We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Inn

Hulverstone, PO30 4EH, England
+44 1983 741124
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“ale pie” (4 reviews)
“custard” (4 reviews)
“mussels” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Hulverstone, PO30 4EH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Went on mother's Day , unbooked , 55 minutes wait for burnt tiny portions. Got a refund. Table nearby awaited similar time for same crap.waiting staff about 13 , manager had to be guided to refund. Yorkshire pudding cremated as were spuds

Thank cozzyiow
Reviewed 1 week ago

We landed here after a day of hiking on the coast. A perfect spot to relax with a pint! Real ales and lagers on tap. We didn't get anything to eat but a table near us did and looked and smelled good! This is right...More

Thank EuroTravelCoach
Reviewed 1 week ago

I walked to this pub from Brighstone, whilst staying with my Mum over Christmas. Normally would pop in pubs closer by, but needed some exercise so headed here. It's really beautiful both inside and out. It was nice enough to sit outside and marvel at...More

Thank Mel C
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Live locally and often have a drink at this pub the location is excellent. Ate there a couple of years ago and had an absolutely awful meal. It was very busy so we though maybe that was the reason and we would give it another...More

Thank theresa48
Vicky H, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Hi theresa48, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry you feel like your visit was so poor. I have spoken to all staff on shift that evening, you were served by our assistant manager who assures me you only booked for...More

Reviewed January 7, 2018

The ambiance and decor are charming; the staff very helpful. Our meal took ages to come ( drank three drinks while waiting) and although it tried to look high end, it was, in fact, overcooked, flavourless and overpriced. Disappointing.More

Thank becswhite
Vicky H, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Hi becswhite, I'm sorry to hear this. I have not been aware of any reasons why there should be long waits in the kitchen unless we are very busy. I have passed this comment to the kitchen for feedback from them as long delays on...More

Reviewed January 6, 2018

Have had Xmas lunch elsewhere on the island in the past and been satisfied with price, service, and the food. We did not feel the whole meal was value for what it cost, not enough waiting staff provided [ only 2 ] so wait to...More

Thank d1952dwanstall
Vicky H, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Hi d1952dwanstall, I'm surprised by your review as out other feedback from the day was excellent-with people even rebooking for next Christmas. The wait on food was down to the kitchen getting 74 meals out which were being plated individually with fresh produce as opposed...More

Reviewed January 1, 2018

While some of the dishes are undoubtedly popular such as the regular roasts, I had the misfortune of ordering the Chef's fish stew, which was £15.95 - pretty expensive for an island village pub. Unfortunately the reality didn't match the description.. the rich crab buillabaisse...More

Thank mazbiz
Vicky H, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Hi mazbiz, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I'm sorry to hear the fish stew wasn't up to your expectations, the sauce is cooked to order and I have passed your feedback to the head chef to ensure this is addressed....More

Reviewed December 31, 2017

The pub is lovely but very busy when we were there so had an hour wait for the food. The vegan dish was very small and quite pricey for what it was, but the rest was good with larger portions. The order was wrong when...More

Thank Juliet D
Vicky H, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Hi Juliet D, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your whole visit wasn't up.to standard, an hour wait on food is not acceptable but unfortunately due to how busy we were and the fact all food is cooked to order it can be delayed...More

Reviewed December 4, 2017

We arrived one mid week late afternoon pretty cold and hungry after a long winter walk. Our ferry was at 7pm so we couldnt stay for food for when service opened at 5.30pm but the bar man really kindly asked the chef if they could...More

Thank SallyJessie
Vicky H, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Hi Sallyjessie, We are glad we could accommodate you during your visit. We hope our visitors feel comfortable on cold days by our warming fire and cooked delicious meals by our chefs. Thank you for your custom and we hope you visit again. Kind regards...More

Reviewed November 23, 2017

We arrived here for lunch, to find a couple of ponies tethered at the edge of the beer garden, enjoying lunch with their owners! A lovely welcome. Before entering the pub, we walked our dogs up the hill across the road, and enjoyed the stunning...More

Thank 543jrr
Vicky H, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2017

Hi 543jrr, Thank you for you lovely review. We accept everyone at our pub..horses, dogs and of course humans! Whether busy or quiet we try to always provide the same customer experience and I'm glad on this occasion we did. Hope to see you again...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 116 hotels in Isle of Wight
Albion Hotel
349 reviews
3.36 miles away
Freshwater Bay Country House
90 reviews
3.41 miles away
Swainston Hotel
2 reviews
3.59 miles away
NorthCourt Manor
92 reviews
3.72 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Isle of Wight Pearl Cafe
148 reviews
1.36 miles away
The Sun Inn
194 reviews
2.44 miles away
The Llama Tree Pizzeria
47 reviews
2.86 miles away
Horse & Groom
282 reviews
3.22 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dinosaur Expeditions CIC
122 reviews
1.10 miles away
Calbourne Water Mill & Rural Museum
272 reviews
2.05 miles away
West Wight Alpacas
358 reviews
2.74 miles away
St Peter's Church
7 reviews
3.80 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
April 4, 2016|
Response from Bob F | Reviewed this property |
It states Gluten free above in the write up, so I would assume that it is available.
October 18, 2015|
Response from lesleyblanchard | Property representative |
we do have a sunday roast, we have a selection of 3 local meats and a nut roast, the roast are on till they are alll gone it is always advisable to book, if your thinking of later in the day we can always reserve some for... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$7 - $17
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hulverstone, PO30 4EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 741124
  • E-mail
The Sun Inn Is A 600 Year-Old Hostelry Set In Beautiful Countryside On The South West Coast Of The Isle Of Wight.Serving Real Ales and Home cooked, locally sourced foods, it is a perfect stop off for families and those on a trip round the West WightRegular Live music on Saturday nights, Speaker and Charity events throughout the Year.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Looking for a great restaurant?
Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor