We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Dickens Inn

$$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Marble Quay, London E1W 1UH, England
020 7488 2208
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Wed 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,047: English reviews
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited Monday 26th September, to be greeted with very loud 'acid house' type music. Totally unsuitable for lunch time dining. We sat down to choose from the menu but couldn't have a conversation due to the loud sound level of the music being blasted out from the speakers. The blonde bar maid immediately turned down the sound level when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley10
SSP_Customer_Care, SSP Customer Care at Dickens Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us during your recent visit. We work hard to ensure that both the food we serve and the service we provide is of the highest standards so it's very disappointing to hear that this was... More 

Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Food was average - but what is this about wooden platters rather than plates for burgers. Difficult to eat properly with a knife and fork, as food slips around the board - leaving mayonnaise in your lap! Spoilt the meal for me, would much, much rather have a nice shiny white plate with raised edges to stop the food escaping... More 

Helpful?
Thank suemeredith2016
SSP_Customer_Care, SSP Customer Care at Dickens Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we work hard to ensure our customers enjoy their experience with us so reading your comments have really pleased us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you, Customer Care Team More 

North West
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This pub looks old, charming and great from the outside. Inside it is big with similar old world looks and several floors and different areas to eat & drink but be warned drinks are pricey

Helpful?
Thank smithers58
SSP_Customer_Care, SSP Customer Care at Dickens Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we work hard to ensure our customers enjoy their experience with us so reading your comments have really pleased us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you, Customer Care Team More 

australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here with a large group on a hot September evening... beautiful old building which looks gorgeous from the out side. I ordered the fish n chips which was nice and crispy but unfortunately the fish seemed to be a small sliver in lots of batter.. Staff were great.. very attentive

Helpful?
Thank helsie57
SSP_Customer_Care, SSP Customer Care at Dickens Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we work hard to ensure our customers enjoy their experience with us so reading your comments have really pleased us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you, Customer Care Team More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Made to feel welcome by the staff. Relaxed atmosphere, sat outside on a warm evening. Nice views of the marina and the local area. Nice touch is the plant decoration outside. Didn't try the food so can't comment.

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We waited quiet long after we order. Staff was welcoming the atmosphere was good but the food was horrible.

Helpful?
Thank Tate C
SSP_Customer_Care, SSP Customer Care at Dickens Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us during your recent visit. We work hard to ensure that both the food we serve and the service we provide is of the highest standards so it's very disappointing to hear that this was... More 

Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited earlier in the year and had a good time sitting in the sunshine in excellent surroundings. The service and welcome was good. We visited again in August and were really disappointed with the staff. Although they were busy the staff failed to serve people in order with some waiting for ages. When I pointed this out the member... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerallt E
SSP_Customer_Care, SSP Customer Care at Dickens Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us during your recent visit. We work hard to ensure that both the food we serve and the service we provide is of the highest standards so it's very disappointing to hear that this was... More 

San DIego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were looking for a 10pm dinner and this place was open. A nice respite after walking so much - in a harbor or boats. The service was not that great at the beginning. Our server/waiter actually left for the day in the middle of our meal. The roast was tough piece of meat, but we were hungry. They serve... More 

Helpful?
Thank PanicFan
SSP_Customer_Care, SSP Customer Care at Dickens Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we work hard to ensure our customers enjoy their experience with us so reading your comments have really pleased us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you, Customer Care Team More 

Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The best thing about the Dickens Inn is clearly the atmosphere. The building is beautiful and the ambience is very welcoming. Staff is random though. Some are super nice and friendly, others are cold and dismissive. The real problem is food. Choice is quite standard but portions are incredibly scarce for the price you pay. The steak frite was small... More 

Helpful?
Thank alevalentini
SSP_Customer_Care, SSP Customer Care at Dickens Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us during your recent visit. We work hard to ensure that both the food we serve and the service we provide is of the highest standards so it's very disappointing to hear that this was... More 

Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very nice venue and frienly staff. Average food and poor service. the waiter was super nice but had to wait a lot before the order was taken and in between courses. maybe due to unexpected crowd? maybe I'll give another try in a quiter evening

Helpful?
Thank Me_mauryF
SSP_Customer_Care, SSP Customer Care at Dickens Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we work hard to ensure our customers enjoy their experience with us so reading your comments have really pleased us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you, Customer Care Team More 

Travelers who viewed Dickens Inn also viewed

 

Been to Dickens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$49
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marble Quay, London E1W 1UH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: 020 7488 2208

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dickens Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dickens Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?