We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mother Kelly's

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
221 Southampton Road | Porchester, Portsmouth, England
+44 23 9221 9149
Website
Today
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 287: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite simply - some of the best Fish and Chips and mushy peas I have ever eaten. Fresh and hot. Freshly cooked. Not greasy. Great light batter. Love this place.

Helpful?
Thank doubletrouble73
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed our food and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited today with elderly aunt who has slight dementia. Fish and chips good though pricey.What a shame none of the female staff on duty felt able to manage a smile towards us from the moment we entered to the time we left. They certainly weren't busy - 2 of them spent most of the hour we were there talking behind... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandM66
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are sorry to hear that you do not feel our hospitality is of the standard you have come to expect from us. We hope you can join us again sometime in the future if you wish to do so. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food well recommended nice view great staff People say best fish and chips around then go on to port solent

Helpful?
Thank allison426
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

Thank you Allison for your positive feedback, its so nice to hear that you recomedend us as the best fish and chips in our area. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mother Kelly's was a favourite of my nan's so we paid a 'tribute' visit during a recent trip down to Pompey. We used the takeaway so we could head to Portchester Castle and enjoy the food looking out across the harbour. Cod and chips twice with a bread roll was around £12, which felt reasonable. Both the cod and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Posh611
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write this review, its so nice to hear that people are travelling down to sample both our food and hospitality in particular due to the circumstances for which you visited us. We are pleased to read you find our prices competitive our comments about our fish and standard of food is a pleasure to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the fish and chips and especially the fried peas ( fritters) parking can be difficult as it was very busy, good service, very clean

Helpful?
Thank Silvy A
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this positive review, our fried peas are certainly proving to be very popular. As you point out our car park can get busy especially during half term, we hope this didn't cause too much inconvenience, we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Portchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2016

Quick and efficient service, all food cooked fresh, take away service provided if required, Car parking on site with overflow next door. Good breakfast served until 11.30a.m. Very pleasant staff.

Helpful?
Thank GretaGibbs
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. its a pleasure knowing our customers have had an enjoyable experience with us. We are really fortunate to have our own car parking area which of course makes it easier for our customers, we genuinely look forward to you visiting us again soon. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016

Always have a great meal here,fish is of a high standard and you get loads of lovely homemade chips. It is a little expensive but its well worth it. They also have offers on the weekend between 12 and 4.

Helpful?
Thank Javier1962
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, our offers are certainly proving to be popular and busy. Always a pleasure hearing our customers have enjoyed our food. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the future. More 

Fareham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Well I will keep this short and sweet. I have been here many times over the years and always had great food and good service. But today I was a little disappointed with our visit. I know it was busy today, but I have to say the service was below par. We could not fault the fish and chips, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

As ever all the team here at Mother Kellys really do appreciate the time our customers take to write a review. We really do take on board all comments made and it is disappointing to hear you feel you did not receive the service you have come to expect. As you have pointed out we do get extremely busy but... More 

Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2016

I often bring a mini bus load of senior citizens here, in my role as minibus driver for a Community organisation. The day we visited, the staff were extremely attentive and took some trouble to ensure we were all settled in nicely. Orders were taken at the table and individual bills brought to the table - really essential for elderly... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

Here at Mother Kellys we really do appreciate all forms of feedback and people taking the time to write a review. We will always consider and take into account what our customers feedback to us. Its a real pleasure knowing that the group of people you have made reference to enjoyed their time with us and thank you for pointing... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2016

Not the best and not the worst. Our fish and chips were adequate. The curry sauce was tasteless and watery. Indifferent service. Won't be rushing back.

Helpful?
Thank Hugh J
Trevorwest, Owner at Mother Kelly's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that our curry sauce is not of the standard you have to come expect. If your in the area we do hope you decide to join us again at some point in the future. More 

Travelers who viewed Mother Kelly's also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Emsworth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Mother Kelly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Fast Food, British, Seafood
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 221 Southampton Road | Porchester, Portsmouth, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9221 9149

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mother Kelly's and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mother Kelly's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?