Food fresh and tasty and arrived promptly. Lots of fun and frolics in our group, but never did I feel that we...More

Thank debsmillen66
David S, General Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We had a great night too on the most over-hyped day of the year, so thanks for playing your part! Come again soon! Dave

Reviewed December 30, 2016

Lovely food, laid back atmosphere, nice staff, what more could you want - would recommend this establishment

Thank AnneMClarke
David S, General Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Thanks Anne, We were happy to have delivered a cosy, relaxing Christmas to the standards we attempt all through the year. We welcome you back any time, Happy New Year to you and the family, Dave

Reviewed December 23, 2016

I came here with a group of friends for our Christmas dinner on 7th Dec and had a very enjoyable experience. We loved the decor (and the cute little huts in the garden), the food was great and the staff were friendly and super attentive....More

Thank Verity J
David S, General Manager at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this review

Thanks Verity, It was a pleasure to look after you and your friends, and we look forward to having you back! Happy New Year, Dave

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Totide
85 reviews
.17 miles away
Emile's
149 reviews
.10 miles away
Kashmir A Culinary Paradise
70 reviews
.05 miles away
Il Mascalzone
216 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Craven Cottage
280 reviews
.72 miles away
Bishop's Park
57 reviews
.58 miles away
Fulham Palace
78 reviews
.43 miles away
River Lea Navigation
9 reviews
.67 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Jolly Gardeners staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$12 - $21
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61-63 Lacy Road | Putney, London SW15 1NT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8789 2539
Description
A Jolly good pub in Putney.The Jolly Gardeners is a friendly local in Putney famous for serving up a feast of fresh pub food and a mind-boggling array of drinks. There's always something to amuse at the Jollies - from our popular quiz on Tuesdays to our sock-monkey making shenanigans on Sundays. Talking of the weekend, we mix a mean Bloody Mary for those in need of a tasty little pick-me-up.