We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Quietly tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Ealing Broadway, The Wheatsheaf is a charming, cosy pub well worth seeking out. With friendly service, great pub food and traditional real ales, it's Ealing's best kept secret. And you just found it!
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, British, Gastropub
FEATURES
Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
38
16
5
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
38
16
5
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast fish and chips burger ealing broadway nice pub range of beers great atmosphere pint ales
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 17, 2020 via mobile

Excellent service with the friendly and staff Nothing was too much trouble and we will certainty be back. Thank you

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 27, 2020

I have been to this pub a few times as i live around the corner, whether it be for food or just drinks and I have never had any issues. I find Fullers pubs reliable and decent value. Sadly, we booked lunch / dinner for...4pm last Sunday (we booked late but was still able to get a table) for Sunday dinner and to watch the football. When we arrived most tables were taken which was expected as there was plenty of football on show and prime time for a Sunday dinner. We sat down and enjoyed a drink before trying to order (via their new app), however, the sunday roast was unavailable! I understand there is a finite amount of sunday roast to go around, but what i cant understand is how they can run out by c. 4pm. In my opinion this is prime time for Sunday dinners as people were still arriving. Once we had come to terms with the lack of Sunday roast we resorted in ordering the standard pub food from the menu (fish and chips, burger, etc) which was nice but when we got to see the last remaining roasts coming out the kitchen, it made our food pretty disappointing. All in all, its a nice pub and the beers are good, but i think its poor management of stock to run out of Sunday roasts on a Sunday by 4pm.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
wheatsheafw5, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Hi Tom, Thanks for taking the time leave a review. We always appreciate feedback, be it good or bad, as it helps us identify what we are doing well or importantly where we are coming up short. Ultimately, you are completely right , although our...More

Reviewed March 14, 2020 via mobile

Great food,good price, friendly staff, great atmosphere. Dog friendly, £5.00 pizza during the day, spoke to the chef, who explained the menu in detail, we will revisit and recommend to other people.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 1, 2020

Nice pub, generous portion of fish and chips, worth a visit if you’re in W5. Service was pleasant and fast.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

I prefer this pub on Haven Lane as it is small and cosy with a real fire in the grate. They have an interesting range of beers and the atmosphere is nice as are the staff. I had fish and chips. The fish was nice...quality with thin batter but it was a relatively small portion. The chips were ok but again not really enough of them and the peas were delicious but the portion was tiny.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

Nice menu. Very tasty food. Nice pub. Clean,nice atmosphere. Would recommend for food and drink. Only one negative, they are not flexible with adjustments to the food.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

Dropped in here for the first time in a long time and have to say I was very impressed. Refurb looks great and staff very friendly and on the ball. Fantastic selection of lagers and real ales. Asahi, Peroni, Amstel, Camden Ales, and many more....A lovely atmosphere in the pub and it was nice to watch the cricket on the screen despite England doing badly! I live down Pitshanger way but will be making the visit here on a regular basis. Hope to try food next time too. Prices are reasonable for Ealing. You sometimes do get what you pay for!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
wheatsheafw5, Deputy manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Hi Thank you so much for your glowing review! I'm so glad you like what we've done to the place. And seems like England did alright in the end! All the best Karin DM

Reviewed July 8, 2019

The pub has been closed for a refurb & it re-opened on Fri 5th July at 6pm. So, having been a regular customer for about 40 years, I decided to have a look. To my disappointment, they had got rid of Fosters lager, which they...were selling at £4.40 a pint. The Heineken, which I do not regard as a premium lager, is selling at £5.15 a pint. Fullers are charging Central London prices for their draught beers, in an off the beaten track pub in Ealing. I usually spend about £600-£700/month in the Wheatsheaf But I will no longer be a regular customer.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
wheatsheafw5, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2019

Hi Pete, I'm really sorry to hear you no longer wish to visit us off the back of our refurbishment and would really appreciate the chance to talk it through with you. We would hate to lose you as a valued regular and do hope...More

Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

I met a friend of mine for a catch up and pint. We stayed for dinner and I had Fish and Chips, haddock! It was very nice and I washed it down with a pint of Oliver’s ale. It was reasonably priced and I would...go back and.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

This is a belated review from last Christmas when a small team of us enjoyed a Christmas meal. Just wanted to say that we nearly all opted for the fish and chips which is superb. Massive piece of fish with crunchy non fatty batter with...homemade chips. At first the chip portion looked a little small but trust me you don't need alot as the fish goes on forever. We tried another pub the year before but inferior and unanimously wanted to return this time. The atmosphere in the Wheatsheaf is warm, cosy and traditional and service good. We changed our timings last minute which was no problem for the staff. Food definitely above average for a pub and would urge anyone to visit.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
OYO Flagship 30380 Woodville
3 reviews
.08 miles away
Hotel 55
531 reviews
.38 miles away
Gresham Hotel
22 reviews
.40 miles away
Premier Inn London Ealing hotel
1,613 reviews
.52 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rosa's Thai Cafe
41 reviews
.14 miles away
JS Artisan Cuisine
11 reviews
.17 miles away
Sidi Bou - London
110 reviews
.17 miles away
Steak on the Green
200 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Navrtar
89 reviews
.38 miles away
Bhavi Beauty
22 reviews
.45 miles away
Pitzhanger Manor & Gallery
43 reviews
.50 miles away
Ealing Broadway Shopping Centre
111 reviews
.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lindaslist
January 16, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Passport52273699464 | Property representative |
Hello, Yes Children are welcome at any time up until 9pm. Kind Regards, Victoria
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing