We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#1,029 of 16,987 Restaurants in London
Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$9 - $20
CUISINES
Mexican
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Covent Garden
0.0 miles from Trafalgar Square
Improve this listing
Reviews (2,389)
Filter reviews
2,070 results
Traveler rating
1,136
658
180
60
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
1,136
658
180
60
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tacos guacamole churros burrito frijoles tapas black beans plantains chorizo chicken potatoes salad steak mexican street food covent garden wait for a table small plates
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 8, 2020 via mobile

Quite excited by visiting here on our trip to London. The place is vibrant and fresh and staff lovely. We had a table for four for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. Nachos v tasty- but then all other food bland. To make it worse the...steak and cheese Taco has a synthetic flavour - almost like it was cooked in plastic or part of a wrapper had been added. I should have complained but just left the meal. Really disappointed as the flavour lingered all day.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 5, 2020 via mobile

We had a fab time dining at Wahaca and want to thank our waitress Magda for her enthusiasm and help! The atmosphere is great there and the tequila, cocktails and food really lovely. We started with beef chilli nachos, which were possibly the nicest nachos...I've eaten, very well balanced. We then had pork pibil tacos, buttermilk chicken tacos, bean and cheese quesidilla, all full of flavour! We also shared a plate of enchiladas, which was good but I'd recommend the other dishes first as it wasn't as flavoursome. In all we had a great time and would highly recommend!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 16, 2020

We went for a quick snack and cocktails after birthday and we were positively surprised by the service and food quality. Our server Magda was very pleasant and professional... really lovely personality a great help. We had a great time!! Immaculate service and great food....Definitely recommend for every occasion.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 12, 2020 via mobile

Arrived at 10pm and told they were closing in 20 minutes when the website said 11pm. Food wrong first time and then delivered covered in onions when not listed on the menu. Only saving grace was the staff, this place used to be my favourite-...unfortunately it’s gone downhill which is very sadMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
WahacaCoventGarden, General Manager at Wahaca Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2020

Hello Raj K Thanks for taking the time to write a review to us i am glad to hear that the staff were great however i am sorry to hear that the food wasn't to our standards i can assure you that our opening time...More

Reviewed March 10, 2020

We had an excellent meal here. Staff extremely polite and pleasant. Service was very efficient. We had a large selection of food, meat, fish and vegetarian. It was all very good. We would definitely go back.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 9, 2020 via mobile

we tried the street food section of the menu. was full of flavour and decent size portions. we shared 4 dishes plus a dessert and we left feeling well fed. a really nice alternative to standard burger and chips. tasted more authentic then chiquito's.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
WahacaCoventGarden, General Manager at Wahaca Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

Hello Kyrie J we are glad that you like or street food dishes! Have your ever tried our burritos? specially the Brisket or Pork pibil they are really good.Hope to see you back soon Kind regard Wahaca team

Reviewed March 8, 2020 via mobile

We were craving Mexican food and literally stumbled into Wahaca. Didn’t mind the 15 minute wait for a table, a packed restaurant is usually always a good sign. We were served and seated by a very nice and attentive member of the staff, Asha, who...asked if we’d eaten here before and if we had allergies/dietary requirements etc. We told her we are vegetarian and she immediately highlighted dishes for us and promptly delivered our drinks order. Our starters came very quickly and very tasty, if slightly on the small side. The tomato salsa was excellent as was the roasted cauliflower. Our mains also followed very quickly and I throughly enjoyed my sweet potato burrito. The food was very good indeed, but I never ever felt the sense that I was actually eating Mexican food. Having lived in the South West of the United States, I know what Mexican food tastes like. Whilst the food at Wahaca is far, far from bad ( it’s actually very good indeed). It’s also not very “Mexican” at all. The flavours here are “safe” as opposed to bold and robust, and I knew the moment I saw a squiggle on my burrito that this wasn’t going to be remotely authentic. Absolutely no Mexican restaurant in Mexico or even the US for that matter “squiggle”toppings, That said, this would be an excellent place for people to try Mexican food in a very “safe” way. There are plenty of Indian restaurants who reek it in a bit and cater specifically for a British palate and it’s nice to see Wahaca do the same for Mexican food. A really fun experience, decent food, great service... and absolutely no worries whatsoever for people who are phobic of spicy food. They need never miss out on Mexican food again,More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
WahacaCoventGarden, General Manager at Wahaca Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

Thank you so much for your review! we are happy to hear that you enjoy your visit. We hope to see you back soon! Kind regards Wahaca team

Reviewed March 8, 2020

We visited on a really busy night so might and effect on our experience. The restaurant was extremely loud, i don't understand why there needs to be a loud background music when the restaurant is full of people and noise ? The service was quick...but felt a bit rushed. In all there was nothing wrong with the food, we had the menu with different dishes. The dishes are small portions of street food with alot of flavour, but some aren't that good. The churros at taco bell are better. The tables are really really close to one another and we had the rudest person i ever met in restaurant next to our table. There was absolutely no privacy and the person next to us being extremely rude towards us and the noisiness of the restaurant is what spoiled it for us. I would never visit this location again.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
WahacaCoventGarden, General Manager at Wahaca Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

I'm sorry to heard that, we will try to do better next time. You can ask to your server to move table if you don't feel comfortable in the table we offer you. Thank you for you feedback we will be working on trying to...More

Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

Good food, but was forced into completing a survey online when I thought I was paying my bill electronically. Very misleading.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
WahacaCoventGarden, General Manager at Wahaca Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

I'm sorry to heard that you felt force to do the survey, is not our intention. With the survey we try to give the opportunity to our costumers to give a feedback on the dishes they had and try to improve for the next time....More

Reviewed March 2, 2020

I've eaten at Wahaca numerous times on my trips to London. I'm a big fan. The food is always really good as is the service and atmosphere.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
WahacaCoventGarden, General Manager at Wahaca Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2020

We are very happy that you enjoy your experience with us, we will have new menu on April we hope to see you back :) Kind regards Wahaca team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Z Hotel Trafalgar
37 reviews
.02 miles away
The Henrietta Hotel
378 reviews
.06 miles away
The Z Hotel Covent Garden
198 reviews
.07 miles away
Wilde Aparthotels by Staycity - Covent Garden
761 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Flat Iron Covent Garden
3,353 reviews
.05 miles away
Brigit's Bakery
870 reviews
.01 miles away
Mr Fogg's Society of Exploration
477 reviews
.05 miles away
Frenchie Covent Garden
625 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kinky Boots at Adelphi Theatre
2,685 reviews
.06 miles away
Trafalgar Square
8,099 reviews
.03 miles away
London Coliseum
1,143 reviews
.09 miles away
Adelphi Theatre
257 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JeanHardwick
March 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from WahacaCoventGarden | Property representative |
Hi Jean, Yes there is a lift.
2
Votes
Soumya A
May 18, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SirMRH | Reviewed this property |
Yes lots of vegetarian options . My daughter's friend a vegetarian and she loves it !
1
Vote
335lyndav
April 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WahacaHQ | Property representative |
Hi Lynda - definitely! You can see our gluten advice menu on our website, and our team can advise on lactose on the day. Often this just requires removing a cheese or crema garnish. Hope we'll see you soon.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing