We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gold Coast Bar & Restaurant

South Norwood 224 Portland Road, London SE25 4QB, England
+44 20 8676 1919
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good17%
  • Average24%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible20%
Apr 10, 2017
“There always room for improvement ”
Feb 26, 2017
“Ghanaian Food, give it a try”
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
African
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
South Norwood 224 Portland Road, London SE25 4QB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Great food, friendly staff, nice place. I´m always having a really good time there. There is a live music on Sundays. Can highly recommend.

Thank radusshka
Reviewed July 19, 2017

I love African food so I pop in for take away occasionally. I been there one Sunday afternoon for a drink.I found the place friendly and familiar. lovely little garden. I must go there one Saturday night..

1  Thank msnrace
Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved the food, exactly how I remember some of the best meals I had during a trip to the real Gold Coast earlier in the year. Took me right back to Accra, will definitely visit again, thank you!

Thank lillian229
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Once in a while it's nice to go out for a change, but the waiting time and staff attitude is really unacceptable and there has to be a change. It's a lovely local place but I feel the staff needs training and meal times no...More

Thank Brown C
Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

Food Food tasted good, I have never had Ghanaian food before but will definitely give it a try in the future. Food portions were really larger. The server didn't have enough menus for all guest. The venue The layout could have been better, the restaurant...More

1  Thank Mrmitchjp
Reviewed January 23, 2017 via mobile

The food was good but a bit pricey, I think you get larger portions when you dine there. Also the service could be a bit quicker it took over 30 minutes for just rice and meat. I was not disappointed with the flavours but they...More

Thank JoBim4770
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Visited the Gold Coast restaurant on 13th November 2016 around 16:30 .myself ,my wife and 3kids.we were greeted nicely .gave a table for 4.i asked for a high chair for my 11 months old baby and it never came .my wife asked and was told...More

1  Thank Kwame K
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

I enjoy going there, the food is great but the service is very slow and food takes a bit of time to come out. I know it's not a fast food restaurant but the waiting time for meals is ridiculous. Apart from that it's very...More

Thank Brown C
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

After reading some of the negative reviews on here I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Gold Coast. It is a quirky establishment which is a restaurant/ bar with music and dancing in the evening. I had Jollof Rice and a Chef's special dish...More

Thank BingoBango2014
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

It states it's a Ghanian restaurant, but with two native Ghanians visited and no one was able to speak native language and food lacked the traditional flavour. The place is unclean and requires update. Staff - unprofessional, customer service extremely poor. While served food waiter...More

2  Thank zanelinde90
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Vujon - Contemporary Indian Cuisine
82 reviews
.60 miles away
Chilli and Spice
7 reviews
.43 miles away
Yeha Noha
40 reviews
.59 miles away
The Portland Arms
6 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Croydon Road Recreation Ground
29 reviews
.81 miles away
Dragon Quest Adventure Golf
27 reviews
.48 miles away
Selhurst Park
136 reviews
.95 miles away
South Norwood Lake and Grounds
13 reviews
.96 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kwame K
November 14, 2016|
Answer
Response from Brown C | Reviewed this property |
Yes the do operate Ghanaian and some African/Caribbean meals. And about the food being poor I think it depends when it's cooked, how it was cooked and who cooked it, I have had my fair share of bad food days and VERY GREAT... More
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$38 - $45
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: South Norwood 224 Portland Road, London SE25 4QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8676 1919
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing