We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Swan

Claimed
Reserve a Table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
You will find The White Swan in London within a short stroll of Strand, Soho and Holborn - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality. Please Note: Wheelchair access is available for the ground floor bar with disabled toiet facilities at the rear.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Television, Full Bar, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
64
88
27
13
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
64
88
27
13
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips pies steak covent garden upstairs restaurant pub meal traditional pub london pub west end food was amazing beer ale theatre
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 215 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Sunday, midday and thus traditional British pub was empty. That didn't stay like that. Within thirty minutes it was heaving. Not surprising taking into account the service behind the bar. Friendly and speedy. It had to be to serve all those customers. Many arriving for...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank norman1366
Reviewed 6 days ago

Simple question during the week a pint of Stella is £5.10 on Saturday £5.35, WHY. Seems like a rip off to me, also staff not always the best had to ask to be served on Saturday as barman to interested in watching the Rugby on...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Andrew B
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi There, Thank you so much for the feedback, we shall be looking in to the points you have listed and be making sure that they are sorted out, hope to see you again soon! all the best The White Swan Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a party of about 15 in for drinks before and after a meal elsewhere at lunchtime. Friendly service from a young woman and man behind the bar. Clean toilets. I would visit again and recommend. Nobody raised any issues with the wide range...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank GCTamp
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for the amazing review! We are glad that you and your friends had a good time with us at the white swan! We hope that next time you are in the area that you’ll join us for some more ale and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice pub, perfect for drinks with friends. Good selection of beers and ales. Great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank KateB78
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kate Thank you for the 5 stars! Hope to see you again soon. The white swan team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

LOVE THIS PUB! Really good staff and the cask selection is great. Come him weekly and don't stop being great!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Jog145
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jog145 Thank you so much for the 5 star’s Hioe to see gou again soon! The white swan staff

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

me And the family had a little trip to Covent Garden on Sunday and come upon this lovely little pub, the service was amazing even though it was busy and only one person serving! The food was hot and delicious! Definitely visiting this one again!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank M3889DFdanG
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Dan Thanks for the lovely review! Hope to see you for sunday lunch again soon! The white swan team

Reviewed January 11, 2019 via mobile

We popped in for early evening drinks before going to eat at a nearby restaurant. The atmosphere was traditional, pleasant and lively, with a younger crowd, but not too noisy and we had an enjoyable time.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank Ian C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ian C, thank you so much for your positive comments about The White Swan, Covent Garden! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day! Lee

Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

Went here as they are supposedly good for pies. My pie (steak and ale) was listed as served in shortcrust pastry, but it was puff pastry which is not what I would normally order and was so dry. The filling was pretty non existent too....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank currymonster37
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I am truely sorry that the food did not meet your expectations! Hopefuly the next time you are in the area we can change your mind! From The White Swan team!

Reviewed December 25, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were in town shopping on a Thursday and we went to the White Swan as we’d been before and enjoyed the food there. When we got there the pub was quite but it soon got busy. As we wanted lunch I...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank WarrenZahra
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback following your recent visit. We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately, even though the pub may seem quiet...More

Reviewed December 12, 2018 via mobile

Good food, great pies, good service, and good atmosphere. Walked in off the street no booking and welcomed in and accommodated by friendly staff. Lovely pies and fast service. Thank you

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Arthur H
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2018

Arthur H, thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team. Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day! Lee

View more reviews
Nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,087 nearby hotels
The Z Hotel Covent Garden
23 reviews
.04 miles away
The Henrietta Hotel
250 reviews
.07 miles away
St Martins Lane London Hotel
3,123 reviews
.08 miles away
hub by Premier Inn London Covent Garden Hotel
3,621 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 27,194 nearby restaurants
Clos Maggiore
3,703 reviews
.04 miles away
Steak & Co.
1,418 reviews
.02 miles away
Le Garrick Brasserie Restaurant
1,280 reviews
.04 miles away
Com Viet
674 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6,586 nearby attractions
Noel Coward Theatre
750 reviews
.10 miles away
Duke of York's Theatre
344 reviews
.10 miles away
St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church)
137 reviews
.08 miles away
Iris Theatre
10 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
annagraham2016
July 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Hi, Sorry your message did not come through on our internal Trip Advisor. Thanks Paul C for answering for us!
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing