We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveler rating
233
285
107
47
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
233
285
107
47
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger sunday roast fish and chips yorkshire pudding pot roast salmon the pub sit outside selection of beers great lunch booked a table esb itchen pint ale
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called in for a few drinks one afternoon prior to dining elsewhere and were very impressed The young lady who greeted us at the door and showed us to a table was pleasant and friendly Covid was taken seriously with spacing, track and trace...and service, however this did not impact on the service or our enjoyment We only had drinks but they were served prompandcthe quality was good The manager came round and chatted for a while which was a nice touch We would recommend the place and will certainly visit again if we are in townMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice pub and COVID-19 safe our drinks where served at the perfect time by a very professional server. Thanks

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food..I had the club sandwich (excellent) and my Husband had the chicken and ham pie. Great service, great food...highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely setting in a lovely part of the world. We booked early as it was a Saturday evening after a day out in Winchester. Good covid layout 👍 We went straight for the main with the lady having the beef burger and me having the...salmon with crushed potatoes and salad. The burger was tasty, hot and if a good size and as there was nothing left on the plate ... Well received. The salmon was gorgeous, very tasty, hot and very filling. I also had garlic bread with it which was banging. Reasonably priced, good food and welcoming it was a joy to eat here and would definitely eat here again.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 24, 2020

This is becoming my go to place to meet with friends at the start of the evening. The one way system, table service and hand sanitiser station on entry all make you feel safe.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
janed850, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2020

Great review... make sure you come again soon.

Reviewed September 23, 2020

We visited here meeting up with family for some lunch. The weather was pouring down!! We didn't fancy walking round the city so asked if we could go inside ahead of our reservation. The pub was extremely busy but they found us a spot to...have a drink until our table was ready. The staff were very welcoming and friendly dispite being so busy. I ordered the fish and chips, hand on heart it was the best pub fish and chips I've ever had (and I've had a fair few!!) Even the minted peas were excellent!! My 2 year old neice was with us and they gave her some warm milk in a special cup dusted with Coco which she loved!! A great afternoon and excellent food. Will be returningMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
janed850, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2020

Really glad to hear you had a lovely visit... look forward to seeing you soon

Reviewed September 19, 2020

Haven’t been out to eat much Since lockdown but called in here with friends after a walk. Excellent service from all staff, felt very safe and really good procedures in place. Food was excellent, much better than expected and will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
janed850, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2020

Brilliant review thank you

Reviewed September 18, 2020 via mobile

I’ve only been in a couple of pubs since lockdown but this place has got it right. Staff on the door to welcome you where you are immediately told to sanitise you’re hands and check in for track and trace. They then show you to...a table which are all well spaced apart and it’s strictly table service only. Nice and clean and the toilets were spotless. Why can’t all pubs be like this one and do what they are being asked to do. Thoroughly enjoyed a couple of drinks.Excellent.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
janed850, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2020

Ahh that's lovely feed back, thank you so much!

Reviewed September 6, 2020

This was our first meal out since lockdown. It was easy to book a table and we were seated quickly indoors. I ordered the salmon with salad - the salmon was good - well cooked and very tasty. The salad, on the other hand -...was about as dull as you can get, quarters of tomato and a mountain of little gem lettuce and a bit of avocado. If there was any dressing it kept its head down. The meal was mediocre and we weren't tempted to stay for dessert.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
loveandcuddles, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2020

Thank you for your review... I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the salad... it’s one of those marmite things I think.... so definitely not saying you’re wrong as some of us like everything thrown at a salad whilst others might appreciate that a fantastic piece of...More

Reviewed September 1, 2020

A huge disappointment. On arrival despite there being over 10 empty tables inside (with no reserved signs on) the man positioned at the door made us feel that he was really putting himself out to do us a favour with plenty of tutting and sighing...whilst he ‘squeezed’ us in. We were eventually seated in the far corner of the garden with 4 other empty tables around us (so not that hard to squeeze us in!) we ordered 2 roast beef and a roast chicken. We were then later informed that all the roast beef had sold out. Our meals finally arrived around 40 mins later. I had changed to haddock and chips. The haddock was over cooked with the batter being a very dark brown, the chips were disgusting. They were covered in black bruises. When we complained to the waiter he informed us they know about the chips, that they are constantly getting complaints but they can’t change their supplier due to COVID-19!! REALLY!!. There was no offer to change the meal but what’s most disappointing is that they know they are serving below standard food and carrying on. Sadly it didn’t end there. On leaving the restaurant we walked past two tables tucking into roast beef dinners! now as this was over an hour after we put our order in how did these customers have roast beef dinners that we were told had sold out!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
loveandcuddles, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2020

I’m really not sure what happened here, apart from people do pre-order roasts before service, so that could be the reason. The chips is no excuse.... I will deal with this. And no we don’t have reserved signs as we allocate tables on arrival with...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
1,967 reviews
.17 miles away
The Wykeham Arms
1,196 reviews
.32 miles away
Winchester Royal Hotel
3,173 reviews
.35 miles away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
865 reviews
.43 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Palm Pan Asia
1,113 reviews
.10 miles away
Chesil Rectory
1,669 reviews
.04 miles away
Chococo
278 reviews
.16 miles away
The Black Rat
835 reviews
.21 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Winchester Cathedral
4,330 reviews
.28 miles away
Winchester City Mill
726 reviews
.02 miles away
Winchester City Museum
246 reviews
.31 miles away
Wolvesey Castle
329 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Go42737188857
July 13, 2019|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Jane D | Property representative |
it is indeed dog friendly and you can park at The Chesil Multi Storey, just 50yrds away.
0
Votes
Vegigal
August 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nickyhants | Reviewed this property |
Lots in Winchester but not next to pub that I'm aware of.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing