We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Megan's on the Hill

Claimed
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
OR

Ratings and reviews

#10,159 of 18,791 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $32
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
29
20
16
17
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
29
20
16
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kebab mediterranean platter veggie breakfast halloumi shakshuka brownie meatballs lamb fries half baked cookie chicken version baked eggs lived closer bottomless brunch whole evening tasty food fresh ingredients
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We live in Balham and decided to visit Megans for lunch.. well what a waste of money..the food was utterly disgusting..firstly please do not call Turkish Sucuk Chorizo because it’s not...Chorizo is Spanish and it’s made from pork not beef..and in my view tastes much...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Ibrahim1234
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I am so sorry to hear that you disliked your experience so much! We are renowned for our delicious food and so I am sorry that you found it so disappointing. The reason we add the words Turkish 'chorizo' after our sucuk is because a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my second trip to Megan’s. It’s a beautiful place and has so much potential. Sadly it was a pretty dreadful experience. The manager is pretty rude. The service is absolute chaos. Our waiter did his best, but it was still chaos. Our food...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank SEG186338
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant - I will pass on this feesback to the GM. I do apologise that we are unable to make cosmopolitans but we do not have the ingredients at Megan's!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went there to have a catch up with my old friends and everything was excellent. The food was perfectly cooked, tasty and well presented. The service was great and I don't understand how this place got some bad reviews. It's a gem in Balham,...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank C2450LMfedericos
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second attempt at a meal at Megans and I feel compelled to write a review. Our first visit was disappointing but we decided to give them a second chance. Turns out we were right the first time. Outrageously overpriced for poor quality...More

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank TomandEmily89
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant. I can assure you that all of our food is cooked fresh on site and to order (except for the lamb, which is overnight braised and the shakshouka sauce,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I live nearby and decided to try this for a weekend breakfast. Superb meal, great service, friendly and competent waiters. Decor is designed to be instagram- friendly, but still attractive. Big seating area at back means this is deceptively big. Lots of mother and toddler...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank huww2013
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table at 8pm for a friend’s visit to London with his fiancée. 7 people. Our food came 2 HOURS LATER after 10pm! It also came lukewarm at best. We repeatedly asked for the status of our food, and were greeted with apologies,...More

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank sandraalvarez76
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant. I have passed on your comments to the GM there as I am sure he will be devastated to hear that you had such a bad experience.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Interesting feature was the curtains I had gone to visit my family and they needed to do some shopping in Balham where there is a large Sainsbury’s on Bedford Hill SW12. I found that the car park was just opposite a restaurant where we could...More

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank David L
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the four stars!

Reviewed March 18, 2019

Don't bother going if you have want a quick coffee or breakfast. You may need to wait until after lunch to get your breakfast. Manager has no common sense & when you ask for assistance comes across with an unfriendly attitude. Please do not go,...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank AlJK69
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

I am really sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable visit to our restaurant! We are focusing on service in training this week as we have had a couple of similar reviews to this, so I can assure you that this will...More

Reviewed March 17, 2019

Lovely setting, first time here and we were very well looked after, we seemed to get there just before the rush and had a lovely table at the back. Loved the decor. The place is much bigger than expected. service was very good and choice...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank durno1
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are so happy that you like our little restaurant and hope to see you soon.

Reviewed March 17, 2019

We tried the place for the first time, attracted by the nice decor and the pouring rain. We went for cakes and hot chocolate. They served one cake first, "hot" chocolates arrived after a while, cold as I have never seen anywhere. We had to...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank TiredHero
MegansCafe, Guest Relations Manager at Megan's on the Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us! I am reiterating service issues in training this week so please do bear with us as the team is lovely and our food is delicious! We hope to see you soon!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,096 nearby hotels
Travelodge London Balham
741 reviews
.13 miles away
The Gateway Hotel
177 reviews
.51 miles away
Euro Hotel Clapham
851 reviews
.77 miles away
Windmill Clapham
693 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 27,521 nearby restaurants
Indian Room
785 reviews
.04 miles away
Franco Manca Balham
336 reviews
.03 miles away
Foxlow Balham
265 reviews
.05 miles away
Milk
356 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6,807 nearby attractions
Hayman's Distillery
164 reviews
.28 miles away
Tooting Bec Lido
74 reviews
.94 miles away
Tooting Common
17 reviews
.95 miles away
London Sewing Machine Museum
14 reviews
.62 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
31jane2014
August 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mausgrass | Reviewed this property |
Do not feel comfortable with forced service charges full stop
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing