We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Still & West

Claimed
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Special occasions, Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene

Location and contact

About
Fully refurbished in 2017, The Still & West is a stunning Grade II listed pub in Old Portsmouth, where smart modern style mingles with traditional nautical charm. Promising fine food and drink and sublime views over the Solent, it’s a special place to relax at the water’s edge.
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveler rating
351
357
193
140
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
351
357
193
140
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish chips sunday roast pie lamb portsmouth harbour upstairs restaurant harbour entrance watch the boats spice island lovely pub sit outside isle of wight booked a table ships ferries fullers hsb
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Nice location but not worth the extortionate price of £5.05 for a pint of cider.(hence the 2 stars) Won't be returning when you can get the same with normal prices next door!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank msT18
Reviewed 5 days ago

We visited on a Saturday afternoon. I specifically telephoned before to check the fish and chip bar still existed downstairs and was assured it did. However, when we arrived it was just the normal menu, no chip bar anymore. We had to clear our own...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Kim H
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and may I offer a sincere apology for the disappointment experienced when visiting us on Saturday. I would welcome you to contact me directly and the opportunity to put this right for you.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Based on my experience only. Nice place to watch the boats go by ask for a window seat if you can on the first floor Was told about this place. Service was very good not on you every moment 10/10 Food was nice but I...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ianianian
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and for the very kind review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the service and shall pass on the feedback to our food team. Once again thank you and we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited with friends and although we had booked and requested a table by the window when we booked, we were told on arrival and we came early evening that the window tables were all booked. This was somewhat disappointing as in the 3 hours...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank macmill
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback and for the very kind review. Can I also offer a sincere apology for any disappointment experienced at not being able to accommodate you with the window table requested at the time...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Whenever we visit Portsmouth we always come to the Still and West for food or just a drink. What makes The Still and West special for me is being able to watch the ships sailing in and out of the harbour. On most recent visit...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank DavidJerseyCI
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and for the very kind review. We very much look forward to welcoming you when next visiting.

Reviewed 1 week ago

You could walk here from our hotel so that was our first plus point. Also, there was no trouble in getting a window seat because it's great fun to watch all the boats go by. The food was really good and the service was friendly...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Paula L
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and for the very kind review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again when next in Old Portsmouth.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch here on the 20th May We sat inside and upstairs with great views of all the activities on the harbour They had a nice menu to choose from and also a specials board the food was nice but not spectacular Service was...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank mfkstf
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback and for the very kind review and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here twice with friends and family. The choice of mains is quite small but good and there are often daliy specials.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Christine B
StillandWestPub, General Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and for the very kind review. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food. Pub near the sea. Amazing view. Fast service. Will definitely comeback. We highly recommend the fish and chips if you can't eat a big one they do have sa small fish and chips.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Gopandaboss
StillandWestPub, Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you had such a good time with us. Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Situated in the old part of Portsmouth near the castle walls. It was a beautiful day so we sat outside overlooking the sea. Our sandwiches were perfect. I highly recommend the beef and onion marmalade it was so tasty. Food is good in a nice...More

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Julie A
StillandWestPub, Manager at The Still & West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and for the lovely review and recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 41 nearby hotels
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1,528 reviews
.31 miles away
The Ship Leopard Boutique Hotel
2 reviews
.42 miles away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
1,434 reviews
.52 miles away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
1,078 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 794 nearby restaurants
The Spinnaker Cafe
301 reviews
.04 miles away
Sweet Science Patisserie
132 reviews
.24 miles away
The Canteen
389 reviews
.13 miles away
Wagamama
712 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 259 nearby attractions
Gosport Ferry
427 reviews
.35 miles away
Old Portsmouth
489 reviews
.13 miles away
Spinnaker Tower
4,935 reviews
.23 miles away
Gunwharf Quays
2,842 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
johnbS1679GY
January 12, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Culture78420 | Reviewed this property |
Be brave, give it a try and lets know what you think !
0
Votes
recorderwoman
October 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rkbinkent | Reviewed this property |
Don’t know check their web site?
0
Votes
Sue K
September 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ginner24 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing