We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

#1,552 of 18,960 Restaurants in London
$$ - $$$, British,
66 Bayswater Road, London W2 3PH, England
+44 20 7262 5204
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good51%
  • Average12%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“fish and chips” (127 reviews)
“jacket potato” (10 reviews)
“pie” (31 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
66 Bayswater Road, London W2 3PH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 958 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We were in London for five days, and we discovered The Swan purely by accident. I can't say how lucky we were. When we walked into the pub, it was like we had come home. The atmosphere is warm and very welcoming. We were greeted...More

1  Thank dsullivan48
Lisa M, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi dsullivan, Wow, what can I say? You bought a tear to my eye reading this, thank you so much. Some people have no idea how hard we work to keep everybody happy but you are definitely not one of them. :) Thank you thank...More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Nice Lunch place, really cosy and very friendly staff:-)! Food maybe not best in London but worth a visit still :-)More

Thank 390maijaj
Lisa M, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi there, Thank you for the fab review, so sorry our food wasn't as good as usual. I must say you visited on the day of our new menu launch so we were still having teething problems but I can promise on your next visit...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

We stayed next door at the Corus Hyde Park and this was our night cap stop every night. We also ate here one night. Food was good. Staff is super friendly. Loved the outdoor seating area.More

Thank tnolan1019
Lisa M, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi tnolan, Thank you sooooooo much for the amazing review! I run out of superlatives when replying to our guests reviews which is a wonderful thing to experience. We are all so glad that you had an fantastic time and you kept revisiting us. Have...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

There has been a pub or coaching inn here for hundreds of years. Service was great, and the food was served hot and quickly. We had an excellent steak and ale pie and steak and fries, with a crumble for dessert. This may be our...More

Thank Owenthomas
Lisa M, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Owen, Thank you SO much for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you loved it so much you will be back! Well we can't wait to see you either! Have a fantastic weekend! Kind Regards Lisa

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in on the way home, had a pint of tasty frontier and as it was frontier Friday was told to sign up so got another waiting for next week. Pub looked in good condition with a relaxed atmosphere, mix of business and tourist, didn’t...More

Thank Frank_Cool80
Lisa M, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Frank, Thank you for the fantastic review, we are so glad that you had a great time. Frontier Friday is the BEST day and our balcony is THE place to be in Summer. We cannot wait to see you again soon. Kind Regards Lisa

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in Lancaster Gate and this was recommended by a friend. Cool looking building, comfortable seats inside, good beer, good food, good service. I thought the little signs about this being the last stop where prisoners got their last drink before being beheaded...More

Thank Meghan D
Lisa M, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Meghan, Thank you for the wonderful review! Did you have 'one for the road'? We love our amazing history too, we are so glad that you enjoyed the pub and hope we see you again the next time you visit London. Kind Regards Lisa

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went there for a taste of the local fish and chips, and we weren't disappointed! Food was quite good, and it was not that expensive. Service was a little below the standards we are used to, but it was probably because there were too...More

Thank Leandro Z
Lisa M, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Leandro, Thank you for the fab 5 stars! Yes I see you did pick one of our busiest days but we are so happy that you had a great experience and the fish & chips were as yummy as you expected them to be....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Maybe it was a bad night or they were catering for younger people when I went in and ordered a late meal, but I distinctly felt unwelcome. A lackadaisical service, over-priced meal and others of my age sitting beside me were seen to quickly drink...More

Thank ILP-JP
Lisa M, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, we love the fact that being in an area surrounded by hotels that you get people of all ages from all over the world and each and every one of them is more than welcome to come and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I were staying nearby and after strolling around Hyde Park noticed the pub and called in for a sandwich. The staff were very helpful and the food was fresh and of good value. It is the type of pub where you can...More

Thank Ivor J
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ivor, Thank you so much for the wonderful review we really appreciate it. We hope you do visit us again very soon. Kind Regards Lisa

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a delicious meal here after arriving In London after a long haul flight from Australia. Very welcoming, great atmosphere but realised when I got back to the hotel that I had ended up paying 22.5% gratuity! 12.5% is added on automatically to the...More

1  Thank Robinsonglenda
Lisa M, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Glenda, Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry about what happened. Are you still in London? I would really appreciate it if you could pop in so I can give you a refund? Or we could organise it so it would go...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,087 hotels in London
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
4,543 reviews
.03 miles away
Fountain House Apartments
72 reviews
.04 miles away
London Elizabeth Hotel
1,736 reviews
.04 miles away
Best Western Mornington Hotel
1,006 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bel Canto Restaurant
1,132 reviews
.02 miles away
Sheila's Cafe
138 reviews
.08 miles away
Nipa Thai
667 reviews
.07 miles away
Island Grill & Bar
1,344 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kensington Gardens
4,056 reviews
.33 miles away
Serpentine Galleries
359 reviews
.39 miles away
Paddington Station
1,263 reviews
.35 miles away
Serpentine Boating Lake
112 reviews
.28 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mme_X
October 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lisa M | Property representative |
Hi Mme, Yes we do and they are AMAZING!!! I would recommend that you go the website and book a table, we get very busy on Sundays :) Hope to see you soon :)
0
Votes
AZJNB70
August 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from maggiehulson | Reviewed this property |
Yes. Outside you might find people smoking, but 2007 legislation was introduced on the making it illegal to smoke in all public enclosed or substantially enclosed area and workplaces.
2
Votes
sue b
June 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from amscot697 | Reviewed this property |
You don't have to book but knowing the UK it is better to do so
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 66 Bayswater Road, London W2 3PH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7262 5204
  • E-mail
Description
One of the most family friendly pubs in London's Kensington area, The Swan, nearby Hyde Park, offers a great menu and a long list of cask ales and world wines. Every Saturday night, enjoy the great sounds of live music.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing