We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#1,136 of 2,416 Bar in London
#5,361 of 16,908 Restaurants in London
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$19 - $39
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

City of London
0.0 miles from The Monument to the Great Fire of London
Improve this listing
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
51
69
45
21
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
51
69
45
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an american diner monument tube station london bridge range of beers draught
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ordered a glass of Prosecco, half a glass turned up and paid £8.50 for the pleasure. Won’t be going back there again.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 24, 2020 via mobile

Went to The Hydrant for a quiet birthday lunch only to be disappointed by the severe lack of choice of menu compared to what’s advertised on the website menu. Be aware that you’ll have to pay extra for chips etc to go with your main...course AND watch out for the service charge?! It’s a bog standard pub for goodness sake. Sad to say we won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
KirstyEvents, Other at The Hydrant, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2020

Thank you for getting in touch, we are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit but we must admit we are a little disappointed in the review you have left. Firstly to disclose the full circumstances you were recommended to us by one of...More

Reviewed February 21, 2020

My husband and I met our local friend at this pub. We enjoyed the extremely bustling atmosphere, the pints, and the service.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
KirstyEvents, Other at The Hydrant, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2020

Thanks very much, it is great to hear you enjoyed the visit. Hopefully we will be welcoming you all back again soon.

Reviewed January 29, 2020 via mobile

Called in for lunch at The Hydrant on a recent visit to London, really tasty food, fab service... no complaints! I loved the quirky setting too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
KirstyEvents, Other at The Hydrant, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2020

Thank you for your review, great to hear you enjoyed the visit. Do pop by when you are next in London!

Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Went for a drink before dinner with some friends. We were there with the after work crowd and it was quite busy at the bar area. Think you have to get there quite early to secure a table. Drinks prices are ok and also selection...was ok. We would go back but probably more as not a lot of choice around here that isn’t a traditional boozer or isn’t crazy busy.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
KirstyEvents, Other at The Hydrant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Reviewed January 13, 2020

My wife and I came upon this place whilst walking towards Monument Tube station, and simply fancied fish and chips. Good sized portion of fish, and good quality chips. We didn’t need anything more.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
KirstyEvents, Owner at The Hydrant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Great to hear you enjoyed your food and the visit. Please do drop by again if you find yourselves in this area!

Reviewed January 13, 2020

Popped in on a trip to London as wanted to visit the monument . Great friendly and fast service with a fab range of beers to try. Will definitely be back when I’m next in the area.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
KirstyEvents, Owner at The Hydrant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thanks very much, great to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Reviewed January 9, 2020

This pub is located directly by Monument. It is styled like an American diner, over two levels. We went in on a Thursday evening. It was busy, a bit overly loud in places due to the music. We ordered two pints of the guest ale...upstairs. Unfortunately, the beer had gone stale (it was sour, but was not supposed to be a sour beer). We politely asked the barman to replace our beers. He refused, so we left. Not what I would expect from a Fullers-owned pub. Very disappointed.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
KirstyEvents, Owner at The Hydrant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. I have replied to your post on another platform but once again apologies for the experience this isn't standard protocol and we will be speaking to the staff.

Reviewed December 19, 2019 via mobile

I am gobsmacked. Just witnessed the staff in this bar pour the drip tray into a pint glass and serve. I know it’s Christmas and most people are trousered but that is completely unacceptable.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
KirstyEvents, Guest Relations Manager at The Hydrant, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate that as it was incredibly busy this may seem like what happened, however having checked with all the managers and staff on shift they report back that they don't believe that this is the case. Although our team...More

Reviewed December 14, 2019

What a terrible time I experienced at the hydrant on the 13th of December. I booked a table for 4 people at 6.30pm. After being shown to our table a waitress appeared 10 minutes later to clear the table and ask for our order. Even...though we didn't have menus and our table was still covered in the previous parties plates. We then asked for menus. We then didn't see the waitress again for a further 10 minutes. When she came back after my friend ushered her over, she only had the bar menu, not the Christmas menu. So after ordering a drink we asked for the Christmas menu. 10 minutes later she came back, not with the menu but with my drink and a card machine, demanding a card for a tab before proceeding. We had enough by this point and decided to leave. I paid for my drink and we left deciding to go somewhere else. I've never experienced such terrible service, there was no interest in taking our order. It was busy but no need to just blatantly ignore customers.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
KirstyEvents, Sales & Events Manager at The Hydrant, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I have received and responded to your enquiries that you made privately to us also. I can only apologise again for your experience. Many thanks

View more reviews
Best nearby
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to
its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile
in the world, the financial district known simply as
“The City” is one of London's most historic and
fascinating neighborhoods. Here high rise office
towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with
Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually
every era in between, including Christopher Wren's
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn London City Aldgate hotel
2,811 reviews
.76 miles away
The Gatehouse Studio Apartments
7 reviews
.74 miles away
Clayton Hotel City of London
293 reviews
.75 miles away
Ibis London City - Shoreditch Hotel
4,779 reviews
.71 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Ship
151 reviews
.09 miles away
MBER
485 reviews
.05 miles away
The Folly
1,395 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sky Garden
15,256 reviews
.14 miles away
The Monument to the Great Fire of London
2,256 reviews
.02 miles away
20 Fenchurch Street
36 reviews
.14 miles away
The Guild Church of St. Margaret Pattens
19 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hydrant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing