We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

531 Aigburth Road, Liverpool L19 9DN, England
+44 151 494 1032
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible15%
Travelers talk about
“roast dinner” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (9 reviews)
“pork” (6 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
531 Aigburth Road, Liverpool L19 9DN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We always come here for food , my fellas mom lives in Belgium and can't get a roast were she lives so looks forward to coming to a Toby for a roast , but unfortunately it wasn't good , but what I want to talk...More

Thank Kerri M
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Kerri M, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We will pass your comments onto John.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for lunch on Friday 9th Feb. Waitress was pleasant and said we could sit anywhere. We opted for the carvery, chef was a bit robotic kingsize yorkshire, he looked very bored. When we got back to the table and started eating the food was...More

1  Thank Colin B
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Colin B, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for a roast with a few friends that we have not seen for a while and was not disappointed..the roast was delicious. Our waiter Brian was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for him! Will be back in a few weeks

Thank KevHanson63
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Usually a very nice carvery,this time so disappointing, Chef was miserable, 4 meats,but only 2 looked eatable. Roast potatoes burnt and hard, only green bean as veg, cauliflower cheese,looked like it was been out days,and another thing with carrot in sauce,looked like the day before....More

Thank Bren47
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bren47, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my other half are regulars here for a drink. Normally all is fine though the quality of staff can be questionable we have never had any issues. Today we come in order a Southern Comfort, lime and lemonade (locally called a steamboat). The...More

Thank gareth1133
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at Toby Carvery Aigburth, but will take this opportunity to improve.

Reviewed December 28, 2017

I have been to a couple of these venues the last being just before Christmas. I went with some friends for a early Christmas Lunch. I had the Terkey from the Christmas menu. It has never disappointed on anytime that I have been. The staff...More

Thank pnut262
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2017

Pnut262, thank you for sharing your positive experience!

Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile

We went to the Toby for our Xmas catch up and there was a problem with our booking , the deputy manager John was really helpful he set the tables on the pub side and waited on us . He was very attentive and couldn’t...More

Thank lyndyloo28
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2017

Lyndyloo28, thank you so much for your high rating!

Reviewed December 19, 2017

The Toby is our local. Wife's brother was back from the forces so took him in for 2 pints. We weren't watching the time and staff served drinks at 11:10pm to us (bar was open, this was our second drink). Manager Karen wasn't happy about...More

4  Thank niceHotelsOnly
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

Will deffo not return, food was vile was like chewing off pure fat and dry turkey with dry roast potatoes but I get that’s not going to be upto scratch because it is a carvery and sits there for a while. Service was appalling From...More

Thank GHFox95
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Ghfox95, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great, we truly appreciate your honest feedback.

Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

Very nice hot food, busy pub which keeps the food flowing and fresh. Nice easy going staff nothing a bother for them. Enjoyed a nice meal. Well done guys

Thank paulyfb
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Hi Paulyfb, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Aigburth. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

PreviousNext
12345621
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 100 hotels in Liverpool
Grange Hotel and Restaurant
1 review
.32 miles away
Lyndhurst & Erlscote Serviced Apartments
1 review
1.20 miles away
Sefton Park Hotel
415 reviews
1.22 miles away
The Park Lane
9 reviews
1.51 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Paul's Place
296 reviews
.03 miles away
Gulshan Indian Restaurant
369 reviews
.04 miles away
Cooper's Coffee Shop
99 reviews
.51 miles away
Sakara Bar & Restaurant
101 reviews
.48 miles away
Nearby Attractions
20 Forthlin Road - McCartney Home
866 reviews
.85 miles away
Otterspool Park
253 reviews
.82 miles away
Sudley House
221 reviews
.76 miles away
Liverpool Cricket Club
67 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Toby Carvery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 531 Aigburth Road, Liverpool L19 9DN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 494 1032
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing