We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 02/14/2021

The Old Bakery Tearoom

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitized menus
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Read more
Updated 08/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Old Bakery Tearoom
Updated 08/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Jackie and Alan are in our 16th year of being in the tearoom, but aim to keep our service and standards high as our reviews indicate. Most of our menu is made here on the premises, including Soups, Dressings, Sauces, Jams and of course all of our cakes and scones.We make everything from basic ingredients, not pre mixes.Our coffee and tea is Fairtrade. The coffee is freshly ground and we use loose leaf tea, with the exception of herbal teas. We also serve Gluten Free meals, including homemade Gluten Free scones, so a cream tea can be had by everyone! Vegetarian and other options are available. We are visited by many customers time and time again, along with strong support from locals. Regular
PRICE RANGE
$3 - $20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy
FEATURES
Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveler rating
823
82
5
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
823
82
5
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones coronation chicken ham and eggs salad jacket potato granary bread cake steak cream tea tea room small shopping hidden away home made by chance warm welcome sense of humour loose leaf tea
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 19, 2020

Heard really good things about this sweet little place and it lived up to my expectations! Their gluten free scones are absolutely delicious. Very good value and friendly service. Bookings for lunchtime are highly recommended to avoid disappointed.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi awwatko13 Thanks for taking time out to visit us and we're really pleased that we lived up to your expectations! All our scones are homemade here, along with the jam and many other things that we offer. Hope that you may be able to...More

Reviewed November 2, 2020

We stopped here for a pit stop in between hiking. Alan was so welcoming and friendly, and the cream tea was the most delicious we've ever had - the scones were out of this world! I would recommend booking - countless people tried and failed...to get a table whilst we were there. It's v v popular and now we know why!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2020

Hi rosiedecember Halfway through a long hike a cream tea is a must!! Jackie makes the scones every day from basic ingredients - definitely not a pre mix - and they are served warm from the oven along with homemade jam and thick clotted cream....More

Reviewed October 31, 2020 via mobile

Great service, great cake, fair price for Stow-on-the-Wold. Highly recommended and COVID responsible.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2020

Hi Andy T Thanks for dropping in and for taking the time to post your comments. All our cakes are homemade here by Jackie on the premises - the selection varies regularly! We've always aimed to make our prices fair and not excessive - we've...More

Reviewed October 30, 2020 via mobile

We visited during half term so made a reservation beforehand. I would recommend booking as I saw many people being turned away. The cream tea was amazing - warmed scones, very generous helpings of clotted cream and jam. Alan was very friendly and you can...tell him and his wife really enjoy what they do. Our children had the cheese melts which they both loved too.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2020

Hi KKB-London Thanks for your visit and it was great to meet the family. Since we reopened after the initial lockdown, we've really seen an increase in bookings - so you did well! Thanks for your lovely comments about what we do - its really...More

Reviewed October 29, 2020

My husband and I booked in advance due to covid . We turned up a little early but was able to sit at our table right away. The Tea room is small, but there were dividers between tables and although old fashioned, it was clean...and well looked after. The owner was polite and made friendly conversation and I notice a few times after handling money and cards, he would sanitise his hands and he wore a mask throughout. We didn't have to wait long for our orders (and I don't eat much) and when it did come, it was really substantial. We especially loved how the salad was put together, nothing was left out. For an extra treat, we took home a slice of hm lemon and coffee cakes. Delicious! Thank you so much for a delightful lunch.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2020

Hi shelley6669 Thanks for booking! We've always taken bookings but over the past few months since reopening bookings have gone through the roof! We've always aimed to make guests feel comfortable and with covid, have taken many measures to keep us all as safe as...More

Reviewed October 29, 2020 via mobile

Stopped in Stow for lunch. Good job I used trip advisor to find a place to eat. The Old bakery is hard to find. It's at the end of a small shopping arcade. There is signage but there nothing that can be done about it....Make sure you spend the time to find it, its worth it. A small place very Covid secure, lovely atmosphere, the story behind why the couple set up is amazing. They really love what they do. Conversations are good. Food is freshly prepared and therefore there is a little wait, but that is ok because its fresh. Toilet is really clean. I can't complain about anything. Price of food is reasonable. I am so glad I found this place and I will be returning when I travel through Stow. To avoid disappointment book in advance, even on the same day book in advance.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2020

Hi rwath1979 Thank for your visit and glad that the reviews on TripAdvisor matched up to your time and experience with us! We are a bit tucked away - but as you say, well signed. Now in our 15th year (less a few months for...More

Reviewed October 28, 2020

What a little gem this place is! Upon arriving at Stow on the wold we had a look on Trip Advisor to get an idea of places to visit and we were not disappointed by this find. I’d definitely suggest calling in advance and booking...as it was clearly popular. Alan was so welcoming, was just like speaking to an old friend! They have clearly taken all the precautions they can re Covid, and we felt very safe and well looked after. My husband had steak platter and I had ham and eggs, the food was amazing, so homely and punching above its price point (we couldn’t believe the cost, we would have been happy to pay double!). Home cooked ham, homemade salad dressing, great portions! You can tell that this couple love what they do, and they work very hard to maintain an exceptional standard, we can’t wait to visit them again.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2020

Hello rOwen20 It's still a pleasure to meet new guests and definitely book in advance if you can. When we are full I do try to offer to reserve a table at a later time. Thanks for your comments about pricing - we've always tried...More

Reviewed October 27, 2020 via mobile

We found this place on a drizzly day in Stow-in-the-Wold and I’m so glad we did! We were lucky enough to get a table and seemed to arrive just at the right time as so many other customers had to be turned away because it...was full. The tea room is small and has a very cute, old fashioned feel to it, just like tea rooms should be! The gentleman who served us (and I believe who also owns it) was very friendly and cheery and took our order swiftly. We both ordered a scone with jam and cream and I ordered a hot chocolate and my husband a latte. The scones were so delicious! Homemade and warm, with beautiful homemade jam! My hot chocolate, made with melted chocolate, was soooo good! So chocolatey, like a hug in a mug, just what you need on a cold, damp day! Could not recommend this tea room more!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2020

Hi Emily B Great timing on your part! We do get very busy most days and definitely recommend booking in advance if you are able. Freshly made scones , homemade jam and thick clotted cream has to be a winner! Likewise with the hot chocolate...More

Reviewed October 26, 2020

Lunch choices were excellent, fresh mixed salad and home-made quiche, bacon muffin. Good proper loose leaf tea with warm & light as a feather scones. Very friendly service by the owner. Covid-19 safety measures respected, screens between tables etc.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2020

Hello marieclaude h Thanks for your visit and pleased that you enjoyed your time with us - and appreciated the proper fresh food! Good to meet you and be part of your time in the Cotswolds. Best wishes, Alan & Jackie

Reviewed October 23, 2020 via mobile

Very pleasant little family run eatery and tea rooms. Would recommend a visit. Very Covid safe environment.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2020

Hi Mcshannon Appreciate your visit and comments. It's been encouraging to have great feedback particularly about our Covid measures. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the area. Many thanks, Alan & Jackie

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sheep on Sheep Street
755 reviews
.03 miles away
The Stag at Stow
136 reviews
.10 miles away
The Old Stocks Inn
618 reviews
.11 miles away
Stow Lodge Hotel
446 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cotswold Baguettes
318 reviews
.10 miles away
The Hive
553 reviews
.02 miles away
New England Coffee House
393 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Edward's Church
308 reviews
.05 miles away
Stow-on-the-Wold Market Square
163 reviews
.08 miles away
Stow Visitor Information Centre
49 reviews
.09 miles away
Fosse Gallery
34 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
EileenP317
October 20, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Alan S | Property representative |
Hi Eileen Apologies but only just picked up your message. Hope you got sorted
0
Votes
ssach85
April 30, 2017|
Answer
Response from Alan S | Property representative |
Good morning We are able to cater for you - indeed we served a family just last week with the same dietary requirements. Its a little more restricted but still good! Please let me know dates, times and number of people... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing