We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 9/29
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$7 - $14
CUISINES
Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

2.7 miles from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
Improve this listing
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveler rating
147
190
133
85
125
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
147
190
133
85
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork sunday roast ice cream pudding meats voucher
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Our waitress mollie was very nice and always made sure we had everything we needed. She interacted with my 2 year old daughter and was always laughing and smiling. The atmosphere was really nice and the food was beautiful

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Lauren Thanks so much for the 5* review Glad you had a lovely visit Will pass on your comments to mollie and the team Look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked table for 12:00pm, no waiting for being seated which is always good. received drinks while we joined the queue for the carvery which we were looking forwards to. We noticed that the plates were cold, the food looked good quality, having served the Veg...tables on the plate, we went to put gravy on our plates, these were not labelled and not hot. We spoke to one of the staff regarding the cold food, we were not the only ones! we were told that it was probably the air conditioning. The quality of the food was good but the whole meal was ruined because of cold meals.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Z3110ZNgeoffs Sorry to see that you haven't enjoyed your visit we will pass on your feedback to the kitchen about the cold meals to ensure this doesn't happen again!!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Cold food Scraps on cold meat Small portion Just trying to have lunch after work not happy at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi V9942UXmarkp Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit will feed this back to the kitchen so it doesn't happen again

Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in late afternoon and ordered a ham and cheese wrap and sandwich . This came with roast potatoes . In all of our many years of dining out had we been presented with such appalling food . It’s enough to say that the potatoes...were completely cold and burnt to such a degree they resembled pieces of coal . I do not exaggerate . Having complained these were replaced with exactly the same ! A further complaint resulted all too late in another plate that based on previous experience we not unreasonably rejected . The assistant manager ,conceivably orchestrating events , seemed totally unapologetic perhaps because this has now become the norm at The Green Farm. We refused to pay for the food , which I would not have fed to my dog, and paid for the tea which unlike the rest was fit for human consumption. Avoid this place like the plague.....there are far better places in the area that pride themselves in what they serve and also recognise customer service .More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Alangee, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Hi Alangee, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I took my mum for a Sunday dinner treat and booked a table in advance. When we arrived the staff were courteous and polite. Was given our table and told Trey would let us know when we could go to the Carvery. 5 minutes later...we’re we’re in the queue to get our meal. I had lamb and was given a huge portion of meat which tasted great. It melted in the mouth and was really well cooked. All veg were plentiful and hot. They had dumplings which seemed a little odd for a roast dinner! Service was impeccable and waiter was very polite, knowledgeable and friendly. Would definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Keith Thanks for the 5* review So happy to see you had a lovely time and the food was good will pass on your comments to the team Look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible unfriendly service until we left where they expected us to return soon. The waitress was very rude when we asked to change tables as the table was very small for 5 guests.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Callum Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit Will investigate the issue with the service you received to make sure this does not happen again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for breakfast. Didn't realise that coffee and fruit drinks weren't included!! Queuing up was nightmare, big tables down the middle. Run of of napkins to hold hot plates. No one around to ask. Also not much to choose from. One one sort of egg...(fried). Order vegetarian sausages which were cooked to order. They were over cooked and tough to eat. Couldn't find anyone to reorder. Gone down hill. Know bank holiday and busy but standard should drop!!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Darkone Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit It does state on our menus and online that breakfast does not include drinks. apologies regarding the napkins will speak to the team to make sure there are always napkins available for guests. Sorry...More

Reviewed August 23, 2021

I was no where near 2 meters away from the people next to me on a different table , I could have touched them without even having my arms straight, I had to whisper to my partner we were that close , when I asked...if they could amends this in this circumstance they said no and didn’t speak to us again until we had to get up and leave because we was so uncomfortable! Rude stuff and way to crowded, just money grabbers not worried about anyones safety !More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Rhiannon Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit. Due to restrictions being lifted the 2 metre rule no longer applies which is why our tables are close together. If we had other tables free at that time the team would have happily...More

Reviewed August 23, 2021

Stopped at hotel next door so used this Toby for evening snack and breakfast next morning. Didn't book but no issues and got a table for both meals. Food is as expected and the staff were friendly and nice. Breakfast advertised at 4.99 but remember...to factor in drinks, orange juice etc as not included. Would use againMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi IdiotsAbroad Thanks for the 3* review Please let us know what we can do to make it a 5* next time? Will pass on your comments to the team

Reviewed August 21, 2021

Excellent food and staff a1 can not fault the service or food in any way well worth a visit ………………..

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hilsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Erica Thank you so much for the 5* review and for your lovely comments. will pass these onto the team Hope to see you again soon

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
436 reviews
.03 miles away
Village Hotel Portsmouth
1,571 reviews
.84 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG hotel
784 reviews
1.16 miles away
Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth
159 reviews
1.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Highbury Cafe & Restaurant
64 reviews
.74 miles away
Indian Kitchen
13 reviews
.74 miles away
The Golden Hind
307 reviews
.48 miles away
Green Posts
87 reviews
.50 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Portsbridge Cosham
142 reviews
.66 miles away
WW1 Remembrance Centre
55 reviews
.68 miles away
Hilsea Lines
7 reviews
.30 miles away
Ocean Retail Park
5 reviews
.97 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sarahmK1491RS
July 23, 2019|
Answer
Response from RobertFGCarter | Reviewed this property |
There is parking but it is tight especially on corners. I wouldn't be happy even with a small trailer. There is not much street parking nearby either.
0
Votes
expatmale
December 19, 2016|
Answer
Response from TCHilsea | Property representative |
Hello expatmale, There's a Travelodge right next door to us that shares the same car park. Couldn't be closer. Visit their website for more details
0
Votes
Z4752LSalans
July 22, 2016|
Answer
Response from Z4752LSalans | Reviewed this property |
I think it is a weekly draw...
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Toby Carvery Hilsea

Yes, Toby Carvery Hilsea offers takeout services.

Toby Carvery Hilsea is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3