We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GAIL's Bakery Wanstead

Claimed
Order Online

Ratings and reviews

#1,405 of 1,668 Quick Bites in London
#14,010 of 19,152 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$2 - $40
CUISINES
Cafe, Fast Food, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
17
17
17
22
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
17
17
17
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue hair sweet treats loyalty card vegetarian options soya latte takeaway cream
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice place to have breakfast/brunch. Delicious food and hot drinks ! Although, the waiters seem a bit lost with the orders, but all goes back to order in the end.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank laurabI8884VU
GAILsBakery, Manager at GAIL's Bakery Wanstead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I decided to take my husband here for a birthday morning treat but shouldn't have bothered. We ordered a hot breakfast, 2 coffees and 2 cakes. After 15 minutes the hot food arrived, no drinks or cakes. We waited another 15 minutes before asking someone...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank strawberryb81
GAILsBakery, Manager at GAIL's Bakery Wanstead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so sorry to hear about this. It sounds like we fell very short of the kind of service we usually offer our customers. We will be investigating what went wrong and would love the chance to make it up to you. Would you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite living 2 minutes away I've only been to Gail's twice. Both times within the last month and both times they got a basic order wrong. First occasion I ordered a bacon roll but asked for a granary roll not a brioche, a brioche arrived...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank angie63
GAILsBakery, Manager at GAIL's Bakery Wanstead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear that you haven't had a good experience at our Wanstead bakery. Please could email breadheads@gailsbread.co.uk so we can find out a bit more about your visit? Thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in on a Tuesday for lunch. At this time it wasn't too busy and it had a relaxing vibe. All the sweet treats looked amazing but I settled for a hot chocolate (made with oat milk but i'm told you can request soya if...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MimieCruz
GAILsBakery, Manager at GAIL's Bakery Wanstead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This branch of Gail’s hadn’t quite found its rhythm. The service is usually friendly but almost always chaotic. We joke that you never actually get what you order in here. Coffees never quite match your request and food can take forever to arrive. Despite being...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 286ellies
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

Conversation at the till today... Me- Hi. We’d like these two scones please with jam and clotted cream (handing her the two scones from the display). Server- Great. Any drinks? Me- Yes, two americanos please. Server- Ok, no problem. (I pay etc) Server- Take this...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Leggolad
Reviewed August 4, 2019

I have been coming to Gail's since the opened in the High Street. The bread is very good, but this time I came for a coffee and some treats with some friends. Coffees were fine but some of them had been spilt a little bit...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank antoniomartin87
Reviewed July 28, 2019

I've been going to Gails for 7 years and ordering pretty much the same items. In the last year or two I've noticed a distinct decline in food quality. Suspect that incremental cost-cutting is now negatively affecting the customer experience - certainly it's negatively affecting...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: July 2019
Thank IBL173
Reviewed July 28, 2019

I visited Gail's bakery this afternoon in desperate need for something sweet and tasty. However, I witnessed to my dismay that that the cakes and treats are all uncovered! People talk over the food, stretch over it, laugh over it etc. I left without purchasing...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank MarySmithsmile
Reviewed July 25, 2019

Full of mother’s and babies. Place taken over by them. Difficult to get to the one loo because of this. Also quite dirty with inattentive staff. And overpriced we thought.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: July 2019
Thank rlH5151SB
GAILsBakery, Manager at GAIL's Bakery Wanstead, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. Please could you email us at breadheads@gailsbread.co.uk and let us know when you were there. Thank you

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,134 nearby hotels
Travelodge Snaresbrook
284 reviews
.33 miles away
Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel
205 reviews
.63 miles away
Premier Inn London Ilford Hotel
499 reviews
.80 miles away
Grove Hill Hotel
54 reviews
1.10 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 28,450 nearby restaurants
Gezi Park
269 reviews
.08 miles away
Otto Restaurant
362 reviews
.16 miles away
Sumo fresh
232 reviews
.19 miles away
Provender
515 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 7,396 nearby attractions
Wanstead Park
33 reviews
.58 miles away
Heathrow Travel Information Centre
6 reviews
.18 miles away
Hollow Ponds Rowing Boat Hire
13 reviews
.60 miles away
North Star Leytonstone
39 reviews
.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from GAIL's Bakery Wanstead staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing