We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

William Morris

#15,374 of 18,671 Restaurants in London
$$ - $$$, British,
Merton Abbey Mills Watermill Way | Colliers Wood, London SW19 2RD, England
+44 20 8540 0216
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good29%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible22%
Nov 24, 2017
“You can drink, but don't eat!”
Nov 8, 2017
“Fantastic local”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Merton Abbey Mills Watermill Way | Colliers Wood, London SW19 2RD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 81 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2017

Having been here for drinks quite a few times over the years, I've been wanting to try the food here for ages. The surroundings are so beautiful, perched on the side of the river, and with the Mills next door. Drinks are pretty pricey, but...More

Thank Susannah C
Faucet I, Marketing & Digital Content Executive at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Hi Susannah Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with your last visit. We appreciate that there are some factors that need attention which we will certainly do during this period while we are closed for a large scale refurbishment....More

Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

As someone who works locally I drink here often, and have never been met with anything other than excellent service and great products - long time fan of this place!

Thank Tom G
Faucet I, Marketing & Digital Content Executive at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Hi Tom Thanks for the great review! It's always great to hear from a long time fan :) Kind regards The William Morris

Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful setting for a pub. Manager was polite and drinks were quite expensive but acceptable considering the beautiful surroundings. Sadly we waited close to an hour for the manager to come to tell us the chef had cooked me a childs meal rather...More

2  Thank andrew s
Faucet I, Marketing & Digital Content Executive at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Hi Andrew Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with your last visit. We appreciate that there are some factors that need attention which we will certainly do during this period while we are closed for a large scale refurbishment....More

Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

I think the picture of the chair attached says it all. The Sunday Roast we had was literally the most tasteless gross meal we have had in a long time. Boil in the bag chicken complete with broccoli soaked in gravy. Awful beyond words for...More

Thank Altitudeuk
Faucet I, Marketing & Digital Content Executive at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Hello Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to your feedback. A glitch seems to have stopped our original response from being published after our first attempt last month. We had apologised that you were disappointed with your roast and offered our assurance...More

Reviewed July 24, 2017

We come here from time to time and have never really been overly impressed, but its got room, decent food and easy to get a beer. Its too bad that upstairs outside area looks like it was condemned years ago. Will it ever be fixed...More

Thank jiboulden
Faucet I, Marketing & Digital Content Executive at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're really glad that you see the potential in our lovely pub and sorry to hear that you visited during a time when we weren't performing at our best. We hope you'll give us another...More

Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Last went here around 2012 and it was a lovely place by the waterfront and even looked a little 'posh'. How things have changed! Went here on a hot, sunny Sunday afternoon and straight away saw a tired decor, worn out carpets & seat cushions...More

Thank Paul D
Faucet I, Marketing & Digital Content Executive at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're really glad that you see the potential in our lovely pub and sorry to hear that you visited during a time when we weren't performing at our best. We hope you'll give us another...More

Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile

This pub has been one of our favourite pub. It locates in a nice local attraction area by the water mill. It has his own charm and a lot of potential but (a big BUT) the foods choices are still not great since I can...More

Thank Banyae J
Faucet I, Marketing & Digital Content Executive at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Hi Banyae Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're glad to hear that we've been one of your favourite pubs. It's a shame to hear that our food is not to your taste but we do hope that you will join us...More

Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

Nice location!!! That's where the good point ends. it needs a complete refurb. I wouldn't eat in here as it looked unkempt and dirty. Chairs look scruffy tables sticky. Regulars very crass with their sarcastic remarks. Will not return!! Only scoring a one star as...More

Thank 550patricia
Faucet I, General Manager at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Hello I would like to begin by sincerely apologising for the bad experience you had. We are truly grateful for your honesty and feedback. We at no point take such things lightly and will be looking into it to rectify it. We are due a...More

Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile

Lovely location, good beer, nice and quiet waterside place to go. Food was good except for the desert (£5.50 for a child size desert which was a rip off). Want to really like it but there's just a little something missing...More

Thank Nick W
Faucet I, Marketing & Digital Content Executive at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Hi Nick Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're glad to hear that you like our location, beer and food. Thank you for your feedback regarding the dessert which we will certainly take on board. We want you to really like us too...More

Reviewed May 17, 2017

Quiet riverside pub servicing good - most unexpected in Colliers Wood - Merton Abbey Mills small complex next to hotel with live music on Sunday

1  Thank margaret g
Faucet I, Marketing & Digital Content Executive at William Morris, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Hi Margaret Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're glad you found us - hopefully it was a pleasant surprise. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards The William Morris

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,085 hotels in London
Premier Inn London Wimbledon South Hotel
1,148 reviews
.18 miles away
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
722 reviews
.40 miles away
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
684 reviews
.66 miles away
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
196 reviews
.93 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Rock Star Sushi Bar
582 reviews
.04 miles away
Cedar Lebanese Restaurant
117 reviews
.27 miles away
La Violetta
32 reviews
.04 miles away
ting n ting ltd
54 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Morden Hall Park
232 reviews
.78 miles away
Ganley's Irish Bar
19 reviews
.84 miles away
The New Wimbledon Theatre
326 reviews
.88 miles away
Deen City Farm
62 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from William Morris staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Merton Abbey Mills Watermill Way | Colliers Wood, London SW19 2RD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8540 0216
  • E-mail
Description
Please note that we are currently closed for a major refurbishment which may take some time. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing