We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings

Location and contact

About
A local's favourite & well known pub food destination. One of the best kept beer cellars in the country & fantastic selection of wines. With the aid of a recent renovation now one of the most beautiful pubs you'll ever see. Also boasting a stunning outdoor space with both adult & family areas, BBQs in the summer & a fire pit to keep off the night time chills. One of the jewels in leafy South West London's crown. Eat, drink, relax, enjoy then repeat !
PRICE RANGE
$6 - $26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Discover, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
71
42
17
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
71
42
17
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast thanksgiving dinner mash yorkshire pudding beef fish and chips cheese board chocolate cake cheeseburger potatoes the pub wetlands centre looked great too beers on tap were lucky to get a table quick drink lovely atmosphere
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After the refurbishment the pub did really well. The food at the start was really good. On our last visit my favourite, the chicken pie, was not as good as previously. It was rather dry. Not at all what I have become used to.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank IanG762
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello "IanG762" Thank you for your valuable feedback, this will be raised with the chef. Did you base your feedback rating only on this one single issue or did you have some more for us to consider ? It would be nice to know, please...More

Reviewed December 16, 2018

We recently held our club Christmas party at the Red Lion and were extremely well looked after by Claire and the team. The reserved space was very cosy, with a welcome fire on a cold night, and the food was absolutely delicious. There's a great...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank botswana98
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it is most kind of you. We all wish you a Happy Christmas & Prosperous New Year. Kind regards Claire & the team.

Reviewed November 24, 2018 via mobile

Our family of nine, 3 generations including four kids ages 12-16 and our 71-year old mother, just returned from spending Thanksgiving week in London. Being from the US, we were thrilled to learn the Red Lion Pub - Barnes would be serving an authentic turkey...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dreamer31306797865
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2018

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. It means so much that our hard work & efforts are appreciated. We have nurtured our Thanksgiving dinner over the years & try our hardest to make it as...More

Reviewed October 17, 2018

One of the venues hosting the annual Barnes Charity Cafe Bridge Drive on Oct 16th The food and service were first class and the managers Claire and Angus could not have been more helpful. The staff were unflappable catering for over 30 at one sitting,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Emmaj008
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Thank you Emma, for taking the time to leave this lovely review. Your event is now part of our annual calendar & we look forward to the next one. Well done on raising all that money for charity, we are proud to have played our...More

Reviewed October 14, 2018

The Red Lion was my local for many years but they changed the chef. The Sunday roast became quite awful. But But But, I went to day after a few years and delighted with the Sunday Roast. It was perfect. What difference a new chef...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank gisourettie
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Hi ' gisourettie', Thank you for your lovely five star review it is much appreciated. A little dismayed to read about how you felt our Sunday lunch apparently slipped in quality over the years, our kitchen management team has been in place for a considerable...More

Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

We were in the Red Lion Pub in Barnes last night . Firstly we were more than impressed with the service we received from Mazzie he asked before we ordered if there were any food allergies. My daughter has a least of complex allergies and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Ashbash1233
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Hi 'Ashbash1233' Thank you ever so much for your kind review. The safety of our food & drink is of the upmost importance & glad you were able to enjoy your visit and relax safe in the knowledge that we had everything covered. Our company...More

Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Great food, great premise and great staff Awful socialist rules about kids and TV. We were made to sit outside because we had kids with us, it was 5:45. Probably more a problem with the counsel rules, rather than the pub.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Paul v
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Hi, Sorry you left feeling unhappy, however the reader must know that there is a back story to this review. regards, Red.

Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

We went to see Shakespeare in the garden last night it was truly amazing; great actors very engaging with the audience and very well organised. The bar staff were amazing and so friendly towards everyone such a lovely ambience I would defiantly reccomend this pub...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Storyteller553455
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Hi 'Storyteller553455' Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed our successful Shakespeare show, we involve all our staff with these reviews & they will be so proud to have been mentioned, as are we. Thanks again, Kind regards, Red

Reviewed September 7, 2018

Plenty of space with good outdoor seating and garden. Food was ok pub food with odd aspirations to be seen as gourmet. Seemed expensive at £13 for leek pie with mash and £14 for a cheese burger. Fish and chips good and tasted ok but...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank _paulcary
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Thank you for your review, your comments have been processed. regards Red

Reviewed August 31, 2018

Three of us had a fabulous time last night. The salmon, burger and lamp cutlets were cooked to perfection by the chefs. The staff were second to non and a big thank to Meghan who looked after us - a real asset to the company....More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank H6507MSlisag
Red-Lion-Barnes, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Excellent review, thank you Lisa for taking the time to write it. So happy you had a good time, looking forward to your return. best regards, Red

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing