We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House

27 Bank Street | Shemara Guest House, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
+44 17687 73936
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“thai food” (52 reviews)
“jungle curry” (19 reviews)
“crab cakes” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Thai, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Bank Street | Shemara Guest House, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 180 of 331 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our 4th New Year at the Shemara. The meal on New Years Eve was fantastic. A selection of starters, hot and spicy soup and five main courses, once again gave us a great chance to experience not only Thai food but Fon's amazing...More

1  Thank Barbara2104
richatki, Owner at A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you Barbara for your continued custom and your review, it was a pleasure to have you stay and dine with us on New Years Eve and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Myself and my partner visit Keswick regularly and on a trip a couple of years ago, we were recommended 'The Taste of Thailand' by one of the locals. Given that we have visited Thailand on a number of occasions and have a real appreciation for...More

2  Thank John B
richatki, Owner at A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your custom and for your lovely review. Fon and I are very pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope we can be of service to you on any future visits to Keswick.

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled around Thailand and whilst I was there, absolutely loved their food and way of cooking. I can honestly say that since being back, I have never had a more authentic Thai meal. It's a lovely and small restaurant within a B&B which...More

Thank NatalieMaria
richatki, Owner at A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your custom and your very kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and it gives Fon such a lift when we get a nice review about her cooking from people who have visited Thailand and can relate...More

Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed in Keswick for a couple of nights in October and the bed and breakfast that we stayed in reccomended the Thai Restaurant situated in Shemara Guest House. When we made the booking we were told that they had no drinks licence so we...More

Thank HarrietHen
richatki, Owner at A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to welcome you back in the future if you should visit Keswick again.

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Really liked this place, dining room in front room of a guest house with only a small number of tables, good prices and very friendly and efficient service, also lots of options we have not seen in other thai restaurants. The food though just not...More

Thank Tony and Sarah G
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I took my partner here for her birthday as a treat as we always visit the star of Siam Thai restaurant when we visit Keswick and I thought, going from the reviews, it sounded better than the star of Siam. How wrong I was. The...More

1  Thank Hendas63
richatki, Owner at A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for duplicating your partners review of your apparently terrible meal with us which we have already replied to below. Just to pick up on a few points you make, 1. AUTHENTIC beef in oyster sauce contains no chilli 2. AUTHENTIC rad na noodles...More

Reviewed December 15, 2013

After hearing many fantastic comments regarding The Shemara we just had to visit as part of a special celebration....we were not disappointed.... The Shemara is truly wonderful. Richard and Fon have created something unique, with great food, perfect service, superb value for money and wonderful...More

Thank Awandal37
richatki, Owner at A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are very pleased that we lived up to the comments you heard about our restaurant and we were able to help make your special night a success. It was very nice to meet you and have...More

Reviewed December 13, 2013

Where do I begin. The good points. - the place was clean and well presented and the owner was very attentive. Unfortunately the food was a total let down. I had barbecue spare ribs as a starter. They were chewy and there was taste resembling...More

1  Thank Maura C
richatki, Owner at A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

By coincidence the 2 main course dishes you had are exactly the same dishes as the reviewer below had and he describes them as follows 'The quality of the food can not be argued with, it was lovely' Yes, we warn people on the front...More

Reviewed December 8, 2013

You are sat close to everyone so no conversation is private but this led to a good group chat, however if you and your partner want privacy this may not be for you. Not cheap either for what you get meat wise, both our mains...More

Thank russ s
richatki, Owner at A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank your custom and for taking the time to review our small Thai restaurant. We are pleased you enjoyed the food but we are surprised you found it expensive for our home made dishes. The spring rolls that you found 'fabulous' are made by hand...More

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Walked past it twice before we realised where it was. The restaurant is inside the Shemara guest house and so it isnt obvious that a great Thai restaurant is there ! The staff and the food were very good, its a small restaurant probably only...More

Thank Kevinhaz
richatki, Owner at A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your custom and your review, we are very pleased that you found us and you enjoyed your meal and hope to welcome you back should you visit us again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Java Coffee Shop
392 reviews
.09 miles away
The Kingfisher
368 reviews
.09 miles away
Merienda
795 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Puzzling Place
1,063 reviews
.09 miles away
Keswick Museum
180 reviews
.11 miles away
Moot Hall - Keswick Information Centre
142 reviews
.10 miles away
King Kong Climbing Centre
92 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
amberpop
October 31, 2015|
Answer
Response from richatki | Property representative |
I. I am sorry but the restaurant is not open in January. Sorry we are unable to help. Regards
0
Votes
Fatz87
August 5, 2015|
Answer
Response from richatki | Property representative |
No our meat is not halal
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Bank Street | Shemara Guest House, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 73936
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing