We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 5/16
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $21
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

0.0 miles from Canterbury Cathedral
Improve this listing
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
172
177
66
42
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
172
177
66
42
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pies sausage and mash cathedral gate nice pub sit outside pub food pint ale pubs
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 1, 2020

Fantastic atmospheric pub with a oldy worldly feel. Lovely decor inside which was very cosy with lots of fairy lights. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Buttermarket, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2020

Hi Lynette F, thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub!

Reviewed October 19, 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely couple of nights sitting enjoying people watching in the window. Friendly staff and all covid 19 aware. Brilliant to see when customers enters they are reminded to wear face masks. Highly recommend perfect location & great atmosphere. Thank you

Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Buttermarket, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2020

Lynnd06, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed September 26, 2020 via mobile

We came here for lunch after visiting the cathedral and the location is very good with good food. It took quite a while for food to come out and social distancing wasn’t enforced very well, but the staff were really friendly and overall the value...was pretty good. The fries were very good.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Buttermarket, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2020

Fj412, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Old Buttermarket!

Reviewed September 22, 2020

Came to visit with my partner for some late lunch. Food was lush and reasonably priced. Only thing that needs sorting out there is the bickering between the very strong headed female and the rest of the staff members. Was hilarious to listen to for...a short while, however I actually started to feel very sorry for the other members of staff. She was dictating and very rude.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 20, 2020 via mobile

Quick and friendly, nice place to sit outside in the Butter Market sq. In front of the Cathedral gate.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Buttermarket, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2020

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed September 14, 2020

We had lunch here on the 11th Sept. The food was ok but with 2 drinks thought it expensive. 1 large and 1 medium sized wines, a toasted sandwich and a club sandwich £28.95. This is what you might pay in the city of London.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Buttermarket, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2020

Guest contacted directly.

Reviewed September 5, 2020

Staff welcomed us and found us a lovely socially distanced table. Everything cleaned. Nice chat as they brought menus. Made to feel really welcome, drinks brought to table. I had the mac cheese with bacon, very tasty. Husband had the pie. Nice place for couples.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Buttermarket, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2020

Charl0ttec42, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed September 2, 2020 via mobile

Stopped for a spot of lunch, the outside looked attractive so we picked here. My wife had a trio of pies which was exciting and tasty, I had sausage and mash, the food was well presented and hot. The staff were pleasant and welcoming.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Buttermarket, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2020

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Reviewed August 30, 2020

Made to feel quite welcome here and were seated in reasonable time. The manager was up for a little pre-seating chat and claimed the business had been very busy since lock-down, good sign. Soup was heat hot and tasty and arrived quite quickly. My sausage...and mash were tasty and it was pleasing to be automatically given a selection of sauces and condiments. Would visit again.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Buttermarket, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2020

Shaky222, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed August 29, 2020

Came into the pub to have a drink with my partner and witnessed an interesting situation. The young lady who was on the door stopped someone (person a) from sitting outside their premises as it was against their license. She found them a table straight...away and even stopped new guests from sitting there to help A. They then proceeded to get very busy. The lady was trying to get rid of dirty plates while the older gentlemen was serving on the bar. They then proceeded to have a loud argument about how the man should not be serving someone if he knew they were sat outside their boundary... This is very unusual no? I haven't seen staff arguing over a licensing condition before especially as I used to work in a pub. The young lady proceeded to walk out and sort a few chairs out to rectify the issue then blatantly refused to go inside the pub. She was dumping dirty plates and glasses on the bar knowing that the gentlemen was too busy to clean up and then she proceeded to stand outside doing nothing. Obviously a clash of heads there that needs to be sorted out. The drinks were nice though.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Old Buttermarket, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2020

Hello Winniereth72, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Cathedral Gate Hotel
596 reviews
.01 miles away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
1,492 reviews
.07 miles away
ABode Canterbury
2,759 reviews
.10 miles away
Pilgrims Hotel
365 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pork & Co.
1,281 reviews
.06 miles away
Oscar & Bentleys
785 reviews
.06 miles away
Cafe Mauresque
1,604 reviews
.04 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Canterbury
846 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Canterbury Cathedral
6,899 reviews
.03 miles away
Christ Church Gate
213 reviews
.01 miles away
The Buttermarket
133 reviews
.01 miles away
Canterbury Guided Tours
336 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Archielfc
April 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 154phild | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
0
Votes
Disappointed204
December 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 870patsyw | Reviewed this property |
perhaps you could download the menu?
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Buttermarket

  • The Old Buttermarket is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
    • Food: 3.5
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 3.5