We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 Clarendon Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2ED, England
+44 23 9282 2617
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:30 pm - 11:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 358: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Went with friends on Friday night, great atmosphere and even better food, good service and good value for money,would definitely recommend to anyone

Helpful?
1 Thank andym740
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Back in Portsmouth after a long gap, we decided to grab a meal in Agora, one of our past haunts. The service was as prompt as always, with friendly staff that remembered us even after a long gap. Food was a tasty as ever and with my gluten free diet they were kind enough to modify the dishes to my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AGL28
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Everyting was definitly so great. And staff was so friendy. I had best lamb ribs . Thanks AGORAAA 😚😚😚

Helpful?
1 Thank Cansu S
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to last night with my wife and little son. I just had a delicious lamb ribs with my wife. Was absolutely fantastic.. waiter was so helpfull and friendly. Thanks so much agoraaaa.. We'll definedly go back👍👍👍

Helpful?
1 Thank Serkan S
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Great food and lovely atmosphere! We will definitely return.... However, it's rather cold if you are sat on a table near the door... I'm a slow eater and my food had gone cold in no time due to the door constantly opening!

Helpful?
Thank Lmacw
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We checked on TripAdvisor and we weren't sure where to go but this agora seemed to be the best option for grilled food,unfortunately they were no where close to food or service,the shop was freezing and we were shivering non of the customers around us took a jacket off,we asked the waiter if they can put a heating or ac... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hmaish
Agora33, Owner at Agora, responded to this review

Dear customer, Your wife already wrote comments and I did responded below. I would not go further as you have very bad intention. Your conscience I hope now relief by giving 1 star twice which we did not deserved. Many thanks for your kindness customs. We are very much thanks to all my customer who rated very good in 15... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our dinner at Agora was superb. I can't think of anything they could've done better: The restaurant was immaculately clean, the staff were friendly and warm without being overbearing and the food was outstanding. My calamari was the nicest I've had and the moussaka was out of this world. The prices are very reasonable too - 3 starters, 2 mains... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a busy Saturday night, fairly cold outside. Having asked at several other restaurants for a table only to be turned away, we were suprised but hugely relieved when The Agora found a table for us. It was in a tight spot right by the open kitchen but we were not bothered at this point. We had been given... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
Agora33, Owner at Agora, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I am extremely sorry for your experience on Saturday. We were extremely busy as you had seen and one staff did not turn up last minute and one staff was training. Although very busy time, our 2 waiters and their helper tried their best. In fact we should not dine walk in customer on saturday without reservation but... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited Portsmouth for the weekend and decided to try a Turkish place since we had read so many good reviews on trip advisor... to my HORROR.. The restaurant was empty when we arrived (now I see why) and the waiter had a very arrogant attitude. When we arrived they put some raw vegetables on a tiny plate on our table... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank umzaina
Agora33, Owner at Agora, responded to this review

Dear madam, We are a family run business company and pride ourselves on how fresh our food is, we will do our best to serve our customers in the best way possible. I felt that I had to reply your bad intentions complaint. It seems quite unfair in it's content. In order to make sure to see our staff treated... More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again the staff, food and atmosphere was 5 star. The food is very tasty the staff very attentive even when very busy. One of Southsea's little gems.

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C

Travelers who viewed Agora also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Turkish, Greek, Middle Eastern, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Clarendon Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9282 2617

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Agora and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Portsmouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Agora staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?