We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Treeby & Bolton Cafe

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$2 - $9
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 07/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveler rating
394
153
35
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
394
153
35
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemon meringue cakes fish platter coffee cake soup fries sandwich pie gallery upstairs lovely cafe coffee stop great coffee visiting keswick lovely food slice lakes
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

After a substantial walk around part of Derwentwater (whilst here on our North/Western Lakes holiday) we retreated to Keswick town centre; as it was now quite warm in the strong sunshine. We had spotted this Shop, Gallery & Café on our initial town centre recce;...we made a note of the location of the Café entrance which is down a side-street. We were able to secure a table right next to the servery and we were quickly offered menus. We both ordered a pot of tea, my partner had perused the cakes on display and had, after some anguish, chosen a slice of the Lemon Cake, whereas I opted for a jumbo sausage roll. The tea soon arrived and after a short wait the food arrived. My Partner’s cake looked the part, the sponge was light and well-baked, but there was not enough lemon flavour, so overall it was a little disappointing. My sausage roll was superb, nicely warmed with a very flaky casing and beautifully firm and tasty meat filling. The addition of a sprinkle of fennel seeds before it was baked changed the taste a little, but definitely for the better. I do like fennel and I congratulate whoever had made the decision to add this wonderful herb. The tea was really good, made with loose leaves, it was strong (mostly because we let if brew until we were ready to drink). Each pot yielded two large cups of refreshing tea. This was a good snack, much enjoyed.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stumbled across this cafe while on holiday in Keswick. A really lovely cafe, lovely homemade food. Kid friendly and really lovely food. Kids were made up with the massive homemade sausage rolls.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed May 3, 2022

First stop on route to our visit to Keswick at the Treeby cafe, we were lucky as it wasn't peak period and we scored a nice window seat. Service was prompt and friendly. We Made some selections from their menu, display and specials. The soup...of the day with cheese scone, fennel sausage roll, lemon meringue pie were all terrific as was the proper Suki teas and the coffees also pretty good. Great location and chance to browse through the lovely gallery an added bonus. Thorughly enjoyable light meal. Recommended.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed March 30, 2022 via mobile

Met friends for coffee, cake and catch up. Cakes (homemade) were excellent, and the sausage roll delicious. Coffee top quality too. Service was speedy and very friendly - we felt very relaxed and had time to get up to date with our news. Our second...visit this holiday and we will be back when we return later this year.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed February 27, 2022 via mobile

Review based on customer service as no one came to take our order! This is the message I left, yet to receive a reply: Hi, not usually one to complain, but we visited the cafe today. It looked appealing. We were taken to table 18...by a lady, she gave us a lunch menu and was told someone would take our order. We sat for quite a few minutes. The people next to us finished their drinks etc and left. A man came and took away the dirty cups and wiped the table down. We were still sat with our menus thinking perhaps he would take our order. But he disappeared. More time passed, and a couple came in, they were seated next to us. The same man came and took their order, and their food and drinks followed shortly after! We were still sat with our menus. I’m just wondering if we hadn’t have got up and walked out, how long it would’ve been until we were seen too? Would you care to explain?More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed February 21, 2022 via mobile

We visited Treeby on the off chance whilst in Keswick. What a find. The staff were excellent and the food was good. The only thing to let them down was the fruit cake was overdone and as it was the last piece, really should not...have been served. But that said, it was an enjoyable experience.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed February 20, 2022 via mobile

Found this place by accident and delighted we did, the art gallery is very good and worthy a look in itself. The cafe is excellent, very friendly staff with a good choice of food. I had soup and scone deal and it was excellent. My...partner had the sausage roll and cake - again no complaints. Cafe is nicely decorated and modern which creates a pleasant atmosphereMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed January 3, 2022

Always visit here when in the Lakes! Love the coffee & selection of cakes. Tastefully decorated too. Wonderful shop upstairs with helpful staff!

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed December 22, 2021 via mobile

Food was really excellent, salmon sandwich delicious, and my little girls loved their pasta. Thanks a lot we’ll be visiting again.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 5, 2021

Couldn't wait to return to our favourite cafe in Keswick, excited to have hot food back on the menu after such a long break, however we were hugely disappointed. There was nothing on the menu for our taste apart from soup, which unfortunately was quite...under whelming. Shame as our number 1 place has lost it's top slot and we won't be back 😢More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?2  
Dan B, Owner at Treeby & Bolton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2021

Hi Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re sad to hear that you didn’t enjoy your recent visit. Like you, we are excited to be serving lunches again after a very difficult and challenging year. We have a great new...More

Reviewed November 27, 2021 via mobile

We have been visiting the cafe for many years and have never been disappointed, however it has changed its menu and gone from a vibrant venue with a original and innovative selection to a rather humdrum run of the mill establishment. Such favourites as the...meat/seafood/cheese platters are gone, as are the wonderful omelettes, along with other long-standing goodies. If you want soup and a sandwich you now need to order them separately, bumping up the cost considerably. Prices in general are just unreasonable now, £9.50 for rarebit? Must be the priciest cheese on toast in the north! Such a shame that Treeby’s has gone down this route, and sadly I think they will regret it in the long run.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed November 16, 2021 via mobile

Stopped in here for Tea and cake after a walk around town and the lake, Nice display of cakes caught my eye, Welcomed by the staff as we entered and told it was table service. Ordered 2 teas and scones , scones came warm and...our 2 year old soon decided that my scone was hers and it was gone ! Ordered a slice of lemon meringue and portion was massive! All in all great place to eatMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed October 10, 2021 via mobile

Despite the nice waitress, we were disappointed with the cakes and coffees. The cake display looked amazing but lacked flavour, especially my lemon meringue, not very “lemony” at all! The coffees were luke warm and very weak, definitely not a cappuccino. £14 for two cakes...and coffees, will not return.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed October 5, 2021 via mobile

We called in yesterday while visiting Keswick. It was always our favourite coffee stop when we lived in the town but having moved away 2 years ago, we hadn't visited for some time avoiding the busy tourist town during the summer months. We were so...pleased to get a table and enjoyed a cream tea and coffee. It was still as good as ever with the bonus that they don't allow dogs in the cafe. Friendly staff and delicious food. Highly recommend!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed October 1, 2021

After a long walk up to Latrigg a cup of tea and an excellent slice of chocolate and orange cake was just what was needed. Really like this place, good selection of cakes, friendly service, we liked it enough to go back again next day.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Kings Arms Hotel
690 reviews
.08 miles away
Inn on the Square
1,100 reviews
.08 miles away
The Skiddaw Hotel
112 reviews
.09 miles away
The Highfield Hotel
530 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Derwent Walker Cafe Bar
83 reviews
.02 miles away
The Round
380 reviews
.06 miles away
Fellpack
942 reviews
.04 miles away
The Square Orange Cafe Bar
1,402 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hope Park
487 reviews
.03 miles away
Crow Park
94 reviews
.03 miles away
Keswick Information Centre
206 reviews
.08 miles away
Keswick Outdoor Markets
84 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jojo_expat
December 5, 2020|
Answer
Response from vics40 | Reviewed this property |
I expect you can book in advance, however we didn’t & they had tables available. It was mid-week though
0
Votes
alisonj366
May 23, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BartonDaniel | Property representative |
Hi Alison, Yes the cafe is wheelchair accessible from the main cafe entrance just round the corner from the main shop entrance. We hopefully look forward to seeing you soon.
1
Vote
Pauline D
July 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from OrangutanEngland | Reviewed this property |
Yes.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Treeby & Bolton Cafe

Yes, Treeby & Bolton Cafe offers takeout services.

Yes, Treeby & Bolton Cafe is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Treeby & Bolton Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4