We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
302
62
19
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
302
62
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes great coffee comfy chairs three floors individual rooms quirky building coffee and cake sat upstairs coffee break morning coffee tardis stow cotswolds dog teas
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 30, 2020 via mobile

There have been many reviews on this coffee house mentioning the amazing coffee and I now understand why. The coffee simply is delicious! The cakes they sell are amazing too. We only did takeaway but if I had the time I wouldn't hesitate to have...a sit down coffee (or two) at this place!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 26, 2020

Absolutely love this little coffee house, especially now. Its a little place of sanctuary. The staff are always welcoming,coffee and cakes are always amazing and prices are really reasonable. When I visit Stow, I never go anywhere else. I only wish I lived locally, lucky...Stow people. Stay safe everyone and thank you for your wonderful service. We'll be back soon.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 27, 2020 via mobile

Honestly the best iced coffee ever. I wish I lived local as this would be my regular place. Highly recommended. Covid ready with their unique individual rooms. Will visit again when in the area.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 7, 2020 via mobile

We visited here twice whilst in the Cotswolds. On both occasions the coffee was great. Service was slow but staff pleasant and apologised. I would recommend here if you like quality coffee.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed September 3, 2020 via mobile

Takeaway coffee. Barista used a double basket split poured into two cups. One for latte, one for cortado. Resulting in one shot each only

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
NewEnglandCoffeeHous, Owner at New England Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2020

Thanks for your feedback and sorry you were disappointed with your coffees. As standard we put a single shot in our small lattes and single cortados but our Baristas are more than happy to double up if a stronger coffee is requested.

Reviewed August 30, 2020

We had coffee and cake in one of the rooms at the top of the building. Very quaint and different. Good to get out of the rain!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 9, 2020

I absolutely love this coffee house. The staff are always so helpful and courteous and the building quirky and delightful. I particularly like their system of ordering, paying and then you are free to amble through the rooms to find a lovely table to wait...for your cake and coffee to be served and, if its quiet, there's no need to rush away. There's always time for a second cup at The New England. The spiced apple cake and carrot cake are just delicious. Try going in the winter.....its so cosy.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 20, 2020 via mobile

I always enjoy a trip to New England Coffee. The staff are always welcoming, it’s such an interesting building and the coffee and cakes are delicious!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 17, 2020

Although the web page appears to show a choice of seats these are reached via a steep staircase so my friend and I had a choice of just two one of which was by the door.We ordered drinks and cakes to eat in and the...waitress insisted we pay before we sat down! Rude! I was surprised to have to ask for the table to be cleaned,it was covered in crumbs! not a pleasurable experience,we wont be returningMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
NewEnglandCoffeeHous, Owner at New England Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2020

I'm really sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to us. Our shop is split over three floors and we highlight on our website that customers should 'head upstairs for more seating'. As you noted we have provided some tables on our ground floor...More

Reviewed February 24, 2020

After seeing so many good reviews, I was disappointed with the quality of coffee. Mocha we had was very watery and latte didn't taste as nice as in other cafes. The café itself is cosy with interesting décor but sadly, as I'm a coffee lover,...I would not recommend it. Also, croissants don't taste as good as in Paul's café!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
NewEnglandCoffeeHous, Owner at New England Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2020

I’m really sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering good quality coffee and always take feedback, be it positive or negative, on board. Had we have known during your visit we could have made you some replacement drinks.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Stag at Stow
136 reviews
.07 miles away
Sheep on Sheep Street
755 reviews
.07 miles away
The Old Stocks Inn
618 reviews
.08 miles away
Stow Lodge Hotel
446 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Old Bakery Tearoom
927 reviews
.04 miles away
Cotswold Baguettes
318 reviews
.07 miles away
The Hive
553 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Edward's Church
308 reviews
.04 miles away
Stow-on-the-Wold Market Square
163 reviews
.04 miles away
Stow Visitor Information Centre
49 reviews
.05 miles away
Fosse Gallery
34 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from New England Coffee House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing