We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Millstream

$$ - $$$, British,
88 Port Vale, Hertford SG14 3AF, England
+44 1992 582755
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“beef” (9 reviews)
“tapas” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
88 Port Vale, Hertford SG14 3AF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My husband and I visited for dinner on Saturday night and we were not disappointed. We both had pan fried scallops with pork belly, bacon crisp and cracking served on cauliflower purée to start not only was it presented beautifully it tasted exquisite. I had...More

Thank ladymuck32
Millstream_Hertford1, Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

thank you for your lovely review glad you enjoyed your evening we look forward to seeing you again take care jess

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I came for the Tuesday Tapas night. The food we chose was perfectly pleasant, albeit quite pricey. Certainly it’s a lot more expensive than tapas in Spain! However you can at least see the food prices before you order. What did surprise...More

1  Thank Frank035
Millstream_Hertford1, Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

very sorry to hear you will not be back, we do put a 10% service charge on all our food bills, this is optional and says so on all bills. im glad you enjoyed our food tapas is a big hit here at the millstream....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good food an service, nice garden area out back with umbrellas for shade, good choice on menu an caters for gluten free, only down fall as it is very hot they could have done with some fans inside in the restaurant as we melted...More

Thank suz588
Millstream_Hertford1, Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you for your lovely review look forward to seeing you again jessica

Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

Have just visited for the first time based on a recommendation and can not fault the food and service. However.....a little bit frustrated that having been outside in the beer garden, I went inside to pay and was advised that the bill was £63. Being...More

Thank SnickHerts
Millstream_Hertford1, Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

im very sorry to hear this, all our staff should make it aware to you the customer that our bills are service charged, i will make sure they are all aware of this and speak to the whole team. if you would like to pop...More

Reviewed July 2, 2018

We recently went here for a "trust the chef night" the 5 course menu was fabulous, especially the fish, my party of 6 were all very impressed and very good value for money too. Looking forward to the next one!

Thank AW_Patrick
Millstream_Hertford1, Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you for your lovely review, glad your enjoyed your self we are looking forward to the next one also kind regards jessica

Reviewed June 3, 2018

Went with some frineds and had a lovely meal with wonderful service. The food does not come immediately but that is fine because it means its freshly cooked. Very professional establishment and a proper pub that does food. Would absolutley go there again.

Thank ElsingMermaid
Millstream_Hertford1, Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you for your review and understanding! as all of our food is freshly cooked it can take a tiny bit longer but worth the wait! We hope to see you soon x

Reviewed May 20, 2018

This place is a hidden gem, the team running this pub are at the very top of their game, the bar staff The waitresses to the kitchen staff absolutely excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and for a particularly busy period things were soughted out...More

Thank Hertfordshire123
Millstream_Hertford1, Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Wow! What a perfect way to start a Monday, thank you so much for that lovely review! so glad you've found us, we look forward to seeing you in future! The Millstream x

Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Went yesterday for a family lunch. Food was amazing. Duck spring rolls were amazing and huge filled with so much duck! Others had curry and burgers which again were huge and tasty. Can't wait to go back! Also can't wait to try the tapas on...More

Thank ladymuck32
Millstream_Hertford1, Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

thank you for your lovely review! we look forward to seeing you again! The Millstream x

Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

Food was absolutely amazing great options but one of the best ones the Gluten Free Fish and Chips, for someone who avoids gluten this is a must :) staff absolutely great with a lovely atmosphere. See you again soon x

Thank Natalie B
Millstream_Hertford1, Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Hi Natalie, thanks for the lovely review! see you soon, the millstream x

Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

Excellent local pub and restaurant serving a selection of local real ales, cider and lager in cosy saloon bar with separate restaurant, family garden and dog friendly too. Great menu and home cooked food specialising in Sunday roasts. This is the best town pubs you'll...More

Thank Canitus
Millstream_Hertford1, General Manager at The Millstream, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

thank you for your lovely review look forward to seeing you again kind regards jessica

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Hertford
Hertford House
312 reviews
.47 miles away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
323 reviews
.50 miles away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
148 reviews
.55 miles away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
268 reviews
2.64 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Turkish Kitchen
399 reviews
.45 miles away
Baan Thitiya
210 reviews
.32 miles away
Ruby
258 reviews
.33 miles away
Rigsby's Restaurant
316 reviews
.33 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hertford Theatre
120 reviews
.41 miles away
Hertford Museum
64 reviews
.44 miles away
Hertford Castle
56 reviews
.44 miles away
Hartham Common
15 reviews
.58 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Diane B
January 17, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sand0312 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, it is.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:45 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:45 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 88 Port Vale, Hertford SG14 3AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hertford
  • Phone Number: +44 1992 582755
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing