We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#802 of 2,416 Bar in London
#4,055 of 16,947 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $17
CUISINES
Bar, Asian, Thai, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
73
52
14
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
73
52
14
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food duck curry prawn crackers the pub fullers beer chiswick high street great choice of beers be visiting again food was lovely quick service
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of our favourite Thai restaurants in London (note my wife is Thai and we regularly visit Thailand, so we know a little about the food) and a great place for craft beer. The staff are friendly and the place is spacious and...comfortable, which is particular important now given social distancing. They are also taking the Covid rules seriously, which gives peace of mind. A fantastic gem and highly recommended!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, General Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for such a lovely review Nate - we really do appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First mistake, to take a 6 people reservation at 8:15 PM when the kitchen closes at 9pm... Yes! We are in a Pandemic but still eating out should be a pleasurable experience. The waiters were frantic and they just wanted us to sit, order, bring...the food and go. No finesse, no welcome, total chaos with the orders. and so, so food! The worst was a short, plump waitress with blond short hair, she ruined our evening by acting like a commander in the battlefield. It was a very unpleasant experience with very lacking food. Can you imagine? We ordered starters, main courses, side dishes and lots of drink, just for them to come back to tell us that because they wanted us out by 10 PM they were going to bring everything together. It was 8:24 PM,.. one and half our before closing! The food was less than mediocre in taste and portion size... with so many good Thai restaurants in Chiswick, I do not know how can they compete!!! The noodle dishes they all tasted the same. The stir-fry dishes were small, starter size. The Salt & pepper chilli chicken wings were basically three little pieces of deep fried chicken with no salt, pepper or chilli... For me, the perfect example of what a restaurant experience SHOULD NOT be! I will be packing away, riding my old horse miles and miles away from this unfriendly pub turned into an Far-Eastern nightmare.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, General Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there. Thanks for taking some time to give us some feedback. We do indeed take bookings up until 8.30pm. Our kitchen stops taking orders at 9pm but we feel 30 minutes is plenty of time to decide what you would like to eat. You...More

Reviewed September 22, 2020 via mobile

First time I visited a pub since the pandemic so was a little nervous. All very clean and organised, names taken at the door, distanced and friendly. Food was lovely, Thai. Felt very welcome.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, General Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2020

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It really makes our day to get such lovely comments, particularly in such a tough time for our industry. We hope you can come and visit again very soon!

Reviewed September 22, 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely evening meal here, one of my first times out due to covid. I was understandably concerned but the staff member (alisha) put me totally at ease. Also very clean and tidy many thanks again

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, General Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. Alisha is a super star and we are very proud of her. We hope you can visit us again very soon!

Reviewed September 20, 2020 via mobile

We visited the pub as it is well known for its excellent food and great choice of beers. In fact, we visited twice in a weekend. I am afraid that we will not be revisiting, as their security staff are aggressive and their waiting staff...extremely rude. My other half put her feet on the bench in the outside space, where we were sitting, and the security man, who may have been right to approach us, grabbed her by the arm to say ‘we have a rule that feet do not go on the bench. I will throw you out; do you understand?’ My girlfriend was caught by such surprise, yet apologised immediately. On the second occasion, we were also sitting outside having a drink. It was very hot as the table was in the sun and the table next to us emptied. So, we simply moved to the shade. One of the waiting staff run outside and literally shouted at us ‘If you want to move you have to let us know; you can’t just move’. His manner was aggressive and rude. We understand that places currently have rules (the first of which is not actually in place as we were informed by the manager). However, these guys are in customer services and have no clue as to how to actually speak to customers. Being polite and considerate is the first rule of running such an establishment, which really needs to pick those delivering service better. To add to it, none of them wore masks, as they need to according to current national guidance.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, General Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2020

Hi Billy. We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about the way the security team member spoke to you. We informed you that we found that completely unacceptable, apologised and told you we will not have him back here again. We contract...More

Reviewed August 31, 2020

A very well run Pub with all the anti Covid-19 measures in place. The staff looked after us really well dispite the disruption caused by thepandemic. Great choice of traditional and craft beers available. The Thai Restaurant at the Pub deserves huge shout out. Excellent...fresh food at reasonable prices, served by staff that were happy to help.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, General Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2020

Hi Martyn, thank you so much for taking the time to give us this wonderful feedback. It is a joy to serve such lovely customers and reviews like this make us all smile and feel positive in these strange times. Please come back soon for...More

Reviewed August 15, 2020 via mobile

Friendly welcome even for just a drink, and appropriate attention paid to Covid measures without being overbearing. Table server was attentive and knowledgeable - great advice on an IPA to try - and comes with a smile.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, General Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2020

Hi Mezzetino! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We are very pleased that you are happy with the measures we are taking to protect our customers, and that you enjoyed your visit! :D We hope to see you again soon for some...More

Reviewed August 14, 2020

As soon as I approach the doors, the host was an absolute delight. After being seated, the floor staff gave us sufficient time to decide to order our drinks as they have a wide range of drinks, and also when my husband requested the beer...selection, the helpful staff member gave a fantastic recommendation of the Siren craft beer. The staff was always convenient at service when needed, they offered complimentary water. We would definitely come back on our next travel to Chiswick. Thank you to the old pack horse team. Friendliest staff we have experienced on our trip yet!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It means the world to us, getting feedback like this! Really hope you can come back soon and all the time to keep us company :D!

Reviewed August 13, 2020

Visited after lockdown today, With a host to show you to your table and table service for your drinks, The bartender lingered around as I quenched my thirst the I was asked if I wanted another. The drinks were brought on a tray for me...to pick up but my empties were taken from the table as the bartender walked passed. The bill came and was told hope you don't mind there is a small Service Charge. I calculated 10% of the bill.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, General Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2020

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I gather from your rating that you did not fully enjoy your experience with us yesterday. The reason we ask you to take your drink from the tray is a Covid measure...More

Reviewed August 11, 2020 via mobile

Walking down Chiswick High Street in 35 degrees heat looking for a cool lager and a bite to eat stumbled into The Old Pack Horse. Looks like an old traditional pub from the outside. And it is but what you don't expect is a brilliant...Thai restaurant. Excellent food at decent prices. Amazing, friendly staff. We'll be backMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
theoldpackhorse, General Manager at The Old Pack Horse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2020

What fantastic feedback! Thank you so much for visiting and we hope to see you again very soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
1,094 reviews
.51 miles away
High Road House
124 reviews
.51 miles away
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
1,172 reviews
.69 miles away
Premier Inn London Chiswick Hotel
957 reviews
.70 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Crown And Anchor
146 reviews
.12 miles away
Kuyamoto
13 reviews
.07 miles away
Le Vacherin
560 reviews
.26 miles away
Rhythm & Brews
126 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Treasuredays
15 reviews
.46 miles away
Chiswick
88 reviews
.03 miles away
Chiswick House and Gardens
122 reviews
.47 miles away
Hogarth's House
64 reviews
.41 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Pack Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing