We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$11 - $22
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

0.7 miles from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
Improve this listing
Reviews (1,275)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveler rating
412
386
202
149
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
412
386
202
149
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish chips sunday roast pie lamb portsmouth harbour upstairs restaurant harbour entrance fullers pub spice island lovely pub sit outside spinnaker tower isle of wight booked a table ships ferries hsb
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 15, 2020 via mobile

Monday night dinner for two. Our server Henry was brilliant! Attentive, polite and really went to extra mile to find us a bottle of Malbec. Food was hot and really tasty, everything I had was delicious. Honestly was brilliant, really enjoyed will be back soon.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 5, 2020 via mobile

Took our mum today for a belated birthday treat, it was such a lovely lunch ! The staff are so welcoming and friendly and the food was really good ! The puddings were amazing, as each pudding came out I got pudding envy but my...home made Macaron with coconut ice cream was fabulous! Best park a little way back towards Clarence pier - you’ll need to walk the generous portions off ! Thankyou for making my mums après lockdown birthday so special !More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and lovely review and recommendation. We really appreciate the support and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed November 4, 2020 via mobile

Great view of channel! Very nice pub with friendly service. Plenty of seating inside and out. Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and kind review. We appreciate the support and look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Reviewed November 2, 2020 via mobile

Ironic, that the last "lazy lunch" we had prior to the first lockdown was in here. Seven months later here we are again, another lazy lunch and another lockdown. Anyway, to our lunch. Very good really, albeit somewhat limited and expensive. Staff were friendly and...helpful, and the food quality good. Restaurant area upstairs was a little chilly and on a blustery autumnal day would have benefited greatly from a few therms thumping through the radiators. Its never a cheap lunch, and its sometimes a little hit and miss for service and value for money. Today (31st October) im pleased to report that overall, it was excellent.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and very kind review. We really appreciate the support and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed October 31, 2020 via mobile

Lovely views over the solent and fab service. Team were friendly and in keeping with the new rules. I admit I ordered well. My chicken parfait starter was great and the burger excellent. We did feel there was something missing on some if the dish...presentation, hence to very good rating. The chocolate marquise dessert was excellent. A pricey lunch but worth a treatMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and very kind review. We really appreciate the support and hope to see you soon.

Reviewed October 30, 2020 via mobile

Happy to highly recommend this pub as an excellent venue for breakfast, lunch, dinner or a social drink. Staff professional in their approach but also very friendly creating a pleasant atmosphere to socialise with friends. COVID-19 measure in place do a safe place to visit.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and very kind review. We really appreciate the support and hope to see you soon.

Reviewed October 28, 2020

The food is quite good, some dishes verging on the posy and it is a little expensive for what you get as a consequence. We were disappointed that the website said it was an excellent venue for cocktails...we were keen to have a nice cocktail...before we ate which is why we booked....and were only told at the table on sitting down that they had reduced their list to 5 choices, which weren't great. One was kir royal, which is not a cocktail but an aperitif. But after that disappointment the service just wasn't up to scratchMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and can I offer a sincere apology for the disappointment experienced following your recent visit. I would welcome you to contact me directly to discuss the points you raise in a little more detail and the...More

Reviewed October 11, 2020 via mobile

Our ferry was delayed which gave us time to wander round Old Portsmouth and stop for a lovely lunch and watch the harbour comings and goings from Still and West. Stylish pub, good food and the staff were very attentive and friendly. We didn't meet...the angry waitress who appears in other reviews. Very Covid compliant too.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and very kind review. We appreciate the support and hope to see you again

Reviewed October 5, 2020 via mobile

Came here for a Sunday roast and was confronted with the steep price of £16.50 for the chicken or £18 for the beef. Normally I would never pay that much for a roast dinner but I thought for that price, it must be good. The...place itself is very nice inside and it’s got a great view of the harbour so I assumed you’re paying for that too. What came was the WORST roast dinner I have ever had. All the veg was so undercooked it was practically raw. The beef was a generous enough portion but for £18 I would expect it to melt in my mouth. The cauliflower cheese wasn’t particularly cheesy and the roast potatoes were as disappointing as the rest of the veg. The only redeeming factor was the Yorkshire pudding and the gravy. The staff were lovely and very attentive and the only reason this review is getting 1 star at all.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and my sincere apologies for the disappointment experienced when visiting us for Sunday Lunch last week. I would welcome you to contact me directly to discuss how we got it so wrong on the day and...More

Reviewed October 4, 2020 via mobile

Booked a table for my boyfriend and I with another cpuple in Sept this year and it didnt disappoint. It was dark by the time we sat to have food but that did not take away from the view of both the Spinaker Tower and...the passing ferrys. The food was tasty and well presented. I dont often eat fish by trhe salmon dish was lovely and I would highly recommend. We sat in tbe bar afterwards for some drinks and there was a nice atmosphere. Enjoyed so much that we forgot to take any pics! XxMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and very kind review and recommendation. We really appreciate the support and hope to welcome you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1,649 reviews
.31 miles away
The Ship Leopard Boutique Hotel
26 reviews
.42 miles away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
1,577 reviews
.52 miles away
Premier Inn Southsea hotel
1,259 reviews
.53 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sweet Science Patisserie
171 reviews
.24 miles away
The Spinnaker Cafe
341 reviews
.04 miles away
The Canteen
467 reviews
.13 miles away
All Bar One Portsmouth
1,388 reviews
.22 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Gosport Ferry
476 reviews
.35 miles away
Old Portsmouth
535 reviews
.13 miles away
Spinnaker Tower
5,354 reviews
.23 miles away
Gunwharf Quays
3,150 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
johnbS1679GY
January 12, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Culture78420 | Reviewed this property |
Be brave, give it a try and lets know what you think !
0
Votes
recorderwoman
October 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rkbinkent | Reviewed this property |
Don’t know check their web site?
0
Votes
Sue K
September 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ginner24 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing