We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mayfly

$$ - $$$, British,
Fullerton Road | North Stock Bridge, Winchester SO20 6AX, England
+44 1264 860283
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good27%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“trout” (54 reviews)
“pudding” (29 reviews)
“pork pie” (9 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
Bar, British, Pub
$$ - $$$
Fullerton Road | North Stock Bridge, Winchester SO20 6AX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Visited this pub/restaurant on the evening of Friday, 8th December. It is worrying when a place is as quiet as this coming up to Christmas. The menu choices are good but not considerable. Our server briefed us that the lambs liver and the venison were...More

Thank EnviroRider400
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Decided to give the Mayfly a try for late Sunday lunch and was pleasantly surprised. The menu offered variety, and the various dishes could be adapted for my wife and daughter, who suffer from gluten and dairy intolerance. The meal was delicious, the veg was...More

Thank gazzapompie
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for lunch on a Wednesday so not too busy. The service overall was a bit forgetful, and very slow. We had been there an hour before we got the food. First we were told the wrong soup, then one of our main courses was...More

Thank 508Ann66
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mayfly is a delightful pub by the river. The food is delicious but the service is very poor. This is the second time we've been in a month or too but the very slow service and items forgotten by the waitress were very annoying.

Thank Patsiegirl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have heard that this pub had changed hands ,and went to see what had changed from the last time we went there.the menu was different but had a good selection of dishes.The service was excellent ,a waitress called Suki,Susie ,I think ,but I have checked...More

Thank William O
Mike D, General Manager at The Mayfly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi William O, Thank you very much for your kind review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your time with us and noticed a few of the nice changes we’ve made so far at the Mayfly, with table service being one of those. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on a Monday and the pub was quite busy so service was a bit slow. Staff were friendly but my request on booking had been for an easily accessible table as my husband is quite disabled hadn't been met and we were stuck...More

Thank Pamela H
Mike D, General Manager at The Mayfly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Pamela H, Thank you for your review. I do apologise that your request of an accessible table hadn't been honoured, I will most certainly look into this and ensure it doesn't happen in the future. Whilst I'm really pleased you enjoyed your food, I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in the area recently with my elderly father and we called into the Mayfly for a drink before returning home to the Midlands. We received a warm welcome when we walked through the door which I think it so important and in fact...More

Thank Coral65
Mike D, General Manager at The Mayfly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Coral65, Thank you for your wonderful detailed review. I'm really pleased everything we strive for was evident during your recent visit to the Mayfly. We're in a beautiful location on the river test, and we feel that can only be matched by a menu...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful pub with a beautiful view of the river test and great service. We’ve wanted to visit a number of times but just haven’t had the time but today we did! A cold afternoon, the fire was blazing and were welcomed with smiles...More

Thank Traveller2014x
Mike D, General Manager at The Mayfly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Traveller2014x, Thank you for your kind review. I'm really pleased you were able to sample our great menu and were made to feel welcome by our friendly team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future when you're next driving by....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been to the Mayfly many times, but never had such a warm welcome. Mike and his team were very helpful and provided a detailed gluten free menu. Will definitely be back soon. Thanks ☺️More

Thank Rebecca M
Mike D, General Manager at The Mayfly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rebecca M, Thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us, it was a pleasure to meet you and I was only too happy to assist in making sure we found you something enjoyable to eat. I look forward...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pub has a superb location on the River Test. There are large trout, ducks and swans in the river to compete for bread if you feed them. Dogs are welcome. A great place to sit for a drink on a summer's day in the...More

1  Thank davidmQ1686JV
Mike D, General Manager at The Mayfly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi davidmW1686JV, Thank you for your review. I do apologise that we didn't get things quite right for you during your recent visit, please trust that we do pride ourselves on providing great service with beautiful locally sourced ingredients cooked fresh to order and hopefully...More

Nearby Restaurants
Abbots Mitre
290 reviews
.93 miles away
The White Lion Inn Restaurant
113 reviews
1.29 miles away
The Royal Oak
102 reviews
2.38 miles away
The Swan Inn
168 reviews
3.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Danebury Iron Age Hill Fort
35 reviews
2.55 miles away
Houghton Lodge Gardens
99 reviews
4.27 miles away
Longstock Water Gardens
83 reviews
.70 miles away
The Spitfire Shoot
34 reviews
3.58 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Diana B
June 7, 2016|
Response from jdm87 | Reviewed this property |
So20 6ax
April 28, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Julie L | Property representative |
We have a severe coeliac who works at the Mayfly so we are very aware of this illness, and eighty per cent of our menu is gluten free, we even have gluten free Yorkshire puds for the Sunday roasts.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Bar, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fullerton Road | North Stock Bridge, Winchester SO20 6AX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1264 860283
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing