We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#6,406 of 16,984 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

About
Dog friendly, neighbourhood restaurant, voted most romantic restaurants in London, best brunch & best bottomless brunch in London. Stunning year-round, glass-roofed garden perfect for summer al fresco dining & romantic winter evenings in Balham. Neon 'Megan's' sign, flower-draped ceiling & luxurious blue velvet chairs; a beautiful backdrop for your Instagram pictures! Open for brunch, lunch, dinner & cocktails. Brunch is all day everyday with bottomless brunch on weekends. Known for posh kebabs, mezze plates, the espresso martini & THE half baked cookie dough. A great casual & fun spot for parties & groups with private dining & our famous sharing platters.
PRICE RANGE
$7 - $34
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Highchairs Available
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
75
43
29
28
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
75
43
29
28
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch kebab shakshuka braised lamb veggie breakfast eggs royale fondue brownie cookie dough tasty food lovely atmosphere deconstructed smoothies prosecco
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 5, 2020

Dominika was an incredible waitress for bottomless brunch, the food was really nice but she was so helpful and constantly topping the glass up xx

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Donia, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review & your lovely comments about Dominika. I will pass these on! 🙂 We're so thrilled that you had a great time and look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed November 12, 2020 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday morning after walking our dog around Tooting Common. The restaurant is dog friendly which was one of the reasons we chose it. The servers who helped us were all extremely friendly and the food was delicious, would definitely return.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Donia, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant! We look forward to welcoming you again soon 🙂

Reviewed November 1, 2020

Food is good ,but small portions and soft drinks over charged; as menu price was less for drinks than asked to pay. Sent email to complain but NO response. Eg the orange juice was a bog standard juice charged at £4-50 plus service charge 12...1/2% ...over 5 quid!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Donia, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant! We are always looking for ways to improve so it would be hugely appreciated if you could send any comments you have to me on donia@megans.co.uk if you have not done...More

Reviewed October 19, 2020

Good service, amazing food and great atmosphere. The chicken kebab with sukkah was delicious, and the mango and passion fruit smoothie was really enjoyable. the only downside was the dog at the next table peeing on the floor. The owner was very apologetic and told...us that the dog wasn't house trained - maybe don't take it to a restaurant until it is? But that is not the fault of Megan's. Would go again.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
megansrestaurents, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We look forward to seeing you again soon 🙂

Reviewed October 17, 2020 via mobile

The decor and atmosphere is great in this place, but the food and service doesn’t match. We didn’t seem to have a designated server and the staff were constantly bringing us things we hadn’t ordered or not bringing us things we had! Yes it was...busy in there but there were enough staff on to avoid this! The food was ok, but when one of us asked for some sauce for his open kebab the waiter charged us £2 for a tiny pot of it! Which I thought was pretty cheeky given that the prices of the food are already fairly high for what you get. The toilets were also particularly grubby which was offputting given the COVID situation! On the plus side the cocktails were tasty and the majority of the staff were friendly enough.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
megansrestaurents, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2020

Thank you so much for your feedback to our restaurant! I am very sorry to hear that things were not up to our usual high standards! I will be taking this up with the team to ensure this doesn't happen again & hope that you...More

Reviewed October 10, 2020 via mobile

Popped in for a drink and were greeted by a rude man who thinks because he preceded his comments with Madame that he is being polite. Wrong. Condescending and unhelpful. They were busy but not friendly or accommodating, and he kept robotically repeating himself ‘madame...we are full’, ‘madame we are full’. We left feeling embarrassed and unwanted. Could have been handled so much better. Somebody send that man on a customer services course.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
megansrestaurents, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2020

I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us! I have logged your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve & these are not our usual standards.

Reviewed September 28, 2020

This place was great for a bottomless brunch, the waiting staff were so attentive and never let our glasses get empty - which was fantastic! You do pay a premium for that though and I've been to bottomless brunches that are a little less expensive....but frankly when you're having a great time you don't really care do you!?! And thanks to the staff, we did have a great time and we would return! (That said, I have heard that the tips aren't going to their staff at the moment and I'd like that to be addressed).More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
megansrestaurents, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We look forward to seeing you again soon 🙂

Reviewed September 26, 2020

Absolutely perfect bottomless brunch, served by the wonderful Jake who was so attentive and lovely throughout! 10/10 will visit again!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
megansrestaurents, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We look forward to seeing you again soon 🙂

Reviewed September 24, 2020

It was quite awkward when we went to pay, but the wraps really weren't very good for the price. I had the vegan chorizo kebab and it was so dry. I felt gutted I had to pay so much for the bill. It's a nice...atmosphere and the cocktails were nice, but the food wasn't up to standard.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Donia, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant! We are always looking for ways to improve so it would be hugely appreciated if you could send any comments you have to me on donia@megans.co.uk if you have not done...More

Reviewed September 23, 2020 via mobile

I was shocked to find out that the ‘service charge’ automatically added to your bill does not go to staff. I asked the waiting staff just to make sure, assuming from the way that Megan’s presents itself that it would and was appalled to find...out it doesn’t. Megan’s pretends to be a small business but it seems as if it’s a sell out that doesn’t care about its staff (especially in these hard times!) I will be avoiding all Megan’s in future until they change this and have already spread the word to all my friends.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Donia, Marketing at Megan's on the Hill (Balham), responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Chloe, thank you for your review. I can assure you that all service charge is given to the staff in addition to their salary. If you have any further questions please email me on donia@megans.co.uk where I will be happy to answer them :)

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge London Balham
875 reviews
.14 miles away
The Gateway Hotel
190 reviews
.49 miles away
Clapham South Dudley Hotel
890 reviews
.75 miles away
Windmill Clapham
754 reviews
.96 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Indian Room
1,296 reviews
.06 miles away
Franco Manca Balham
357 reviews
.04 miles away
Arlo's Balham
204 reviews
.08 miles away
Hob
90 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hayman's Distillery
311 reviews
.28 miles away
London Sewing Machine Museum
15 reviews
.63 miles away
Lost & Found Bar
21 reviews
.05 miles away
The Bedford
18 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Diogenes1958
October 6, 2020|
Answer
Response from Julie D | Reviewed this property |
Sorry to hear of your woe. Sadly youll have to take up prices with the management as we were only unfurtunate customers. Good luck.
0
Votes
31jane2014
August 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mausgrass | Reviewed this property |
Do not feel comfortable with forced service charges full stop
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing