We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Monro Gastropub

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
92 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AG, England
+44 151 707 9933
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

942 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 923: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had high expectations of The Monro, but not what we expected. The food servings are very small e.g prawn cocktail, one piece of lettuce, five small prawns, one cherry tomato and a drizzle of sauce. Beef cooked very rear and dwarf beans raw. Fruit crumble very little crumble, but I must say the fruit had been marinated and tasted good.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley A
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Three of us visited at the start of feb, Been here before but it was wonderful, really nice servers not overly attentive but close by, food was to die for, I had a very large appetite that it managed to tame. Mashed potato was amazing. Really good British food! Can't wait to visit again. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Tilly L
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After having this restaurant highly recommended to us on several occasions and reading the reviews on here, we decided to book our 'valentines' night out here. Unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations - limited menu choice which was not very inspiring and extremely small portions. Starters were a bit unusual but okay although on the small side.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

Please read my responses to others because we sacked our Head Chef. Here's an email we got from Linda who came over the weekend and since the sacking: "I just wanted to say a massive thank you to you and your staff for last night. The evening went so smoothly, thanks to your organisation of our event. Everybody loved it,... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Starters, mains, desert, beer and coffee for three for £70. Bargain. Great service good atmosphere and lovely real fire. Recommend booking ahead as very busy.

Helpful?
Thank JonathanCT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The pub has such a vibrant atmosphere, went with a group of six, we had a variety of meals and all were excellent. My steak was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Veronica H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

After wanting to visit the monro for a while,i can honestly say,it did not disappoint. we were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our table in lovely comfortable surroundings. we had quality food at very reasonable prices all delivered to our table with a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Helpful?
Thank debbiej128
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice and comfortable venue. We had roast dinners (beef and lamb), both nicely presented and tasty but not very generous portions. Desserts were nice: sticky toffee pudding, bread pudding, chocolate brownie and peanut butter cheesecake (the most original option). The service was friendly but a little slow. Overall it was a good meal at a great price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chani C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked two weeks in advance for a group of ten. On arrival we could not be seated because parts of the restaurant had no heating. When we were seated we were told that some of the starters and main courses were not available despite us having given our preferences when we booked. One steak was sent back as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank MCULLMC
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

You were all really dreadful from the moment you arrived. But of course we can;t say that. We cook from fresh and you complained bitterly that we had changed dishes. You don't get our ethos and thank goodness you won't be back. Shameful. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don’t know if there has been a change in management and chiefs but, sadly this place is not what it was. The food was awful and staff just not as attentive. This place used to be so good. What a shame!

Helpful?
Thank elainemc63
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

Give yourself a solitary and lonely round of applause. Did you enjoy the power of your keyboard? Why? Because we sacked our Head Chef. You have your scalp. The power you must feel, must be so satisfying... So well done to all of the anonymous reviewers who complained and cost somebody with a big heart and a good soul his... More 

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took my uncle here for his 70th and the 3 course lunch menu didn't disappoint. Loved the scallops to start and good wine menu. Nice real fire and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Cathy S

Travelers who viewed The Monro Gastropub also viewed

 
St. Asaph, Denbighshire
 

Been to The Monro Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$17 - $32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 92 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 707 9933

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Monro Gastropub and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
runcorn
1 month ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Monro Gastropub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?