We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harvester

Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | AL1, St. Albans AL4 9NH, England
+44 1727 855053
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible31%
Travelers talk about
“sundae” (5 reviews)
“gammon steak” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 pm - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | AL1, St. Albans AL4 9NH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we booked a table for 14 for a 40th birthday party we booked this 2 weeks in advance on arrival they had set out separate tables for us we said that this is not what we booked and had booked a table for 14 not...More

Thank wrx374
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Wrx374 thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. I shall be personally investigating what happened on this occasion with my team. I have just returned today from my holiday and am sad to read these comments. I have a...More

Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Have just arrived home after having an early supper at our local Harvester at the Ancient Britain St Albans.. I have reviewed before favourably and I have no reason to change that opinion...i did have to mess the booking up and change times due to...More

Thank M G
Reviewed July 1, 2017

I called in on one of the recent very hot days for a cold refreshing drink. It was a Wednesday lunchtime. There were people eating in the restaurant, so I headed over to the bar area and waited to be served. During the first five...More

Thank johnparslow
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Dear johnparslow, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this vital feedback. We are sorry that we have left this lasting impression of us and we shall definitely be looking at staffing levels to ensure that this is not a regular occurrence. If...More

Reviewed May 17, 2017

A mixed age group; all of whom found a meal from the menu that they enjoyed. The service was attentive, pleasant and punctual throughout. The children were well-catered for.

Thank Noel and Verena Y
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

Decided to go to this harvester as we had been given a free voucher after having a bad experience at the stevenage harvester and was definitely worth the drive. Staff were all friendly, service was good and food was yummy. The refill drinks machine wasn't...More

Thank Charwii
Reviewed April 24, 2017

After visiting the Ancient Briton for a family meal on Saturday 22nd April, I feel I must make some observations, firstly we were waiting for what seemed an age before being shown to our seats, it wasn't that busy, the staff were friendly and helpful...More

Thank Jackie T
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Jackie T, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I hope that you'll...More

Reviewed April 17, 2017

8 of us visited for a 90th birthday. The staff were really helpful in giving us a table which was easy for older people to access and sit at. Our waiter, Liam, could not do enough for us. He impressed us that he did not...More

Thank Suzina B
Reviewed March 29, 2017

A very surprising pleasant tasty lunch. Having the early bird menu consisting of Grilled chicken and scampi with chips was served hot and with plenty of accompaniments including the famous salad bar. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful . The restaurant was clean...More

Thank Mike D
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Dear Mike D, Thank you very much for your positive review. It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to write your lovely comments. We will look into improving the comments mentioned about the cutlery and hopefully we can turn your...More

Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

Great value. Our deal included a free voucher for Mother's Day Main Meal. They were rushed off their feet but service with some smile We were half an hour late getting to table having booked on line. It gave us the opportunity to drink send...More

Thank oakhart
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2017

Dear Oakheart. thank you for your kind words and yes Mothers day was spectacularly busy for us and I'm glad that although you had a wait for your booked table ,you managed to still enjoy yourself in the bar area. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed March 17, 2017

Oh dear. We wanted a reasonably priced, non Christmassy meal and popped in here. Clearly it was busy, and we had to wait for table for about 20 mins. That was fine, it was in the run up to Christmas. We were overcharged for our...More

Thank ScotlandWeelass
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us your feedback and all of the points mentioned shall be looked at in more detail. We pride ourselves on taking on board any feedback so that we can make continuous improvements wherever possible. We hope to see again...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Anastasias Greek Restaurant
718 reviews
.73 miles away
Bar Meze
768 reviews
.75 miles away
Saute Grill
81 reviews
.72 miles away
The Meating Room
246 reviews
.73 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Albans Farmers Market
16 reviews
.74 miles away
Alban Arena
65 reviews
.85 miles away
Champneys St Albans
66 reviews
.96 miles away
Mokoko
66 reviews
.94 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chris M
August 27, 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Unfortunately at this time we only allow assistance dogs in the restaurant. However we do have a large garden area where we do allow all dogs.
0
Votes
Chris M
August 27, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris M | Reviewed this property |
Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | AL1, St. Albans AL4 9NH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St. Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 855053
Description
At The Ancient Briton Harvester in St Albans food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing