We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hare and Hounds

$$ - $$$, British,
104 Sopwell Lane, St. Albans AL1 1RL, England
+44 1727 855565
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good29%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (7 reviews)
“lamb” (7 reviews)
“burgers” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
104 Sopwell Lane, St. Albans AL1 1RL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 98 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Sun lunch meat well over cooked. Cabbage & carrots. It must have been cooked since early morn .standing at bar waiting for a drink all looks like a good deep clean would not be out of order. Not for me would not return

Thank bripaulnu88
Reviewed January 9, 2018

We visited there over Christmas, heard great things, just a drink but the bar owner (male) was so rude. Since telling people about this, they too have experienced the same thing, food is okay, but bar staff so rude. they have to realise without 'us'...More

1  Thank lacky12018
ElaineHare, Owner at The Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologise for the bad experience however we would say that "rude" is a relevant term. I.e. If a customer tries to order food after the kitchen has closed and is told this, and they then...More

Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Had lunch here on Saturday. Great choice from the menu and specials board. 2 of us has burgers which tasted amazing, you can tell the meat was quality and my son had fish and chips. The fish was perfectly cooked with crispy batter. My husband...More

Thank woodyebe05
ManagerHareandH0unds, Owner at The Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing ou again soon

Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Visited this pub with a group of friends and was really pleasantly surprised. The staff were so attentive, polite and helpful, the wine was great and the food was really really good! A wide varied menu with really reasonable prices - we had the sliders...More

Thank travelbug1984sta
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

Popped in for Christmas drinks. Great place. Nice atmosphere. Good beers on offer. They seem to do nice food too.

Thank stuartbeesley
Reviewed December 18, 2017

Dropped by for a Sunday roast yesterday. The service was excellent and both starters and main roast dinners were exceptional. Excellent quality and sized portions and a super range of beer to compliment. Highly recommended!

Thank Harpenden_Wanderer
ManagerHareandH0unds, Owner at The Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

😊 What a lovely review. Thank you

Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

Treated my family to a weekend here in early November. We had previously come in February to check that it would suit our needs. Our room was lovely and spacious, with a view of the garden. It was spotlessly clean and I love the Molton...More

Thank Jan R
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful afternoon/evening celebrating my sons 28th birthday with family and friends. The staff were all so happy and helpful .Nothing was too much bother .The food was delicious as was the wine . A big thank you to all the staff especially Dawn...More

Thank scjlonrush
ManagerHareandH0unds, Owner at The Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

That’s great to hear! We’re really happy that you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for taking the time to review us

Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a well deserved pint after a nice walk We wanted chips but got a lovely bowl of roast potatoes instead as it was Sunday Dog friendly and the staff were incredibly helpful, decent selections of wine and beers and good value Would...More

Thank Simon D
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

We have now been here a few times for Sunday lunch. This time it was my wife’s birthday and we had friends with their new dog visit. The landlady couldn’t have been more accommodating. The service was spot on, the food fantastic and the beer...More

Thank John C
PreviousNext
12345610
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in St. Albans
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
609 reviews
.19 miles away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
796 reviews
.45 miles away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
596 reviews
.68 miles away
Ardmore House
561 reviews
.76 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Prime Steak & Grill - St. Albans
834 reviews
.15 miles away
Per Tutti
318 reviews
.22 miles away
Cafe Rouge
426 reviews
.20 miles away
St. Villa Bar & Restaurant
182 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Albans Cathedral
1,743 reviews
.27 miles away
St Albans Clock Tower
288 reviews
.29 miles away
St Albans South Signal Box
56 reviews
.35 miles away
Westminster Lodge Leisure Centre
62 reviews
.38 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hare and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $20
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 104 Sopwell Lane, St. Albans AL1 1RL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St. Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 855565
  • E-mail
Description
We provide an extensive menu including smaller dishes, a burger bar and homemade desserts. Sunday Roasts are very popular as we source our meat from a local farm and it is advisable to book in advance. We also have weekly Tex Mex nights (Tuesday) and fresh fish nights (Friday) to accommodate every taste. We welcome children and well behaved dogs (except in restaurant). We have a large South facing family garden with children's activities to keep them happy.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing